We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar

Mapua Wharf | Shed 1, Mapua, New Zealand
+64 3-540 2028
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (15 reviews)
“pork salad” (14 reviews)
“soup” (20 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 3:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mapua Wharf | Shed 1, Mapua, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 493 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We pulled up to Jellyfish right as they were closing. We had just traveled in from Auckland. They were super accommodating and let us order still even though the kitchen was literally closing as we walked in. Despite only having a few cold entrees, everything...More

Thank skrawiecki
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I took my teenage daughter out for a father daughter dinner mid week and was treated to a lovely meal. The service was excellent from start to finish - so well done team. Good range of food selection and a lovely setting at Mapua wharf....More

Thank nigruk
Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here for a mid-week dinner with my mother. We've been coming to the Jellyfish Restaurant for a long time now and are never disappointed! We really missed it during the remodel and were so glad to see it open again. One of the...More

Thank NellyWill24
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

What a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to let the team know they are doing a great job. We hope we will see you and your mother again soon Debs

Reviewed 1 week ago

Out cruising on the motorcycle mid week & stopped in Mapua for a sit by the estuary ,Jellyfish have a $20 mid week curry night , you might think $ 20 just a takeaway , wrong very well presented , very tasty and excellent value...More

Thank Dougyr13
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your feedback! WE hope too see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Tuesday night curry special was delicious as was brunch last week. The food is delicious here and the service is so friendly and attentive. No wonder it's become a local favourite of ours!

Thank karenjG2649DT
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks For your kind words, and thank you for taking the time to let us know. Hope to see you back in here again soon! Debs

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband took me to Jellyfish for my birthday. Really enjoyed the food, surroundings and the service was great. I had the Thai Pork Salad and my husband the Beef Pie with Flaky Pastry Top. For an entree we had the olives, oil and toasted...More

Thank Val L
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nice atmosphere and was just fantastic looking out over the inlet..I had the most amazing wine and we really enjoyed our meals there too as my birthday treat.

Thank AdrienneMcNicholl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were taken here for lunch on a sunny mapua day. Lovely setting and beautiful weather so very hard to not like. Great friends but I have to say the good was ok but not as great as everything else. I had haloumi and I...More

Thank ewanb99
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We pride ourselves on delivering the best food from local suppliers both from land and sea. I have taken the comments back to the kitchen. We do hope you will visit again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friday night john dory fish special plus lamb steak perfect. Great food good wine selection good staff and brilliant location .

Thank Trevor H
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your review - It was kind of you to take the time to let us know we are continuing to meeting our customers expectations! hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here a year or two back and it was ok. However this time it seems they have dropped the ball. I had fish and chips. The fish must have been frozen fish and was crumbed. It reminded me of birdseye fish fingers brought...More

Thank Julianpfowler58
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

hi Julian thank you for taking the time to place this review. We are disappointed to hear that the experience you had did not meet your expectations. All of the fish we purchase is fresh each day - we DO NOT freeze it. We are...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar
491 reviews
.03 km away
The Smokehouse
221 reviews
.01 km away
Hamish's Ice Cream's & Cafe
25 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rimu Grove Winery
33 reviews
2.57 km away
Seifried Estate Winery & Vineyard
13 reviews
4.31 km away
Mahana Estates
115 reviews
4.84 km away
Animal Farm
46 reviews
4.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mapua Wharf | Shed 1, Mapua, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Mapua
  • Phone Number: +64 3-540 2028
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing