We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellwood

$$ - $$$, British,
High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
+44 1665 714646
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Lovely relaxed atmosphere, staff are very friendly. The food is lovely. Definitely come here again. 5⭐️

Thank Rete73
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Came with family for birthday tea (11 of us) staff where nice , we got the 2 courses for £8:50 can not go wrong , soup was lovely , had the pasta added the chicken that was nice to , good food @ very good...More

Thank KCtoon
Reviewed 1 week ago

booked for dinner on Boxing night, found this place to be really lovely, staff were very friendly, food was delicious with portion sizes very big, enjoyed it and we will be going back

1  Thank Nigel C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife daughter and I decided to visit the Wellwood as we were at a loss where to guarantee great food. I know there are some great pubs out there but not enough for me to warrant a review. Granted we have visited the pub...More

1  Thank Bazza1957
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On a recent trip we called into the Wellwood Arms and Sunday lunch carvery was being served .Have to say one of the nicest I’ve had and I just love a carvery . Plenty of veg to accompany the mouth watering tender meat .First visit...More

2  Thank Jeanette M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to The Wellwood with my boyfriend for a a meal which happened to be a steak night as it was a Wednesday night. A great deal of £25 for two steak meals and glass of wine each. We both had rump steaks, cooked...More

3  Thank NorthernLass94
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for a lovely review of our steak offering, we have been doing the steak night for 3 years now.. watch out for the New steak experience starting soon Thanks again for taking the time to write Kind regards Julian

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We, a large group of 16, booked a table at this pub, to then find two separate tables with 14 chairs assembled for us. After rearranging the tables into one so we no longer had our backs to one another and asking for additional chairs,...More

8  Thank BlondeChemist22
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Complete rubbish and LIES.....Get your facts right re numbers booked and tables and chairs provided for the party of 12 booked....not 16..., your booker was told when booking the party may not be able to be altogether....fact....4 others decided to buy tickets to join the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best carvery we've tasted in a long while. This is our first time at The Wellwood but will definitely not be the last. The food was fantastic. The meats melted in the mouth and our poor dog was left hungry as we cleared the...More

2  Thank Fiona M
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Visited the Wellwood agin in November and this time went into the dog friendly part of the restaurant which seems to have been extended from the last time we were there, to be honest it looked like everyone eating that night had brought their dogs...More

1  Thank LouChappell
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you very much firstly for your return to us and secondly for the fab review Very much appreciated by all Kind regards Jan

Reviewed 7 December 2017

Stopped off here for lunch on our way north. We had the two course lunch for £8.50 and it was excellent. Well cooked and plentiful. I had the steak pie and my husband had spag bol. Both had the rhubarb crumble and ice cream after...More

1  Thank Christie274927
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you Chris for a lovely review, the daily special is a very popular choice infact a no brainier if your in the pub at the right time, the same food as the normal menu at a fraction of the normal cost...12 noon to 6.30...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Amble Hotels
Warkworth House Hotel
358 reviews
2.34 km away
Eshott Hall
406 reviews
8.88 km away
The Hog's Head Inn
541 reviews
9.92 km away
The White Swan Hotel
1,094 reviews
11.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Jaspers Bistro
281 reviews
.37 km away
Spurreli
638 reviews
.54 km away
Sea&Soil Amble
437 reviews
.43 km away
The Fat Mermaid
179 reviews
.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Northside Surf School
100 reviews
.32 km away
Pedal Power Cycling
83 reviews
.60 km away
Artique at The Marina
84 reviews
.20 km away
Amble Harbour Village
102 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Blacktowergirl
the response of the management is disgusting, No it is not a suspicious review, he joined specifically to write that review as the food was so terrible. at no point did i state that the wine "Jack Rabbit was s...." i just stated that i didn't like it and would need a minute to decide on another drink, pretty sure I'm entitled that that!!!! the burger was terrible - even the waitress before id finished complaining stated "is it burnt and raw on the inside" the chicken sizzler was a joke, even the table next to us joked about the lack of sizzle!!!! i did not get the pasta verdi free of charge at all i paid for it and was happy to do so, one of us eventually had a nice meal. Jean get real your pub is a total joke, we left disappointed, but as stated please with how your young staff handled the complaints, what the true review above did not require was a typically abusive response from some terrible management. to be honest i expected it as I've seen your shocking responses to other people. Yes trip adviser allows us to do this so that we can WARN other people about the evening.
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
This review should be removed unless Trip advisor publishes my first answer Or trip advisor should be closed down. There is nothing rude or discriminatory in my reply it is my opinion which the person writing the review has... More
0
Votes
Blacktowergirl
in reference to Dave A review: Went there tonight after looking at the reviews on here and would not recommend My partner ordered the Wellington burger which looked great but they decided not to add the mushrooms, cremate the burger to the point where she couldn't cut through with a knife and the large battered onions rings were cold. As for my meal I ordered the chicken sizzler which I had seen on my entry into the pub but mine arrived with no sizzler and absolutely no flavour. The young staff there dealt with the situation well and refunds were provided, my partners meal was replaced with a pasta dish which she loved. On payment of the bill after reductions had been made there was an extra drink added? After explaining we did not have it it was removed from the bill. All in all a bad experience and we will not be going back. the response of the management is disgusting, No it is not a suspicious review, he joined specifically to write that review as the food was so terrible. at no point did i state that the wine "Jack Rabbit was sh@#e" i just stated that i didn't like it and would need a minute to decide on another drink, pretty sure I'm entitled that that!!!! the burger was terrible - even the waitress before id finished complaining stated "is it burnt and raw on the inside" the chicken sizzler was a joke, even the table next to us joked about the lack of sizzle!!!! i did not get the pasta verdi free of charge at all i paid for it and was happy to do so, one of us eventually had a nice meal. Jean get real your pub is a total joke, we left disappointed, but as stated please with how your young staff handled the complaints, what the true review above did not require was a typically abusive response from some terrible management. to be honest i expected it as I've seen your shocking responses to other people. Yes trip adviser allows us to do this so that we can WARN other people about the evening.
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
Trip advisor has decided to be judge and jury! They have refused to leave my reply to this review on the system. Probably take this off....
0
Votes
Jackie B
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
Hello and yes you can depending on size plus you can stay over at no charge if you tell us in advance Jan
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$28
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Amble
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 714646
  • E-mail
Description
The Wellwood is reborn again! New owner really first class NEW MENU serving quality pub grub...Lots more to come. GREAT CARVERY and fabulous PUB GRUB( ok a little better than that!)MENU...All your favorite dishes in one restaurant. BOOK YOUR TABLE NOW
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing