We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anchor Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Thurstaston Road, Irby CH61 0HA, England
+44 151 648 1698
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 10:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 414: English reviews
Wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Two weeks ago today, we visited a friend in Irby and rounded it off with Lunch at the Anchor. I had not been for some time but my 'better-half' had and said how much she had enjoyed it. Well I now know why!! We both actually chose the same meal i.e.Duck Salad and it was a very wise choice. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL C
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thank you for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us so much! Your great feedback has been passed on too Gemma and it was much appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you on Saturday! More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fixed price meal with 3 courses for £14.95 is excellent value, ours meals were delicious! The Anchor is beautifully decorated and the service good.

Helpful?
Thank snappycats
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review! Our 3 course fixed price is amazing value for money, especially when the food is so nice.. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Bucks
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited as a family of eight on a Friday evening. Comfortable surroundings, good food and atmosphere, good service, reasonably priced, good selection of drinks. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Donhide
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Donhide, Thank you for the great review we really do appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

There was a great choice of menu with a fixed price menu (of items from the main menu). I tried the lobster and devon crab fishcakes which were delicious and I have not tried before. My brother tried the gammon and eggs which were a very good portion. The were some guest beers of which I am told are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisgains1
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the lovely review! Everyone loves our new lobster and crab fishcakes! They are definitely a favourite on our menu so I'm glad you enjoyed them as much as everyone else.. Looking forward to seeing you again soon? More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really like this pub. The music really is background music so you can hear it and speak to other people. I was here for Sunday lunch, a lamb roast. I was happy to see that the food was on one plate and I wasn't given mountains of food in separate dishes. It looked great when it arrived. Have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank faithcharity
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us Faithcharity. I've passed your feedback about the food and gravy onto our kitchen team and as chef makes it fresh every Sunday morning will have a gravy sample at the beginning of service, I too prefer it a little thicker. I hope you will visit again soon and thanks again for... More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff here are great especially Bobbi always seems to have been working when I have visited and her service is always exceptional! Well done

Helpful?
Thank iamsoph92
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks iamsoph92, I will pass your feedback onto Bobbi. She will be delighted to get a mention from you. See you again soon. More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food properly prepared and cooked ,presented well Lovely drinks ,bar snacks Lovely staff Lovely smart pub Very impressed

Helpful?
Thank twilight68
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you twilight68, please come again soon. More 

Hoylake
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Had a really nice lunch here today. Haven't been for ages but will be back soon Good menu, friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank Skykarlie
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Hoping to see you again soon! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Visited The Anchor recently during the week. Waiter took our drinks order and then seemingly vanished; the drinks eventually arrived at our table and the waitress took our order. Again the food took quite a while to materialise; we realised we'd been seated for over an hour before our mains arrived. However, they were good - and noticeably freshly cooked.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LittleAygo
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi LittleAygo, I'm sorry to hear the service on your recent visit wasn't upto our usual standards. We will definitely take your comments on board and pass them on to our head office to try and get some new furniture. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

One of my favourite places to eat and catch up with friends........however had a meal here a couple of weeks ago for a friends birthday and had the special Wednesday night menu. We both had the ribeye steak and both had to sent it back, you could not eat it!. They did refund us for this element of the menu... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank janet t
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Janet, Sorry for your recent disappointing visit with us. Unfortunately with steak, especially rib eye as it is a fattier cut of meat you do sometimes get an extremely bad cut of meat, and I'm sorry that was the case on your visit. I'm glad you were however compensated. Hope to see you again soon for a more enjoyable... More 

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 
Thurstaston, Wirral
 
Thornton Hough, Wirral
Crosby, Merseyside
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Thurstaston Road, Irby CH61 0HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Wirral  >  Irby
  • Phone Number: +44 151 648 1698
Description
Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Anchor Inn - Wirral offers British pub hospitality. Mixing classic recipes and modern dishes, the menu is dictated by the seasons, with daily-changing specials also on offer. The bar is amply stocked with fine wines and smooth cask ales, and chunky wood furnishings and quirky décor make for a homely, relaxed ambience in the dining room. A menu just for kids offers fun yet nutritious choice for younger diners.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Anchor Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?