We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare & Hounds

Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
+44 151 489 3046
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good13%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (3 reviews)
“chicken” (2 reviews)
“busy pub” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my family where turned away at the door at 6.30 new years eve after checking with the manager if children (ages 14-16)where allowed like the year before we had 15 tickets absolute disgrace.the manager told my wife to goto the chaple brook. Ive...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
4  Thank John8285
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately this isn’t strictly the truth. As your wife said to the manager on the night, this was second hand information allegedly based upon last year. At no point was any member of the management team asked about times for children to be off the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

needs to improve on quality of cooked food service and the eating area needs an upgradeand a refreshment.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Brian O
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your recent visit. On the whole feedback has been good for both service and food. We wish you’d have releyed your concerns at the time to the management team and we could have dealt with your issues and turned a...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Had Christmas Lunch with a group of friends from our gym and what a lunch. The food was great and the entertainment was amazing. Add to that the hard work the staff put into serving all those meals meant the best Christmas lunch. You certainly...More

Thank Marilyn D
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thanks for your review Marilyn. We love our Christmas parties and Scott John is one of our Favourite acts. We’re so glad you enjoyed your party, we pride ourselves on our events and look forward to seeing you in the future. Keep an eye on...More

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Came with friends for a xmas meal everything was perfect. Will certainly return again food was hot and superb could not fault for the price.More

Thank Garymcgov
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for you’re kind review Gary, I think I remember talking to you and discussing the entertainment that we have on this Christmas. You couldn’t believe that we offered a three course meal, guaranteed table for the night and quality entertainment for just £12.99!...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Came down for Christmas night with family, had a lovely meal and the atmosphere was fantastic. The Christmas party was so well run with every table receiving their meals at the same time. Thanks for an amazing party.

Thank Caitlin T
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your Christmas party with us. We worked hard to make sure that the food was top notch and the entertainment was perfect! We hope to see you again soon, don’t forget we have live entertainment every Saturday.

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Booked our work Christmas night out and it was fabulous food was delicious service was excellent staff very friendly and the entertainment was great we were all singing and dancing would highly recommend👍👍👍👍👍More

Thank Jackie W
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

I’m glad you enjoyed it Jackie! It was a tough night for us but watching you all enjoy it was worth it in the end. It’s lovely to get reviews like this. I think we spoke on the night and everyone in your party was...More

Reviewed 24 November 2017

We came down on a random saturday and had an amazing night. It was the first time we'd visited and won't be the last. The food was all top notch and the band they had that night was one of the best I'd seen. Great...More

Thank Chris Q
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

It’s great to hear you enjoyed you visit Chris. We have live music every Saturday night throughout the year and are doing more in December. Keep in touch with our Facebook page for events and music.

Reviewed 12 November 2017

Enjoyed the food, good value for money, good atmosphere servers were pleasant they kept checking to see if we were happy.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Edward N
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Sounds as if we’ve ticked all the boxes for you. We’ve certainly been working on getting the basics right to ensure everyone has the best possible guest experience and it is great to hear that we’ve succeeded...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Absolutely love this place since the new management. So many fun things to take part in especially for kids, it's lovely to have somewhere local that all the family can attend.

Thank Jennie H
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed the party. We love being the heart of the community and look to keep going with the fun. Watch our Facebook page for up coming events.

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Usually have a great meal here but today had the wrong item put through on the till so when it arrived I got a standard rib eye rather than the signature one, usually wouldn't be too bothered but no effort went into fixing the mix...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank R7805VPstephend
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. It is however good to hear that you usually get a good meal here. It seems that there has been a mistake with the staff member putting through the signature ribeye rather than the signature double...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Tarbock Hotels
Premier Inn Liverpool (Tarbock) Hotel
270 reviews
.53 km away
Village Hotel Liverpool
1,431 reviews
.91 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel
618 reviews
2.59 km away
Childwall Abbey Hotel
150 reviews
4.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Brewers Fayre Chapel Brook
161 reviews
.41 km away
Flavio's Italian Restaurant
80 reviews
1.87 km away
Huyton Village Fish & Chips
5 reviews
1.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Knowsley Safari
2,098 reviews
3.91 km away
Aerial Extreme, Knowsley
103 reviews
4.07 km away
Stadt Moers Park
23 reviews
1.85 km away
Spaceworld Play Centre
56 reviews
2.92 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hare & Hounds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Tarbock
  • Phone Number: +44 151 489 3046
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing