We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbour Fish Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Broomhill Street, Amble NE65 0AN, England
+44 1665 710442
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 245: English reviews
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Delicious chip butties, huge portions plenty of salt and vinegar and scraps. What more can I say? Good hearty English fayre. Kids meals, sundries and a variety of sauces for those who wish to indulge.

Helpful?
Thank emloue
Haydon Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Really good fish and chips, extensive menu including scampi, pies, burgers. Large and small portion sizes available. And the staff are really friendly.

Helpful?
Thank GAP5
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went into this fish shop for the first time today around 4pm stood in the small queue and waited got to the till on the right hand side and a rather large lady just ignored me and was then taking orders from other she knew by name as they cam in twice I said excuse me and got "one minuet... More 

Helpful?
Thank tony B
Richard G, Manager at Harbour Fish Bar, responded to this review

I’m not quite sure what to make of this to be honest. Customers quite often request that food is cooked while they wait patiently in the queue. Especially if it’s apparent that it’s a quiet shift, a winter month for example when most of the food is being cooked to order. But everyone is always served in the correct order,... More 

France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had cod and chips, onion rings and pickled onions. It was piping hot and delicious. I think the onion rings were home made too. The staff were very friendly and chatty. One of the best fish and chips I've had.

Helpful?
Thank MasBelle
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely appalling customer service. Waited 5 minutes to be acknowledged!! Spoke to like a dog. Got home and chips were stone cold along with the curry. Asked for a large curry and was only filled half way so may as well of asked for a small. Will not be back!! Avoid

Helpful?
Thank Janine E
Richard G, Manager at Harbour Fish Bar, responded to this review

I very sorry you had such a disappointing visit. At this time of year given the cold temperatures we always try and make sure that food is only cooked as and when needed, so the chips should never be served cold. I'll make making sure all of our staff are well aware of this, they should only be cooking the... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

When you are in the mood there is something special about fish and chips out of the paper. Not a cardboard box or a polystyrene container. Paper ! Whenever we really have a taste for good fish and chips and we have the time to spare we put the dog in the car, drive 30 mins up the coast, walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Some months ago I left a bad review the last time I visited as the quality had taken a big turn for the worst and I was really dissapointed. However I had some correspondence with the owner who took the issues very seriously (they had been having difficulties with potatoes) and sent me some vouchers to cover the cost of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Demig_AIUK
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful fresh fish beautifully cooked together with big tasty chips, it seems to be always busy, but well worth the wait. I can see why this fish shop is so popular all year round.

Helpful?
Thank VikingRaider_10
Mackay
Level Contributor
155 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stood for over ten minutes waiting to be served which was irritating as there were only a few people in front of us and I have seen it a lot busier. The staff did not even acknowledge our presence and speak to us so we left. There are a few other fish and chip outlets in Amble so they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gwen J
Richard G, Manager at Harbour Fish Bar, responded to this review

I'm sorry you came away disappointed this time. Customer care and service is very important to us, it's something we pride ourselves on. Regarding your 10 minute wait time it might sound counter intuitive but during quieter spells when there are fewer customers in the shop it's actually harder to keep things moving quickly and you are MORE likely rather... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Always go hear for our lunch. But called in today. Place was busy. Was very disappointed the chips were stone cold and looked like they had been sat for a week. The fish was greasy and cold. Very disappointed and won't be in a hurry to return

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Richard G, Manager at Harbour Fish Bar, responded to this review

We're very sorry you came away disappointed this time. We always strive to make sure our food is freshly cooked and kept hot throughout the day. Especially at this time of the year. The Fish especially should always be hot, as the top boxes are temperature monitored. We also carry out temperature checks throughout the day. The chips are also... More 

Travellers who viewed Harbour Fish Bar also viewed

Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 
Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 

Been to Harbour Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast food, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Broomhill Street, Amble NE65 0AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Amble
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 710442

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Harbour Fish Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour Fish Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?