We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hare and Hounds

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Downend Road, Arreton PO30 2NU, England
441983523446
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 597: English reviews
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

very plesent atmosphere, staff are always helpful, & food is good value for money, this not fine dining, but nice pace for a night out, particularly if you are on a limited budget, car parking is very good

Helpful?
Thank wallacecbrook
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. More 

Wootton Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An excellent evening, very impressed with all aspects of standards and service, great location and a venue able to suit all needs

Helpful?
1 Thank Greyloads
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Don't forget to log on to The Hare & Hounds Photo Corner to see your photos from the night! More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Festive and friendly pub with good parking! The meat was tender in the pies and the veg was cooked perfectly...reasonably priced with a good varied menu including curries and steaks but I think pies are the speciality!

Helpful?
Thank Lynne-Louise B
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for lunch today and we had a lovely welcome. However the food was ok, I had the fish and chips which was hot and tasty, although the chips were hard. My husband had the Ham, Egg and Chips, the ham and the egg was fine but like myself the chips were hard! We also had bread and butter but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ilnat2015
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here a few weeks ago for a meal on my holidays, I was appalled by the food and especially the service. I had the chicken burger which tasted like rubber, it tasted like it just came out of the microwave! I could of gone to McDonald's for that. My husband had the steak which was not near enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank naomifisher56
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however I am disappointed to hear that your experience was not one we would have liked you to have. Please accept my apologies and rest assured I will look into what happened that day. More 

essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have a holiday home here but for some reason have never been in this pub. What a fantastic pub!! Stopped here for lunch with my husband and our whole experience here was faultless. Some of the best service I have had when dining out and the food was delightful. Ambience was lovely, cozy and comfortable - just what you... More 

Helpful?
Thank coolcatEssex
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Lovely to read and I will pass your comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are on the Island More 

East Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Brenda and I thought we would stop for a bite of lunch here as it was one of our favourite eateries on the island and have indeed highly rated on this site before. Unfortunately for me it was a real let down. I chose chicken jalfrezi which came with all the trimmings for a great Indian feast. Sag aloo, popadom,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 123Baggies
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Nigel, however, I am disappointed to see you did not have the best experience. Please accept my apologies, as you said this was just a glitch and possibly new staff were unsure how to deal with this but should have got a member of management for you. We do hope to see you again so... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose to eat here, as on the back of the carpark ticket we had a 20% code. The atmosphere in the pub was good, there was plenty of tables to chose from. We read the menu and went to the bar to order of food, the bar tender was friendly and helpful in helping us to choose our drinks.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review More 

London, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Spotted this pub on our travels through IOW and stopped here for dinner prior to our Electric Woods experience. We arrived about 4.30 and although very quiet, it still had a nice atmosphere. Barman was extremely friendly and attentive to our needs with a hungry toddler. Food was delicious (Indian banquet especially) and by the time we finished our food,... More 

Helpful?
Thank dramagirl85
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, glad we could accommodate More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Service was great and the meal size was amply from the £4.99 range we'll defiantly be going back to sample other dishes on the menu

Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
Georgi N, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for more off the value menu More 

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Whippingham, Isle of Wight
Arreton, Isle of Wight
 
Arreton, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Newchurch, Sandown
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$19
Cuisine
Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Downend Road, Arreton PO30 2NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Arreton
  • Phone Number: 441983523446
Description
Child and dog friendly thatched pub in the heart of the Isle Of Wight. Inside & outside seating with a play area to the rear.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hare and Hounds and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Sandown, United Kingdom
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hare and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?