We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Rabbit

$$ - $$$, , American
64 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L2, Canada
+1 519-305-6464
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“hanger steak” (36 reviews)
“rabbit” (16 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Canadian, American, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
64 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L2, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Red Rabbit offers two menus in peak season. The prix fix menu is for the before theatre crowd. After that, though, there is delicious, familiar and fairly reasonably priced fare. The service is wonderful and friendly, the drinks are great, and the food is everything...More

2  Thank ALGFlach
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perhaps one of the best restaurants we've been to in years! Definitely make a reservation and be prepared to be wowed! The duck bread pudding is delightfully decadent and the coconut cannolis are a work of tasteful art.

2  Thank Ed T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this place. The portions are a good size. The Steak was amazing! I thought that the seating could be a little more spaced out. But that's just a personal preference. Lovely staff and service :)

1  Thank Amanda S
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Unplanned visit to the red rabbit, food service and decor were excellent. Our sever couldn’t have been nicer. Service was prompt. Ambience relaxing and enjoyable. Was there for lunch for definitely go back for dinner.

2  Thank Kevin T
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We ate here on a Sunday evening after seeing a matinee with our two boys. I was expecting locally-grown foods in kind of a farm-to-table style restaurant. I was a little disappointed that they only offer a lunch/breakfast menu all day on Sunday. Normally, I'm...More

1  Thank R0795
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We had the 2 course pre theatre menu. Everyone had something different and it was all wonderful. We loved having a smaller menu as it made deciding a ,little, bit easier. Excellent service. Tasty Cesars. Lots of gluten free options. Anytime I come to Stratford,...More

2  Thank mamaandpapa10
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Start to finish, it's wonderful. Excellent greeting. Small but interesting wine list and local beers. Home made rolls. I wanted to try almost everything on the menu. Settled on roast cauliflower with jerk spices and perfect hanger steak with a warm potato salad. Delicious. Friends...More

2  Thank Countryfoodie50
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Popped in after a matinee. Just wanted to sample the beer. It was great! As a wine/martini drinker, I was out of my element and asked our server to “surprise me”. He did and it was great! From the people coming in for dinner, it...More

2  Thank Jann F
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We've been to The Red Rabbit twice; last year it was mid-evening and we were able to enjoy great food in smaller portions. This year we visited pre-theatre. The food was still fantastic - fresh, delicious, creative choices. However, the only options were a 2...More

1  Thank Helen S
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Delicious food served in a simple way. That is what we enjoyed. We ate the duck in a pan. The beef with chimichuri potatoes. Lovely greens to balance the more rich duck. And the cauliflower was heaven! We also had a lovely delicious red wine...More

1  Thank Judy5142015
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sirkel Foods
446 reviews
.07 km away
Rene's Bistro
480 reviews
.10 km away
Pizza Bistro
195 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Avon Theater
424 reviews
.15 km away
Black Swan Brewing
52 reviews
.21 km away
Stratford City Hall
56 reviews
.08 km away
Studio Theatre
44 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sherri G
15 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CharlotteCharles | Property representative |
Unfortunately we do not have a patio.
0
Votes
Sherri G
15 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Muma M | Reviewed this property |
No Patio... this place is so awesome, you won't worry about a patio
2
Votes
HerIndoorsOntario
19 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CharlotteCharles | Property representative |
Winter hours: Sunday: 12-2:30 lunch - colonel collins' fried chicken buckets from 5pm until it sells out Monday: 12-2:30 lunch - 5-7pm Nosh Tuesday: Closed Wednesday: Closed Thursday-Saturday: 12-2:30 lunch - 5-9pm a la... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$15 - US$49
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 64 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L2, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Stratford
  • Phone Number: +1 519-305-6464
  • E-mail
Description
We are a worker owned restaurant focused on local products, serving up an eclectic mix of items that are based on comfort food flavours with a touch of sophistication. Join us for lunch 7 days a week, pre theatre dining Tuesday - Saturday 5-7pm or our After7 small plates menu served Thursday-Saturday evening from 7:30-close
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing