We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
+44 1923 282053
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 10:30
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 455: English reviews
Sarratt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had Sunday lunch and marks for having a full menun available. Staffing levels seem low; it wasn't a matter of being ignored, just gaps when no-one was around. The food was good/v.gd, though portions were, to me, too large. The option of a 'small plate' version would have been nice. Overall a perfectly ok experience, but without anything to... More 

Helpful?
Thank TonyBond
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear TonyBond Thank you for leaving your feedback about your recent visit Im sorry to hear that you found you experience below par. I hope that you will try us again in order to gain a better view of the service and food as im sure you will not be disappointed. Best regards The Gate Team More 

Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Came on a Friday night, restaurant was not very busy but service incredibly slow. Husband had to ask where our main courses were after an hour as we had nearly finished our bottle of wine. Food poor, burger burned and husband had to send his double cooked chips back as they were lucky to have been cooked once. No real... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen337
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear Karen337 Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the pub Im very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience recently The fact that your food may have taken longer as a result should have been communicated and i apologise for this not happening. We are always happy to replace any items that... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came to this restaurant last year for Valentine's decided to come back as it had been so good. Wasn't disappointed food was excellent and top quality very tasty and very well presented. The young waiter who was very tall sorry don't know his name was incredibly polite and friendly and very attentive to our needs. My wife has been here... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear Christopher B Thank you for taking the time to review the pub We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy what we do here and its really nice to hear that you will be giving others the recommendation. We very much look forward to serving you guys again very soon. Keep an eye out for our new menu coming... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my wife to the place on a couple of occasions and realised that it was consistently below average. We thought we would give a it a couple of chances before we reviewed it. We ordered a sharing starter but unfortunately it was only enough for one person. The standard of the food was by no means a brassie standard... More 

Helpful?
Thank pheonix004
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear Pheonix004 Im sorry to hear you found the portion sizes too small and we appreciate you taking the time to write your comments. All our dishes are cooked to a specification set out by the brand and these-as far as i know-are adhered to at all times. If you found it inadequate for 2 people i can only apologise... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If I could I would write a good review BUT the food was below acceptable and we wont be going back. Much better offerings more local to us near to Chesham. Linguine with prawns, crab and chorizo all I could taste was garlic and I dreaded the next day. The crispy Duck salad was bland & almost inedible - baked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dswatson33
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear dswatson33 Thank you for taking the time to review our pub Im very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food. The linguine is one of my personal favourites plus ive had so many guests say it was very enjoyable also so im very surprised you didnt enjoy it and maybe its just a matter of taste... More 

UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I wish I could write a more glowing review. The Gate has all the core ingredients of a good local gastropub - convenient but attractive location, opposite Chorleywood Common, stylish surrounding, undeniably friendly staff and a solid menu. And it's always busy, but most recent experience suggests this may be as much a lack of decent competition as anything, as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim U
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear Tim U Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review of the pub My sincere apologies that you felt the food was not good value for money. Due to the fact we are a branded pub, we do have to use nominated suppliers for each of our food groups and we are also expected to stick... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went here because we had a £40 voucher from the chain that owns the pub. After lunch we presented the voucher and the manager said it had expired. This despite us having a printout of an email from head office proving it was still valid. It took an hour of arguing for us to get a bill with the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SteveP1960
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear SteveP1960 I am so sorry about the experience you had with us and for the way the manager on duty that day may have treated you Please could you call the pub on 01923 282053 and ask for Chris so that i may apologise and discuss things with you if you dont mind. Best regards The Gate Team More 

Steeple Aston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dreary decor Tough chicken Tasteless pie with undercooked pastry Dreadful vegetables The only redeeming feature was that on complaining a discount was applied, almost as if complaints are expected

Helpful?
1 Thank cathysteeple
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear cathysteeple Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our pub Im very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food and i have to say im very surprised to hear that you did not enjoy the pie as it always goes down well with our guests and vegetables are always usually cooked well... More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped on the way through from Essex for lunch. As usual the Gate was up to standard. The staff are very efficient and friendly. The food is always enjoyable and over the years we have not had a bad meal. We have had lunches, afternoon snacks, evening meals and Sunday lunches. If you haven't tried it it's a must .

Helpful?
Thank Rosalind M
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear Rosalind M Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback about the pub We are thrilled to hear that you always enjoy the pub and its great to have reviews where whatever the time or ocassion you have had a good time. Thats what its all about for us and we cannot wait to serve... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Family dinner. Made it clear to the staff that two of our party are coeliacs (therefore vital that their food be strictly gluten-free). We chose from the gluten-free menu. One of the meals arrived with a Yorkshire pudding. We asked the staff to confirm that it was gluten free. They took the plate away and removed the YP, but gave... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James G
Chris B, Manager at The Gate, responded to this review

Dear James G Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments Im terribly sorry that the kitchen team failed to deliver your meal as requested and i have had serious words with those on duty. They are all fully aware of alergens and how serious they are so i was incredibly shocked to find out that this had... More 

Travellers who viewed The Gate also viewed

Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
 
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 10:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rickmansworth Road, Chorleywood WD3 5SQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Chorleywood
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 282053
Description
A modern contemporary country pub with a rustic feel,serving good quality fresh food and a fantastic range of beers,wines and spirits. Cozy up next to the fireplaces in winter and enjoy our lovely garden in the summer months.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Gate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?