We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Karakter Curacao

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Coral Estate, Rif St Marie, Curacao
+599 9 864 2233
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife & i just returned from a trip in Curacao. Our first night there, we had dinner at the Karakter. This venue provides outstanding water view from the facility with dining on the beach also available. Being people more inclined to sample a variety of appetizers (versus eating a traditional meal), that is what we predominately did. Everything we... More 

Helpful?
Thank rfugiel
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We discovered all the best beaches at Curaçao in November 2016, and as soon as we found Karakter beach club we called it the best place for comfortable and relaxing stay! Service is great, beach is clean, food in restaurant is delicious and water... what a color!!!! We admired relaxing swimming in crystal blue water! Don't tell anyone about this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oksana B
KarakterCuracao, General Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

Dear, Oksana B, Thank you for your kind review and compliment about ‘’the best place for comfortable and relaxing stay’’. We are so happy to hear that you had such a nice time at Karakter and that you enjoyed the service, food and our crystal blue water. We are looking forward to your next visit! More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our dinner at Karakter was somewhat disappointing. The food wasn't what you would expect at such a nice spot.

Helpful?
Thank Pieter P
KarakterCuracao, General Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

Dear Pieter, Thank you for your feedback. We are sad to hear your experience was not what you had expected. Can you please contact us at info@karaktercuracao.com to share what it was you didn’t like? Thanks in advance. More 

Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had lunch at Karakter last week and it was one of the best meals we had in Curacao. Of the four meals our group ordered, three were fantastic and one was very good. The service was slow, but it was not unusually slow for Curacao. We also ate at Koral, which is just upstairs, a few days earlier. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Redyed21
KarakterCuracao, General Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

Dear Redyed21, Thank you for your review. It sound like you had a great experience at both our locations, Karakter and Koraal rooftop terrace. We are happy to hear you enjoyed it! We are looking forward to your next visit! More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Place is a bit posh and high price but the food was delicious! The beef and tuna just melted on my tongue. If you want to visit a not too crowded beach club this is the place to be!

Helpful?
Thank Esther868
KarakterCuracao, General Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

Dear Esther868, Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you had such a nice time with us. The way you describe our food (tuna and beef) makes us hungry ;) We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

We were there for Reastaurant week in Curacao. Amazing experience. Table on the beach close to the sea. The view was amazing and the food was excellent: three course menu which was really high quality: fresh ingredients and very tasty. The service was good and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Luc M
KarakterCuracao, Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you for the restaurantweek. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We hope to see you again when you are visiting Dushi Korsou a next time. More 

Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The place is beautiful, very scenic. We arrived just in time for the sunset. Breathtaking. The food was delicious, the pasta lacked flavor but the shrimps, tenderloin and bravas potatoes were delicious. The dessert also 😍 warm chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream.

Helpful?
Thank Jerianne2013
KarakterCuracao, General Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

Dear Jerianne2013, Thank you for your review, we are happy to read you have enjoyed your evening. We hope to welcome you soon again! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

By far the worst service on the island. If you are going for lunch get here at 10 am so you get it for lunch. No organisation just a bad experience.

Helpful?
Thank Keith D
KarakterCuracao, General Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

Dear Keith D, Thank you for your review. We are very surprised when reading your experience. This is definitely not our standard and how your experience should have been. Can you please contact us at info@karaktercuracao.com to see what went wrong that day and invite you to give us a second chance? More 

Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The food was good, the drinks were good, the service excellent. Enjoying your lunch with your feet in the sand is a wonderful experience. Next to the most beautiful sea you can imagine.

Helpful?
Thank ArthurOster
KarakterCuracao, General Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

Dear Arthur Oster, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to your next visit! More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Awful!!! Very nice view but their service was subpar. Steak was undercooked and a chicken was extremely dry. Both were very bland. Waiter was extremely rude!! Flies make it difficult to eat your food. Waste of money and time. Avoid coming here!

Helpful?
Thank Andres C
KarakterCuracao, General Manager at Karakter Curacao, responded to this review

Dear Andres C, Thank you for your review. We are surprised by your review as this definitely does not sound like our standard and the way your experience should have been. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope you would consider coming back for a new chance. In case you are still on the island we would like to invite... More 

Travellers who viewed Karakter Curacao also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Karakter Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$28
Cuisine
French, Caribbean, Dutch, Seafood, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coral Estate, Rif St Marie, Curacao
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Curacao
  • Phone Number: +599 9 864 2233

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Karakter Curacao and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Karakter Curacao staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?