We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2022
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$24
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (2,083)
Filter reviews
2,081 results
Traveller rating
1,081
420
219
169
192
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
1,081
420
219
169
192
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak sea bass sunday roast pudding the pub premier inn food was lovely family meal lovely lunch be visiting again lewis ellis zoe
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visited as a family of 3 for a birthday meal. The online booking system was very easy to use. We arrived a little early and went to the bar to be served our drinks by Zoe. We were then taken to our table to...be seated, our waitress Zoe was really helpful and attentive throughout the whole meal. The food was absolutely delicious and we had a lovely time! We can’t wait to return.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Service at this pub was terrible a party of 7 adults meal booked for 4:30 got sat down about 5:20 we all had a 3 course the wait in between each course was terrible had to ask to come and take our order finished meal...at 7:20 meals was good but service shocking.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 days ago

My main gripe with the Swan is that it is almost impossible to communicate with them, unless you actually go into the place. Booking is via the Greene King website and you can leave additional messages, but don't get a response. You can try and...ring the Swan itself, but, no-one answers. I booked a Christmas meal for seven people which should have qualified for a discount. I booked early so only found out about the discount after booking. I sent a message and even went in beforehand but still didn't get the discount. I've just filled in their customer feedback form and I'll bet they never follow up on my complaint. I meet a groups of friends regularly there and it's mutually convenient, but wouldn't normally rush back.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a quite drink, bought drinks took a seat asked whether we could order food told no tables available clearly 15 empty. Asked to stand in the bar area which we did so I was asked twice by rude staff to move, not the...best way to treat paying customers very disappointed. Car park was very accommodatingMore

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had our first meal out since lockdown and boy was it worth it. We went for the full Xmas experience and our server Christine was super. Nothing was too much trouble for her and in all our years eating out, we have had the...best service ever. We used to eat at the Swan before covid and always enjoyed it, but this was the best ever. Christine was wonderful and made us feel so special. We will definitely be coming back soon and hope Christine will be serving us!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Andy l Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, It is so nice to hear that you had a Super Christmas experience. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to Christine. Take care, all the best Marie and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was tasty although only lukewarm. Really we should have sent it back to be reheated but it was just about acceptable

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Keen_Diner10 I am sorry that your food wasn't hot enough for you. We would have rectified this for you straight away, if it was mentioned. Kind regards Marie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited as a group of 7 for a birthday meal on Saturday night and had booked in early evening due to having a 6 yr old with us. We didn't get our main meals until nearly 8pm after a 45 minute wait for our...starters - which were going cold and underwhelming. Our drinks order sat on the bar for 15 mins before anybody brought them over and tables were left uncleared between courses. Nobody really checked on us and we heard similar complaints from tables around us. We didn't bother ordering a dessert as the rest of the meal had taken so long. This is the second experience like this in 4 months and its unlikely we will return.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Bt447, your feedback is extremely disappointing, and I am sorry that on this occasion your experience isn't one we like to hear we got wrong. I am very sorry for this. Please take care Marie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food quality very poor, cold and unappealing. Most items see barely warm with some ingredients quite bad! Worst looking overcooked scallops I’ve ever seen. Having been here in the past and being impressed I can tell you, you have gone down hill! Even the fire...drill went off, twice yet no fog came to assure us we didn’t need to leave, I found that quite disturbing. Last time for us!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

andymac2405 Hi thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, I am sorry on this occasion you found your food poor quality. The fire alarm was a issue where a team knock the break point glass, so there was no need to alarm...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The manageress needs to learn what customer service means! Friends, who live locally, booked for 10 people from various parts of the country for a retirement get-together and were told by the staff member they could have a table for 8 and another for 2...adjacent to each other as they didn’t have a table for 10, which was fine. When we arrived, we were told by the manageress that we had to sit at another table, despite the ones booked being empty. We were placed at a table for 8 in one part of the pub and the other two had to sit on their own in another (completely separate). We asked could we not have the original tables and she insisted we could not. There was a table for 2 next to the large one which was empty and we were not allowed to have that, nor could we add another chair to our table as in fact one person was unable to make it for the meal. She insisted that the computers could not cope with that number of people on one bill and we could not have the smaller table as it was booked. When our friend from the London area asked her nicely if she’d change her mind and referred to her as ‘mate’, she snapped, ‘I’m not your mate!’ Good start! Then I ordered food which was not available, so I reordered only to discover that wasn’t available either so had to make a third choice!! All the time we were eating, the small table next to us remained empty and the rest of the pub was by no means full. The girl serving us was obviously very uncomfortable and embarrassed at the situation. After the meal our friends joined us for drinks and when we asked for the bill, what a surprise!! We got one bill for both tables! The computer obviously didn’t say ‘NO!’ Unlike that terrible, unwelcoming manageress. Needless to say we won’t be returning any time soon.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Irene G Thank you for your feedback, However I am really sorry that when you 1st enquired about a table of 10 with us, You was informed that we don't accommodate this size table. However this booking went a head from yourselves as a 8...More

Reviewed 30 October 2022 via mobile

We attended for a family meal, the pub was busy but we got a table easily enough. We were served by a lovely young waitress called Kayleigh who was very helpful & recommended the Korean bbq chicken strips as a starter which were amazing. We...I’ll definitely be visiting again.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

KerryxHx, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your visit to the Swan was. Kayleigh will be thrilled to hear how well she was. The Korean BBQ chicken strips are 1 of our favourites too. Take care Marie

Reviewed 24 October 2022 via mobile

Atmosphere and setting was lovely. Staff very nice and pleasant. Food was very basic and just OK. Would I return ? For drinks yes but not to eat unfortunately.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

emsey79. Sorry to see we didn't quite meet your expectations during your visit to us. Thank your for your kind words over the team and atmosphere. We would like to see you again soon thou. Take care Marie

Reviewed 20 October 2022 via mobile

Saturday evening my friend and I visited for tea, after never been before we was very impressed, especially with the service of a young waitress by the name of kayley, her attention too detail and attentiveness was second too none, I will be visiting again...soon, food was exceptional 10/10, Thank youMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2022

christiang0007 We strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience during your visit to us at the Swan, Kayleigh will be delighted to see she has been recognised for her service. We do hope to see you...More

Reviewed 18 October 2022

I visited The Swan for a restaurant meal after work. This was my first visit here and I was not disappointed. First, the restaurant is presented absolutely beautifully. The whole restaurant was very clean and tidy and aesthetically decorated. I ordered the venison, which was...served with mashed potatoes and rainbow carrots, which was absolutely delicious. The meat was cooked well and the whole dish was seasoned nicely. The portion size didn't look huge when it arrived admittedly, however I soon realised that it was a generous portion when I started eating it. I paid £17 for this dish, which in all fairness, cannot be described as cheap, however I was more than satisfied to pay this amount of money when I saw what was served. I also ordered the golden chocolate cheesecake (I hope that's the correct name!), which cost me £6 and I can honestly say it was one of the nicest deserts I have ordered, which is a compliment coming from me as someone who doesn't have a sweet tooth! The whole team of staff who looked after us were very good. Zoe in particular was very friendly, helpful and attentive. I was made to feel very welcome by all the staff I encountered and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Overall, if you're in the area, I would highly recommend a visit to this lovely pub. Whilst it's not going to be the cheapest place in the area by any stretch, you get what you pay for and if you're looking for somewhere to get a good quality restaurant meal, look no further!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 October 2022 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, food was amazing! Will definitely come again! Christine was lovely in Warrington, was very welcoming.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2022

I5380qigracec, Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Swan, So lovely to read your thought the food was amazing. I shall pass on your kind words to Christine. See you again soon Marie and team

Reviewed 10 October 2022 via mobile

Excellent service from the off , easy bar purchase and table service first rate Food wine and whole experience made our night , highly recommended pub

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2022

Hi, thanks for the nice review! We’re glad you enjoyed your visit and what we have to offer. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Team Swan.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Kirkfield Hotel
149 reviews
3.14 km away
The Gullivers Hotel
796 reviews
3.19 km away
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
626 reviews
3.21 km away
Villaggio
182 reviews
3.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Burger King
111 reviews
.59 km away
Red Bank Farm Shop and Butchery
69 reviews
1.97 km away
The Winwick Quay Brewers Fayre
656 reviews
1.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Willow Park
15 reviews
3.18 km away
The Victoria Pub
27 reviews
2.96 km away
Newbank Garden Centre
31 reviews
2.98 km away
The Balcony Late Lounge
25 reviews
3.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mike H
24 October 2022|
Answer
Response from MRJ2305 | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so. I've visited multiple times and never seen a dog in the eating areas..
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Swan, Winwick - Golborne Rd - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan

The Swan is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4