We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Unicorn

) #4 of 4 Restaurants in Porthtowan $$ - $$$ , British,
Beach Road, Porthtowan TR4 8AD, England
+44 1209 890244
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (10 reviews)
“basket meals” (2 reviews)
“dirty chips” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Beach Road, Porthtowan TR4 8AD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

No one was in the pub even though it was 1pm, look closed had to ask if open. They are having work done, spacious and plenty of outside seating. Service was good and engaging shame they had no custom especially as the bar is just...More

Thank Vanessa C
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for the concern regarding custom, we are predominantly an evening dinner venue and it is a very different vibe with us suggesting that people book in advance to avoid disappointment.

Reviewed 5 days ago

We like Porthtowan beach so we visit this pub after being on the beach all day. The pub this year has had a lick of paint and some basic improvements, it's a beach pub. The great improvement is the food. We had Burgers both trips...More

Thank Steve G
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for this lovely feedback hope to see you again. :-)

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent venue, really lovely staff who are very helpful & friendly- I picked the brains of the waiter yesterday for his local knowledge! Dirty chips are amazing and well worth a try. You can redeem parking charges but car park is very reasonably priced regardless....More

Thank Laura_JD1
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Glad you enjoyed your time. Thanks for your input and support.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came here with my son, sister and friend on a rainy day in July. It was very quiet, we were one of 2 tables. Amazing food, waitress was nice however service lacked. She got our order wrong a couple of times which was only...More

Thank Holly T
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry for the waitress issue i have hopefully resolved this sort of thing now with a change around in staff! Thanks for the feedback its appreciated.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Admittedly, it was pouring down on the day we visited (the roof leaks) so we didn't see it at its best but this pub really needs smartening up. The service was really good and there was an excellent choice of very well cooked (and presented)...More

Thank Nick A
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback glad you enjoyed the food and service. The roof is an issue which the brewery are looking into replacing as many repairs have been done but it has reached end of life. This is a big job which cant be...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we both ordered burgers - chicken and beef. Wasn't expecting a whole chicken breast! Massive dinner - really had to steal myself to finish it but it was lovely

Thank fishwives
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed thanks for the feed back and hope to see you soon. :-)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here for a spot of lunch after abandoning the beach due to high winds. Great value kids meals and fish finger sandwiches. Friendly staff, tasty food.

Thank PaulEmmaRosieJamie
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback. Appreciate it

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a couple of great nights here for dinner & drinks with friends playing pool,while staying within the cove, so walking distance,good quality lrg portions of food, resonably priced beer & food.

Thank Wendyfromwendyville
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you had a good time. Thank you.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our local and we asked if they'd let us have our reception in the pub which isn't something they've done before. Bless their hearts they said yes! They totally pulled out the stops, booked out the entire Surf Lodge for our kids and...More

2  Thank Niki W
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for this lovely review glad you enjoyed xx

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

If this hotel/pub were any nearer the beach it would get wet when the tide comes in! We just stayed for an over nighter and to be honest, it is not our usual taste in accommodation. It is primarily a busy, popular beach pub that...More

Thank Paul L
UnicornPorthtowan, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for this. We value the input.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Victory Inn
252 reviews
1.42 km away
Blue Beach Bar & Brasserie
476 reviews
.31 km away
Porthtowan Beach Cafe
88 reviews
.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Porthtowan Beach
77 reviews
.38 km away
Wheal Coates Tin Mine
153 reviews
2.30 km away
Etheringtons Farm Shop
19 reviews
4.02 km away
Portreath Beach
221 reviews
4.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sue E
2 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from UnicornPorthtowan | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay. Yes we do if they are on leads and not drooling over the neighbouring tables dinner they are more than welcome.
0
Votes
Fro1981
28 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Glen S |
no im afraid we dont. sorry
0
Votes
lol1871
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from michael b | Reviewed this property |
it is open from 6pm in evenings
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Beach Road, Porthtowan TR4 8AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Porthtowan
  • Phone Number: +44 1209 890244
Description
Public House with En-suite rooms and a surf lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing