We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harvester Merthyr Tydfil

Rhydycar Leisure Park, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
+44 1685 379552
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“bread rolls” (8 reviews)
“jacket potato” (9 reviews)
“salad bar” (88 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rhydycar Leisure Park, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here after a cinema trip on Christmas Eve as all other restaurants in the complex were full. Really wish we hadn't bothered. The service was slow, salad cart stale and meal portions were small and tasted bland. We won't be returning.

Thank MissHL
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry that your experience was below yours and our expectations. Ultimately if you would like to discuss this matter any further please don't hesitate to contact me on 01685379552. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards General Manager Sergio Vaz

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited last in November. We had a great time, with beautiful food. I forgot to leave a review sooner, however as the service was so good I thought it's appropriate to leave a great review, albeit a little late. See you...More

Thank RhiannonH89
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great feedback. I will pass on your comments to our team. Kind Regards General Manager Sergio Vaz

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband went to Harvester Rhydycar Merthyr today ,our meal was fabulous and Joshua the young man that served us was so welcoming. There was nothing to much for him at all .Joshua was so kind ,pleasant and his manners are impeccable. Thank...More

Thank Lorna H
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great feedback. I will pass on your comments to our team. Kind Regards General Manager Sergio Vaz

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I booked a table for 6.15pm, due to the lack of parking we were running 10 minutes late. Working for Mitchell and butlers as a manager myself for a number of years I know that it’s not uncommon for people to run...More

1  Thank Lauren F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Used The Harvester while staying at the nearby Travelodge. It is situated on a leisure park. This is NOT a pub, rather a designated restaurant. The food is typically Harvester food, and all fine. Friendly staff. The restaurant was heaving with many families, and very...More

Thank lindale
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I will pass on your comments to our team. Kind Regards General Manager Sergio Vaz

Reviewed 25 November 2017

Visited on a Saturday the place was late opening 9:05am. Due to the staff member with the keys inside having a nice chat to someone on her mobile phone while 5 customers stood outside in the cold! Nice start. The breakfast itself was warm but...More

Thank Lee M
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that your experience was below yours and our expectations. I can ensure you that I've addressed with all the team the issues that you've experienced and have put in place measures so that such disappointments don't happen in...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017

Good hearty breakfast all ordered and cooked fresh. Excellent choice of breakfast items to pick from, fresh juices, tea,coffee,friut toast etc. Service is alway good as well

Thank John G
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Joshua

Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Poor customer relations. After an 80 mile drive and pre checking opening times, we were met with a locked door at 09.05am on 14/11/17. After trying the door we were met by a male member of staff who in formed us, ‘We are closed fella’....More

Thank Stuart M
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Hi Stuart, I apologise that on this occasion yours and our expectations were not met. We had our festive menu training that morning which is why we were closed. I understand that this caused inconvenience for yourselves and for that I apologise. If you have...More

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We have come to Harvester for many years and it’s always offered great quality food and choice. On this occasion we were really disappointed with the food. We arrived to be told there would be 25 minute wait despite there being several tables ready. However...More

Thank katSteve1975
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Was really disappointed this morning my three children and I made the 25 minute trip and arrived at harvester at 10am only to be told they were unable to serve us because their ordering system was down! So we were told by a negative server...More

Thank j4c1yn
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I’m sorry that your experience was below yours and our expectations. If you’d like to get in contact with us to discuss this matter further please feel free to give us a call on 01685379552. Kind...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Merthyr Tydfil Hotels
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
347 reviews
.21 km away
Castle Hotel
200 reviews
.82 km away
Tregenna Hotel
117 reviews
1.15 km away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
411 reviews
2.07 km away
Nearby Restaurants
JOL's
215 reviews
.50 km away
Woodfired Pizza & Kitchen
238 reviews
.73 km away
The new Crown Inn
175 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bike Park Wales
311 reviews
2.18 km away
Dare Valley Country Park
128 reviews
6.96 km away
Cyfarthfa Castle
299 reviews
2.05 km away
Aberdare Park
103 reviews
5.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hadrian S
16 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Jonathan P | Reviewed this property |
I believe Harvester's do have a breakfast menu. Jon.
0
Votes
Helen F
3 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from keelan w | Reviewed this property |
The car park is situated right next to the building with direct disabled access and toilets are provided inside!
1
Vote
Julie M
18 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from davidtazz | Reviewed this property |
Hoya No idea, you'd have to contact them direct..
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rhydycar Leisure Park, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Merthyr Tydfil  >  Merthyr Tydfil
  • Phone Number: +44 1685 379552
Description
At Merthyr Tydfil in Mid Glamorgan food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Mid Glamorgan, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Merthyr Tydfil, Abercanaid and Cyfarthfa, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing