We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bell Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 Thames Street, Hampton TW12 2EA, England
+44 20 8941 9799
11:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 197: English reviews
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely location, great live music on a Saturday eve, but the wait after your orders are taken just puts you off, not bad but not great either, will not be returning.

1 Thank AronC7
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly pub and nice atmosphere. Live music every Saturday so sit and relax with a drink. We ate and the food was nice. There is a small beer garden at the rear and to the front it overlooks the river Thames. Small car park to rear.

Thank sandrahagger
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was good and the service was friendly and efficient. A good little boozer for an informal and enjoyable meal

1 Thank WolseyWitch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good Sunday lunch, reasonably priced and speedy friendly service. Will return and recommend to others.

1 Thank Ian R
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Such a beautiful pub! Great stocking of lager and ale super efficient service and a rack of ribs that leaves you wanting more! Special mention to Max for great service and fab after dinner coffees

1 Thank Richard C
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wouldn't recommend going here for food as there's a good chance you won't get any. We went for Sunday lunch at 4.45pm only to be told after we had sat down and got a menu that the kitchen was closed for the next hour to re-stock?!? Apparently there was not 1 thing left on the menu, yet the table... More 

Thank Colm D
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

Returning to The Bell after a two month pause, to test how they cope on a sunny busy Sunday for roast dinner. First thing to say is this busy, trying hard with the new manager and his team, is understaffed. They rallied well, and we were served quickly and efficiently, as were those around us, obviously the recent better reviews... More 

1 Thank sylvanglade
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Not a great experience having eaten here previously. Ordered roasts on a Sunday evening, to be told 15 minutes later they had run out. Fair enough, that happens. So we order Chicken burgers instead. After 45 mins we enquire as to where they are. Told they were coming and offered a free drink. Nice touch. Food finally arrives 1 hour... More 

1 Thank JamieLong
Maximilian D, General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, I do apologize for the misunderstanding and we have no excuses for what happened to you on last Sunday. However, i would like to highlight the fact, besides of what your "Original Order" was, I gave you a FULL refund for your food, plus the free round of drinks. Also, I didn't even dream to blame you for... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The people we went with booked a table for 20 as a local business was having a leaving do for one of their employees on a Friday night as they were moving country. Ordered some food which turned out delicious so compliments to the chef! Wasn't too impressed with the manager as he told us a few times to be... More 

1 Thank Joanna G
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

We had booked a table for 8. The place was not that busy for a Saturday lunchtime, however the service was fairly slow. The meals when they arrived seemed to be of a reasonable portion presented on a wooden platter. No bill was presented when requested at the bar, just the total on till. Not impressed. There was a claim... More 

2 Thank hyperion23

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

East Molesey, Surrey
Hampton, Greater London
Hampton, Greater London

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$32
Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
11:00 - 22:30
11:00 - 00:00
11:00 - 00:00
11:00 - 00:00
11:00 - 00:00
11:00 - 00:00
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Thames Street, Hampton TW12 2EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Hampton
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8941 9799

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?