We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 21/09
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
The Swan Inn in Horning is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront
Reviews (1,647)
Filter reviews
1,644 results
Traveller rating
476
361
270
223
314
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
476
361
270
223
314
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pies the river stayed here southern comfort lovely meal norfolk broads watch the boats sunny day boating holiday evening meal riverside bure
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I would normally be more understanding in difficult times but potential visitors need to be aware as this is more about attitude and contempt. We made a booking for a family occasion on the 18th well in advance for a 70th lunch, as there were...8 of us we offered to preorder and offered to have something simple to help. At lunchtime on the 17th we got a call to say they had got no food as deliveries were bad and were cancelling the booking, the girl was laughing and joking about being given the short straw and was far from apologetic or indeed sympathetic. It was unclear if the place was actually going to open. She did suggest a cafe without seating. I am not in the hospitality trade but I do have my own business and have gone the extra mile and more for my own customers in the face of huge disruption. If I had the same issue I would have offered a reduced menu of sandwiches, jacket potatoes, bowls of chips, the ingredients for which are all of which are readily available in a supermarketMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

This is very saddening to hear of this review. Once again I will reiterate the issues we faced on the particular occasion which were concerned with our food deliveries from our suppliers. As we are apart of Mitchell's and Butlers we have to rely on...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here for an afternoon drink and were not disappointed. The location by the river was lovely, the place had a bustling atmosphere and we were served by the wonderful Megan who couldn't have been more helpful - very friendly, competent and efficient and made...sure our four legged friend was catered for with a fresh bowl of water and a couple of doggie treats,More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm thrilled to hear and read of such a fantastic review. I'll be sure to pass your comments onto Megan, she's a great member of our team. We always like to ensure our four legged friends are well hydrated too. Thank you so much for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here on a sunny afternoon just for drinks and paid for car parking in the village. Setting is great unfortunately we were ignored for ten minutes after being acknowledged and offered a table. The female server was chatting away while we were kept waiting,...we couldn’t get the attention of the male server either who wouldn’t stray from his allocated space. After 10m of being ignored the server went straight to another customer who had just arrived, so we left unhappy. Needless to say inefficient service and lost revenue.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had been on the Mississippi boat trip and spotted this lovely looking restaurant on the river front. We booked a table for the next evening. We were served by the very attentive Megan who was very smiley and competent. A credit to the management....We had Koftas, Mushrooms, Lamb Duo and Apple tart. All very good and in fact so good we are returning tonight for another fantastic evening. Do not hesitate to book this restaurant as I feel you will not be disappointed.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

No food until 5pm and then you have to book a table . Couldn’t even get a sandwich, the place was heaving with tourists, so a lot of revenue lost. We are local and have visited several times, it has gone steadily downhill over the...past couple of years. Won’t be going back anytime soonMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ventured out yesterday for a coffee by the river and because of traffic decided on The Swan instead of our usual venue , bad mistake !!! My wife said her decaf cappuccino was without doubt the worst ever and my Americano!!! well I could...see the bottom of the cup before I added the cream!!! Disgusting and £5.10 ☕️🤮More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Retired106, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, if you had made the issue regarding your hot drinks aware to one of our team members we would of gladly rectified the issue for you, there and then. I deeply apologise...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had lunch here. Menu was lovely. Good home cooked food. Very tasty. Really friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. Would definitely eat here again!Had aMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon Lynnel, A great big thank you from myself and the entire team for such a brilliant review. We are delighted to hear that we were able to make your experience a memorable one, it is always a pleasure to hear a guest left...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Moored here during our holiday and had drinks first outside. Our server was chatty and helpful. Booked a table for dinner inside and once again the staff were so lovely. The food was delicious. The decor of the pub was great too. Would totally recommend...stopping here.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal and stay at The Swan Inn, the room was comfortable and the bathroom very luxurious. We were served by Megan in the evening and Jo in the morning, both did their upmost to make us feel welcome and were a...credit to the place. We have already agreed that we’d love to come back to the broads and if we do we will definitely be looking to stay here again.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped for lunch before we went on the riverboat, which is just outside, very convenient. Me and he hubby both went for light options having tasty sandwiches. The service was brilliant, keep up the fab work

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Wroxham
934 reviews
3.64 km away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
1,510 reviews
7.10 km away
Sutton Staithe Hotel
165 reviews
7.48 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
326 reviews
8.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bure River Cottage Restaurant
495 reviews
.03 km away
The Galley
295 reviews
.09 km away
The Clubhouse
39 reviews
1.11 km away
The New Inn
1,173 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Southern Comfort Mississippi Paddle Boat
451 reviews
.12 km away
RAF Air Defence Radar Museum
470 reviews
1.06 km away
BeWILDerwood Norfolk
2,282 reviews
1.01 km away
Go Paddle
64 reviews
1.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Georgina C
27 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from MikeeT_13 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is dog friendly both inside and outside the Swan. The Swan, like the two other pubs in the village, has a large beer garden on the river.
1
Vote
518shane
27 November 2016|
Answer
Response from CandSSomerset | Reviewed this property |
Had two excellent lunches there is September whilst staying in Horning. Also used in the evening on two occasions for coffee and brandies after dining elsewhere (free wifi for catch up was the reason). On all times food and... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan Inn

Yes, The Swan Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Swan Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 3.5