We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plough Inn at Ford

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Temple Guiting $$ - $$$ , British,
Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
+44 1386 584215
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (13 reviews)
“whitebait” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were greeted by a very loud and enthusiastic (pushy?) waitress who hardly gave us time to greet our friends, who had been waiting for us in the dining room, before trying to take a drinks order. Having taken the order so quickly, we expected...More

Thank mikeymarlin
Ploughinnford, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had such a wonderful time at The Plough - the food and service was excellent. We were so grateful for the kindness we received by the Owner and Bar Staff in helping us by giving us a lift back to our car. We were...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, we were happy to help and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended to stay at this pub by friends and we re so pleased we came!! Perfect! B&B, food and friendly staff and landlady! We will be returning!! Thank you for such a nice time!

Thank Suzy H
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Fantastic food (big portions) with a good choice of locally sourced ingredients. Adequate parking, but get there early. Excellent service; booking essential.

Thank Margaret R
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Have eaten here before - always fun and great food and service. Had wonderful traditional Easter lunch with roasts and puddings.

Thank drshelley777
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for posting your review, it is very much appreciated

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Stopped at Plough for a quick bite, all over the road the advertisement call us. Parking is really easy and the place is cosy and well decorated. We arrive 10 min before 12 and when ask for something to eat they informed us that food...More

Thank Ana F
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

We are sorry to hear of your experience with us. If it is possible for you to call us and let us know what day it was that you visited as the waiter should have taken your order when you were ready. You should not...More

Reviewed 25 April 2017

Decided to try The Plough on Easter Sunday after hearing good reviews whilst enjoying a day out in the Cotswolds. We did not book but managed to get a table despite them being very busy. After grabbing a quick pint we Sat down (which could...More

Thank Tuz73
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Easter Sunday is always an incredibly busy day for us here at The Plough Inn, though that does not usually distract from our service. We are sorry that you didn't feel that you were welcomed. It may have been a new member of staff that...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Chose this place for lunch stop on a bike ride purely based on past Trip Advisor reviews as I didn't know the area. Glad we did - location was perfect and the pub is really lovely. Service was prompt and friendly, but what really stands...More

Thank mcr14
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and your meals. The vegetarian Wellington is fast becoming a popular choice even for none vegetarians. We do hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 13 April 2017

I, my wife and grandson dropped in for lunch and the food was more than we expected. The roast lamb was a very large portion as was the steak pie. It was that delicious we had to do it justice and strggle to finish. We...More

Thank David W
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for your positive review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Friendly local with large garden for kids. Gets very busy during race meets at Cheltenham but the atmosphere is great,

Thank TonyF071
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Halfway House
232 reviews
3.05 km away
The Hollow Bottom
364 reviews
4.44 km away
The Pheasant Inn
253 reviews
4.94 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cotswold Farm Park
850 reviews
3.63 km away
Cotswold Tours by Fowler Tours
132 reviews
4.51 km away
Snowshill Manor
483 reviews
4.57 km away
Cotswolds Riding
48 reviews
5.24 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Mark T
What is the quality of the vegetarian options
29 October 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from SHARONChelmsford | Reviewed this property |
Sorry cannot help with this but I would imagine the quality would be good. The menu is extensive so I'm sure vegetarian options are good
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$40
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:15
Monday
12:15 - 14:15
18:00 - 21:15
Tuesday
12:15 - 14:15
18:00 - 21:15
Wednesday
12:15 - 14:15
18:00 - 21:15
Thursday
12:15 - 14:15
18:00 - 21:15
Friday
12:00 - 21:15
Saturday
12:00 - 21:15
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Temple Guiting
  • Phone Number: +44 1386 584215
  • E-mail
Description
Sitting in the hamlet of Ford, this popular 16th Century Inn is renowned for its excellent menu, serving fresh local produce and fine Donnington Ales.The area holds everything for appreciators of the countryside as well as a rich and diverse cultural and sporting heritage. Jackdaws Castle racehorse trainers in directly opposite, and The Plough is popular with many famous jockeys and trainers. There are some fine walks, with a stunning view of the gallops. Cycling, fishing and golf are also located in the near vicinity.The Plough was indeed voted Racing pub of the year in 2008.Special ONLINE booking offer on B & B rooms October - December.Please check B & B page for detailsThe Plough celebrates the major Cheltenham racing events. Cheltenham Gold Cup week is a huge event where the Plough has a large marquee, serving breakfasts and all day meals, whilst you can watch the racing on large flat screen TVs.The Plough has three bed & breakfast rooms, with stunning views over the glorious Cotswold countryside. There is a large sunny garden with a childrens' play area. Dogs are welcome on lead in the garden.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing