We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pipi Cafe

16 Joll Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
+64 6-877 8993
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good30%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (173 reviews)
“flounder” (22 reviews)
“fish cakes” (9 reviews)
Closes in 24 min
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Joll Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Very relaxed restaurant with good menu choices. Want a beer or soft drink then help yourself from the fridge (not free).

Thank Golfers13
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We had traveled up from Wellington and this was a great place to walk into and lucky enough to get a table straight away for dinner. Very busy place. Staff were busy but really nice and had good humor. We sat at a table for...More

Thank Hillsey3
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

I booked Pipi Hotel for the night before (with bridesmaids) and night of my wedding. The place was perfect and had absolutely everything we needed, including bacon, eggs and coffee! I was even contacted during my visit, asking if we would like a quick straighten...More

Thank Kelly Y
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Great food. Warm and open staff and welcoming to visitors. Good fun. Want water? Go serve yourself; find the glasses and the tap. Hilarious.

Thank Rupski007
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Ordered two takeaway pizzas, quick production...too quick! Got them home and they were undercooked, the dough was sticking to the cardboard on one of them. After cooking them ourselves in the oven, we realised it was a complete rip off! The salami is cheap, olives...More

5  Thank Poppet1056
Management response:Responded 1 May 2017

We are really sorry and thank you very much for your feeedback. We would love to have the chance to redeem ourselves if you contact alexandrahelentylee@gmail.com we can send you a voucher.

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights staying at Pipi Hotel just across the road & feasting at Pipi Cafe-best time, low key fun! We were looked after like kings and queens- bodies and souls were nourished, leaving feeling restored. Thanks Debbie & everyone who makes Pipi special

Thank Karyn G
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This was my first time here being the choice of a young friend who joined us so we didnt know what to expect.....certainly different, with dim lighting, loud music, bare concrete floors, tables made from old doors, wooden bench seats and everything including cutlery mis-matched....More

1  Thank camaronz
Reviewed 28 March 2017

This authentic family run resturant is loud and lively, as famikies rub shoulders with strangers seated at trestled tables. Help yourself to the beer fridge or enjoy a local wine. Marry this with hand made italian focussed foods made with fresh Hawkes Bay produce and...More

Thank Peter K
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Handmade gourmet pizza heaven, fresh figs, feta, and a home smoked salmon salad, gorgeous. Followed by the jelly tip ice cream (you know, for the kids 😉) and a golden peach shortcake, just like Nana's. Great spot for pizza in havelock north 🍕

Thank LondonTravelBuds
Reviewed 25 March 2017

If you come here you have to try the garlic bread, it is soooo delicious! We had the Salsicci pizza and then the tiramisu for dessert both of which were divine. The restaurant has a lovely cosy atmosphere, with a well stocked beer fridge and...More

Thank Billy_AUK
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Havelock North
Mangapapa Hotel
253 reviews
4.88 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
702 reviews
19.46 km away
The County Hotel Napier
1,099 reviews
20.67 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
973 reviews
20.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Maina
274 reviews
.22 km away
Alessandro's
77 reviews
.28 km away
Namaskar Indian Restaurant
190 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Birdwoods Gallery
319 reviews
2.95 km away
Te Mata Peak
1,402 reviews
4.31 km away
Arataki Honey Visitor Centre
296 reviews
2.56 km away
Askerne Vineyards
38 reviews
4.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jenni J
30 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Abby M | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so, probably not. It depends when will you travel there as they will be closing down soon.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Joll Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Havelock North
  • Phone Number: +64 6-877 8993
  • E-mail
Description
Pipi is all about you the customer we don’t mind if you come in your muddy gumboots or your Gucci stilettos, or if you drink Bollinger with your pizza or house red. We are very lucky in Hawkes Bay to be surrounded by wonderful produce and wine and our menu very much reflects this, where possible everything is local and organic. We don’t take ourselves too seriously but we do take what we do very seriously. Using the best freshest ingredients and cooking them to best bring out their natural flavours. Pipi was born out of my love of my children and food and now 15 years later this has not changed at all and is still at the heart of everything we do.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing