We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fleet at Twyning

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Fleet Lane, Twyning GL20 6FL, England
+44 1684 274020
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 513: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What is it with this Pub lovely setting and for 30 years always conspires to do a poor job of service - no matter who owns the place - Wadworth take note... Last evening 28C many people outside and 2 staff behind the bar and looked out of their depth to be honest so queue past the door outside 40... More 

Thank Richard S
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stunning location on a sunny day right by the River Avon. Unfortunately that's all it has to offer. Poor service as there simply are not enough staff. Tables are uncleared & the place is dirty and run down. The food is of good quality but is totally overpriced. £7 for a sandwich with a handful off lettuce is most disappointing.... More 

Thank Katie K
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed lunch on the large sunny terrace, overlooking the river; our first "al fresco" here this year. Particularly impressed with the availability of a wide range of smaller portioned meals: perfect for a light lunch.

Thank MayDupname
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped at The Fleet for lunch after a walk by the river with the dog. The Fleet is very dog friendly, with dogs allowed anywhere inside, which is fantastic. The food (fish and chips) was very good, the service was great, very friendly and quick. Planning to return to try Sunday lunch soon.

Thank Elizabeth H
liz c, General Manager at The Fleet at Twyning, responded to this review

Dear guest, lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit to us , the team & I love to hear positive feedback hope to see you again soon Fleet team More 

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have given this place all sorts of leeway because it's a gorgeous spot, the beer's decent, and the staff are friendly. But let's face it...the food is awful. We go back from time to time for a pint and a look at the Avon and the views beyond, but after a succession of disappointing experiences, the most we'll munch... More 

Thank IanWH946
liz c, Manager at The Fleet at Twyning, responded to this review

Dear guest , please do call me concerning this review as we would like to know when you came on each occasion & have more detail so we can ensure this doesn't happen again - as this is the first we have heard about your issues even though in house we do check with our guests. We have had no... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table on line for 3 for Sunday lunch.Really quick and easy to do and an automatic e mail came quickly to confirm. Beautiful setting, by the river , lively and friendly.Very clean and welcoming.Dogs are welcome too. We arrived at 12.50 and ordered our meal at 1pm.My father ordered the pork loin Sunday roast, my husband steak and... More 

Thank Debbie L
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of my most favourite places to visit. The place is filled with spirit and personality - the staff and landlady Lizzie are so friendly. The food has been superb and I particularly enjoy the specials menu - the fish is amongst some of the best I have tried around the world!

Thank juliedarling8
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only wanted a steak baguette and a few chips but it took half an hour for it to appear. The "baguette" was little more than a soft long roll and was not fresh and quite chewy, not helped by the overdose of "caremelised onions" that had been spooned into it. The steak was chewy and tasteless. The "few chips"... More 

Thank Neil G
liz c, Manager at The Fleet at Twyning, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback if you would like to call me then please do, in the future if you do have an issue with your meal please do bring up with a member of the team at the time of being with us so we can resolve your issue at the time rather than after the event,... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We treated our family to Sunday lunch. The staff were friendly and the setting is delightful by the river. The food was disappointing, though. Our roast beef was nice but the vegetables were skimpy and overcooked, my wife's fishcakes contained more potato than fish, and the portions were small. Will return for a drink but not to eat.

Thank Charles D
liz c, Manager at The Fleet at Twyning, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear your food was not up to standard in the future please do ask for extra vegetables if you do not have enough we will happily provide more, we will speak to our suppliers about the fish cakes as it's one of the few products we do not make in house... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Booked a table for lunch today. Beautiful sunny day and views of the river were spoiled by very poor service and food. We were a party of three and were shown to our table. Waiting nearly fifteen minutes for someone to take our drinks order. When a waiter finally arrived at our table we ordered drinks and our lunch just... More 

1 Thank susanstokes1953
liz c, Manager at The Fleet at Twyning, responded to this review

Dear guest , Thank you for your feedback, we do cook fresh food & some days we do have waits on depending how busy we are & what food is ordered. The rump steak is an 8oz pre cooking weight, the duck leg comes from our butcher & they send standard size, please do call me to discuss as I... More 

Travellers who viewed The Fleet at Twyning also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds

Been to The Fleet at Twyning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$22
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fleet Lane, Twyning GL20 6FL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Twyning
  • Phone Number: +44 1684 274020
Dear Guests welcome to the Fleet Twyning. We are a beautiful riverside pub on the edge of the river Avon. We pride ourselves on home cooked fresh food along with our traditional Wadworth Ales.

We get extremely busy in the summer time as we are a very popular destination pub and wait time on food can vary from 10 minutes to 1 hour, so we ask you to be very patient with us as we cook all your food to order from fresh produce.

In the winter it is advisable to book in advance as our tables get booked early on for weekends and early evenings.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fleet at Twyning staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?