We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pickled Ploughman Pub

) #1 of 4 Restaurants in Adderbury $$ - $$$ , British,
Aynho Road | Banbury, Adderbury, Banbury, England
+44 1295 810327
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good22%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (19 reviews)
“sea bass” (7 reviews)
“pudding” (13 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aynho Road | Banbury, Adderbury, Banbury, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Stopped in for lunch, without booking first, but were accommodated and made to feel very welcome. The food was excellent, particularly my 'superfood salad', and service was good. My only niggles, constructively. The staff should not presume that a tip will be left. Being asked...More

Thank Andy T
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your kind and constructive review and have taken on board your comments . I will certainly have a quiet word with the staff to make sure they understand the menus and relay better to the customer. If you would like to email...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

In my opinion the menu is far too big so there is a large choice of very average food instead of a smaller choice of excellent food. The waiting staff are very friendly.More

1  Thank chefchef
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and have taken your points on board , I'm pleased the staff were friendly and efficient and hope you will give us another try as we try to cater for for all tastes and pride ourselves on the quality of...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Having eaten at, and been pleased by, other pubs run by the same owner, we decided to try this one to celebrate the birthdays of our daughter and partner. The pub must have been having a bad day. Although two of the staff were very...More

Thank NigelF693
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The PIckled and am really sorry it did not come up to expectations . If you could email myself to discuss further it would be greatly appreciated Neville info@thepickledploughman.co.uk

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to celebrate my daughter's birthday as a party of five. Have been before but wasn't as happy with the meal as previous visits, The starters were fine , especially the heated camembert with bread. The main courses were however disappointing, Two of us had...More

Thank CARL W
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The PIckled , we pride ourselves on the quality of food and I'm sorry it was not to your liking on this occasion . Could you email myself to discuss more. Neville info@thepickledploughman.co.uk

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Please visit here if you're nearby. I love the staff.....just so down to earth & lovely. Food is gr8, 2 courses for a tenner...... leek and pot soup was good, not great 7/10? However main of Pork & Leek pie with curvy chips was scrummy!!...More

Thank UkZed
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review ,hope to see you soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a few times now, absolutely great food and such a welcoming service from the owner. Great lunch menu too, portions are perfect.

Thank LeaJoh
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for kind review , see you soon Neville

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went today with friends good food varied menu plenty of choice staff very helpfuli have allergies cheff came out to advise and offered to cook something for me seperate situated along the aynho road nr banbury this was my starter chicken goujons had starter main...More

1  Thank Pauline R
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cannot really comment on the food as usually drop in for a drink and snack. They have good quality draft beers and discounts between 3 & 6 Monday through Thursday. From what we see the food looks well presented. We find the place welcoming and...More

1  Thank mike y
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review , why not try our bar snacks next time washed down with a pint of Pickled Ploughman ale 3.6%

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this pub when on holiday in the area, as a family and were very impressed. It was a lovely evening so we sat outside. The service was efficient and friendly . We all chose different things from the menu. My youngest daughter is...More

1  Thank Angela B
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful detailed review , your comments will be shared to all @ The Pickled team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit to The Pickled Ploughman. We had made a reservation about 45 minutes before arrival, this wasn't processed in the reservation system yet but we got seated within a few minutes in "the snug" Orders where taken within a reasonable time...More

1  Thank Jorgen_laan
Neville L, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for kind review , your comments are important to maintain the service and look forward to seeing you soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
White Horse
542 reviews
2.08 km away
Spice Room
117 reviews
2.65 km away
Great Western Arms
468 reviews
4.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Retreat at Mayfield House
9 reviews
1.40 km away
Deddington Farmers' Market
42 reviews
4.28 km away
Deddington Antique Centre
11 reviews
4.22 km away
Deddington Castle
15 reviews
4.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pickled Ploughman Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$26
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aynho Road | Banbury, Adderbury, Banbury, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Banbury  >  Adderbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1295 810327
  • E-mail
Description
ABOUT US For fabulous food, friendly service and quality ales, The Pickled Ploughman is a great choice. We have a firm focus on fresh local ingredients. Whatever you want, whatever the season, The Pickled Ploughman is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our private dining room is available and seats up to 20 diners or more for a more casual reception celebration, it's perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together. Our fabulous bar is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or morning coffee and afternoon tea. With a welcoming log fire for the chilly days, you may find it hard to leave. What is great local food without a friendly local service? We're committed to delivering service that is a welcoming and efficient. Our staff wants you to enjoy your meal and aim to be as attentive as they can be, so you can be assured you will be greeted with a smile and receive the best local service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Offers Reduced drinks prices from3-6 Monday to Friday Friday Beer Sale £1.00 Off all ales Pre Fixe menu 12-6 Monday to Thursday Sunday Lunch choice of Roasts from £10.00 Per head 2 FOR 1 On all main courses from the 5th January 2 FOR1 Pizza from 3-6 Monday to Thursday Childrens menu Gluten Free Menu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing