We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gate

Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
+44 1923 282053
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pate” (7 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

looking for somewhere to meet and eat close to the M25. This place was very good - much better than average. Interesting menu and sensibly priced. Staff were good and pleasant. Could have been slightly more attentive. Nevertheless very good.More

Thank Martin S
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Martin S, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Gate, Chorleywood. We're happy we could meet your expectations! your kind words and this wonderful review has made our day. Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I went there just after 10 am today for brunch, where about 3 other small tables were occupied. Very pleasant waitress but we waited ages for our Traditional Breakfast. Waitress returned when we were 2/3rds through our meal to find out if...More

Thank Oink77
Gate C, General Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear oink77, Thank you for taking the time to send us your sincere feedback we are very sad to hear that your last visit at the The Gate was not a positive one. I was not made aware of any issue that morning. We would...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the most awful experience in this dirty hole. Table dirty when we Sat down, food arrived and no table wiped I had to ask for this to be done, waitress dropped a fork and shrugged her shoulders and left it on the floor, the...More

1  Thank pole4
Gate C, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear pole4 sorry you did not find your visit to gate a pleasant one. I do remember having this chat with you during your this visit few weeks ago . we were unexpectedly busy that Sunday afternoon and all the team were stretched to maximum....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for dinner with friends. Service was efficient but sadly the food was really disappointing. We had 2 shared starting plates. The flat bread was so cold it had gone tough and chewy but apart from that they were just about ok. We had...More

1  Thank SarahLiveing1
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us at 01923282053 so we can understand your situation better in order to try and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met my sister here for lunch yesterday. Great improvement on our last visit. The staff seem to know what they're doing! Lovely knowledgeable waitress, not some young inexperienced girl, like last time. We just had a light lunch, the lobster and crab pot, with bread...More

Thank juliekBucks
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Juliekbucks, thank you so much for your high rating! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Gate, Chorleywood!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dreadful service, food soaked in grease, 3 quarters of meat portion was pure fat. When this was mentioned to our server all she said was “do you want me to tell the chef”! Even after requesting the bill we had a half hour wait....!!!!More

1  Thank Rachel H
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Rachel H, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. It is discouraging to learn of your experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve and we would like to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Simply the worst service we have experienced in all of UK and in months of dining out across the country and region. Waited 15 minutes to be seated and had to finally walk to the kitchen to get someone to do so. Host/Waiter was so...More

1  Thank BMorgan8
General Manager A, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bmorgan8, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Here at The Gate, Chorleywood, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me: Have you got anything vegan on the menu? Pub manager: No we don’t Me: whats this item? Pub: its got pesto in it Me: well can you do it without the pesto? Pub: yes Me: then it would be vegan? Pub: Yes Me: So...More

2  Thank Matthew W
Gate C, General Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback Matthew w. First of all sorry for confusion regarding your order as once you decided that you wanted something vegan you were given an allergen /dietary guide which states all the ingredients. You looked at menu and decided to have...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quite a busy place and well appointed dining room with room outside if weather permits. Reasonable menu though I felt the portions were rather small ..especially as the price is a touch higher than those pubs in the general area. However, food was hot, as...More

Thank John P
Gate C, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedbak John P. We are really pleased you had an enjoyable visit with us and your food,plates were hot. Our pub is having a makeover soon and so is our menu so hopefully next time we will make your experience even...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017

love this friendly local pub, great menu, tasty food and very friendly staff. Always go out of there way to be accomodating. Great new bottomless brunch menu aswell! can't recommend enough. thanks so much guys, we will be back again.

Thank Sureena G
Gate C, Manager at The Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Sureena G you Really made our day with such kind words! Thanks you, team will be chuffed to hear that their service has been so appreciated. Do stop by again when you down in Chorleywood .We'll be looking forward to it!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto Bistro
108 reviews
1.28 km away
Rootz Coffee Chorleywood
68 reviews
1.37 km away
The Rose and Crown
135 reviews
1.04 km away
Mezze Mangal
99 reviews
1.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chorleywood House Estate
12 reviews
.10 km away
Chenies Manor
83 reviews
2.78 km away
Chiltern Open Air Museum
202 reviews
3.65 km away
The Craft Beer Shop
28 reviews
4.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Gate staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Chorleywood
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 282053
Description
A modern contemporary country pub with a rustic feel,serving good quality fresh food and a fantastic range of beers,wines and spirits. Cozy up next to the fireplaces in winter and enjoy our lovely garden in the summer months.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing