We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Overstrand

) #1 of 6 Restaurants in Overstrand $$ - $$$ , British,
34 High Street | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
+44 1263 579237
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“hake” (12 reviews)
“roast beef” (12 reviews)
“crab” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
34 High Street | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had a very tasty meal on a busy Friday night. I chose the hake and curried chicken peas, delicious. Dog friendly in the bar area and you can reserve a table in that area. Staff were extremely pleasant but service slow. Having arrived at 630...More

Thank pam g
Reviewed 5 days ago

Wonderful pub serving a good range of beers and wines along with excellent food. I had a local crab salad with samphire. Had never eaten samphire before and the whole meal was delicious. Friendly staff offering good service.

Thank BigMalcBedsU_K_
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you soon! best regards Ben

Reviewed 5 days ago

We visited the White Horse over a year ago and decided to return mainly to enjoy the garden and to break up a walk to Cromer along beach. It has a large garden and the kids were excited about the bouncy castle. Unfortunately, the play...More

Thank piggytailchick
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the review, We are having a new play area installed in late September which required planning permission due to its size, the planning process is a long and draw out affair which we had to go through twice as the first plans...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We always visit The White Horse in Overstrand whenever we are in the Cromer area because our previous experiences have been very good. Not anymore, my partner and I with our 2 young children visited last Sunday. Not only was my food cold the service...More

Thank MickyKL
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience with us this time and I would like to speak to you further about your experience with us, I would appreciate it if you could give me a email or a call...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice enough pub. Beer garden good for children. Food expensive for the type of pub. Salmon linguine - hard to find the salmon - was there any? Pot of potatoes - 3. Pot of salad - cherry tomatoes and not much else. The pots held...More

Thank actionman72
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for the review... Food being "expensive" all depends on what you would usually pay, our prices are relatively in line with what other "pubs" in our area charge, but we are far from being the most expensive. "salmon linguini"???? I think you may have...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a sunny Sunday afternoon here in the garden and setting is fantastic. Unfortunately with exception to one member of staff the rest were rude following in the footsteps of the manager who was particularly 'arsey'. She stomped around barking orders believing she could manage!...More

Thank Lee H
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello, unfortunately I wasn't at the pub on Sunday so please could you give me a call or an email so we can discuss your experience with us. I fully apologise if some of the staffs attitude spoilt your afternoon, Best regards, Ben enquiries@whitehorseoverstrand.co.uk 01263...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely and modern inside, friendly staff and great for families with kids as there's a bouncy castle outside. We ate there twice during our stay and both meals were reasonably priced. Great kids menu but perhaps the adult menu would benefit from some specials. Unfortunately...More

Thank Feef42
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us, hopefully we will see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this venue with my wife and our dog. Lovely welcome and we're shown to our room by the attentive barman. Room was lovely, bed was comfortable but it was quite basic in my opinion. The bathroom really needed updating to make it as nice...More

Thank James C
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the review, all of the staff work really hard to try and make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible so I'm disappointed to hear that it did not meet your expectations. We get a lot of compliments about our breakfasts but...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place , pet friendly. From the moment we arrived was made to feel welcome, room was really good family sized room. Sat down in the bar had a good meal with the dog allowed in the bar area to eat. Close to the sea...More

Thank robertwE8567AY
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We always pop into here for a meal for the family every time we are up here on holiday. The pub was very nice, the service and food was up to the same great standard. They have spent a lot on new benches, seating and...More

Thank Paffman4
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed to time at the white horse, the garden is a work in progress and will be finished at the end of September! we hope to see you again soon! Ben

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cliff Top Cafe
291 reviews
.22 km away
Foundry Arms
659 reviews
1.52 km away
SeaMarge Hotel
167 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cromer Lifeboat Station
529 reviews
3.36 km away
Groveland Farm shop
16 reviews
4.56 km away
Hillside Shire Horse Sanctuary
251 reviews
7.03 km away
Adventure Island Golf
8 reviews
7.72 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Daphne L
12 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Liz M | Reviewed this property |
Not a specific car par but plenty on surrounding roads. We always got parked right outside.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 High Street | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Overstrand
  • Phone Number: +44 1263 579237
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing