We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Navigation Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Canalside | Stoke Bruerne, Stoke Bruerne NN12 7SY, England
+44 1604 864988
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 09:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 481: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

For a chain type big pub i was very impressed. Family friendly cheerful vibe. The staff were pleasant but the 5 stars go to the food. I had half a chicken hunters style with jacket and asian slaw! My pals had roast dinners. The staff happily brought extra gravy and piri piri sauces out. We had a few desserts to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carla G
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited here for the first time with the parents who have been several times. Its a great location right on the canal just down from the lock and main boating activities. There is a good sized car park and childrens play area which was popular with the little madam. A good choice of tables to choose from and many are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

visited Stoke to have a look at the drained lock, which was very interesting and informative from the staff there. we then went for a bite to eat at the navigation to get out of the cold, the wait was just ok about 40mins.The food was appetizing and presented well our granddaughter tucked into the wraps, while I had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Not quite bad enough for me to complain, no where near good enough for me to recommend. Everything about the staff and the place has a false air about it, the staff say all the right things but with no sincerity what so ever, the food is basic and the salad with my starter was brown around the edges. when... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevb346
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I want to leave a good review, as we enjoyed the food and it was good value. Unfortunately I can't, because the restaurant was quiet, and so I assume that's why three members of the waiting staff stood around talking to customers at the table behind us.

Helpful?
Thank Jewel1977
southend on sea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Navigation with a friends the other evening. The service was very good and we enjoyed our meal. It is very good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank tazshah
navigation_towcester, Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Navigation. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Sarah Tann More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

Served by lack lustre yawning staff who clearly didn't want to be there. You can't open a tab so have to go up and order and pay separately if you're not sure how many courses etc you're going to have. The worst part was the meal! I ordered the salmon and scallop tart with vegetables and new potatoes. Sounded lovely.The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LovesTravel165
navigation_towcester, Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Having read your recent review of The Navigation, I would be most grateful if you could contact me: navigation.towcester@marstons.co.uk or tel: 01604 864988 as I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the feedback you have given directly with you. Thank you Sarah Tann More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

This pub is set in a wonderful location on the side of the grand union canal. I am afraid however that the quality of the food is not very good and prices are high. Despite the pub being very quiet when we visited it took over 40 minutes for a sandwich to be served and the advertised dip was missing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David F
navigation_towcester, Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Navigation. I am disappointed however to read that you did not enjoy your visit. Perhaps you would be kind enough to contact me directly, e-mail: navigation.towcester@marstons.co.uk. Customer feedback is very important to us and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to make amends for your dissatisfaction on this occasion. Regards Sarah... More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely family run pub. The navigation is set with beautiful surroundings. The meals are a little more expensive than other local marstons, but the food is perfect. In the summer it's a great play to sit and eat whilst watching the barges go by.

Helpful?
Thank arc_girl_12
navigation_towcester, Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Navigation. It is always great to receive such positive feedback from our guests and we do hope to see you again soon. Regards Sarah Tann More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Surroundings are nice,spacious restaurant..staff are ok but not that outgoing apart from one girl that was more bubbly and helpful. The food is very basic and the cost varies depending on what you have,there's nothing special about the food.. The pub is ideal for the summer to sit by the canal with a beer but that's all

Helpful?
Thank Michael q
navigation_towcester, Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Further to your recent review of The Navigation, I have noted your comments. We are of course a public house which offers a varied menu of traditional pub favourites, grills, house specials, lighter meals and snacks, as opposed to being a formal restaurant. We aim to provide value for money, with various offers on food and drink throughout the week... More 

Travellers who viewed Navigation Inn also viewed

Stoke Bruerne, Northamptonshire
Cosgrove, Northamptonshire
 
Shutlanger, Northamptonshire
Stoke Bruerne, Northamptonshire
 
Ashton, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Navigation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Canalside | Stoke Bruerne, Stoke Bruerne NN12 7SY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Stoke Bruerne
  • Phone Number: +44 1604 864988

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Navigation Inn and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Navigation Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?