We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery

Church Street, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4ER, England
+44 1246 810345
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good27%
  • Average19%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (29 reviews)
“beans” (5 reviews)
“salad” (7 reviews)
Opens in 25 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Street, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4ER, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Came for Sunday lunch yesterday with my mum dad and Nan when we arrived the staff was really friendly and Shannon straight to a table so we wasn’t waiting long went straight up for carvery was really impressed with the choice of me on the...More

Thank Toby H
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks Toby! Your a star and we are really glad your nan enjoyed it. Bring her back soon ! Regards from the team.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Unfortunately the fish I had as part of my carvery was very greasy and gave me some serious bowel issues. However, I’ve been several times and the food is okay. Not amazing but tasty enough.

Thank Lora C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Turned up at this place Saturday at 2.30pm they had a wedding party in, a big birthday party in and was generally very busy, ordered the pizza and a small carvery buzzer went off after 10minutes and it was cooked just how my daughter asked,...More

3  Thank martinbriggs505
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much Martin, we will look foward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards from the Management Team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

would not feed these pizzas to a dog, burnt, toppings on meat feast was a joke, it was wafer thin and for 8.99, the margueritta they could not mess up, but again burnt and too thinMore

Thank Paul C
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Paul, we are so sorry that you left unhappy. Our bases are supposed to be thin, we are unable to offer deep bases however it should not be burnt. We are aware you have emailed us and will be in touch very soon. Regards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have spent about 20 years avoiding this place after seeing it so dirty and smelly for a very long period of time. B U T after it was re-furbished and re-branded we decided to give it a whirl and visited today for a carvery lunch....More

4  Thank Corra007
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review and feedback. Its great to hear you enjoyed your lunch and we will look foward to seeing you again soon. Regards from the team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this after reading reviews on TP and was not disappointed Carvery, sweet and a pint of beer for two for £20 was well worth the trip, eating of the Carvery the chef was very good cutting the meats then leaving us to select...More

Thank tomt1230
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the positive review and kind comments, we do our best to offer great value tasty meals. Please call in again soon. Regards from the team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent meal warm friendly atmosphere The place to be family meal birthday party All welcome give it a try you won't be disappointed

Thank Wendy G
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much Wendy. We will look foward to seeing you again soon. Regards from the team.

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I visit here often with family. I usually have carvery or a pizza. Carvery has always been delicious, good selection of veg and tasty meats. On my last visit I had pizza (goats cheese/red onion). It was topped with lots of filling and it tasted...More

Thank liz12de2
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We will look foward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards from the Management Team.

Reviewed 28 August 2017

we ordered two Pizzas which unfortunately got burnt, The kitchen Manager David could not do enough for us and was polite throughout. his man management skills were second to none. he made the experience and will be calling very soon againMore

Thank mckevitt401
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer us some feedback. We are happy to hear that David assisted you and we are sorry that we didn't get things right the first time. We will look foward to seeing you again soon. Regards...More

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

After a full day at the park, we were all looking forward to our food. However, I can only describe the place as unhygienic. Firstly, we waited ages to pay for food. Then lined up for carvery. There were no staff working on the carvery,...More

Thank andreamaria2017
General Manager A, Manager at De Rodes Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, I am really sorry to hear that on your visit we were not up the the high standards that we expect. On quieter times our carvers help prep or cleaning down but should have been...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rose and Crown
388 reviews
.30 km away
Dusty Miller
165 reviews
.94 km away
The Treble Bob
440 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Barlborough Heritage & Visitors Centre
9 reviews
.41 km away
Dusty Miller Barlborough
13 reviews
1.03 km away
Arkwright Arms
5 reviews
.90 km away
The Pebley Pub
5 reviews
.99 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carol L
21 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from basilhoward | Reviewed this property |
my understanding is that this Carvery is very strict that free-to-spoon child eating should NOT happen... that is because CROWN etc. see it as the thin end of the wedge...deprivation of income... so children are expected... More
0
Votes
jaberryberry
23 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from basilhoward | Reviewed this property |
No. I'm afraid de Rodes has no known Reservation except Christmas/ Valentine. It is always first come / first serve. Best to arrive at the earliest or latest - but remember Saturday Teatime is busy, whatever. And DO insist... More
1
Vote
Laurajaynewi
3 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from tabuckleyuk | Reviewed this property |
On this occassion I cant help as none of us are vegetarians. Sorry I did not pay attention. will try harder next time
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Buffet, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Street, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4ER, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield  >  Barlborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 810345
  • E-mail
Description
At Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery we’re a friendly bunch and pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. So when you pop over to our place, whether it’s to catch up with friends over a refreshing drink or because you just can’t be bothered to cook, we hope you’ll find it like a home from home – without the washing up! We’ve something for all the family - from freshly carved, slow cooked roasts, stonebaked pizzas made from 100% fresh dough, tasty pub classics like hand battered fish, plus a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing