We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Live Bait in Harbour House

Main Road | Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
+27 21 788 5755
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (35 reviews)
“calamari” (40 reviews)
“line fish” (23 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Seafood, Sushi, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road | Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The sole was overcooked, though i did get a generous portion of vegetables instead of chips, as requested. the waitress was willing to be imaginative about my order. Otherwise, not great value, in an uncomfortably hard seat. Great view over False Bay.More

Thank Musicofnote58
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Musicofnote58 Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor following your visit with us at Kalk Bay. We truly value your opinion as it is from your comments that we are able to uphold our commitment to excellence, thus providing...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We loved every single thing of this place: service & food! Everything fresh and super tasty! A place that I recommend for either lunch or dinner on your trip to the Peninsula! The mussels were excellent! Highly recommended!More

Thank Maria P
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Maria P Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor following your visit to Kalk Bay. The team aim to please and provide our guests with the best possible guest experience when dining with us. We pleased to hear that we achieved this...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

The perfect choice for a fish or seafood lunch, with a stunning view of the ocean and False Bay. The Seafood platter has to be seen to be believed ! Hubert.D.

Thank diamonddag
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear diamonddag We aim to deliver the most mouth-watering meals, served by professional and attentive staff, to ensure nothing short of magnificent for our guests. This is our promise and intention each and every time. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards,

Reviewed 16 May 2017

we ate at the Live Bait and the Harbour House restaurant upstairs both incredible, the Live Bait is the cheaper of the 2 and slightly more relaxed whilst the Harbour House is their upmarket restaurant both fantastic and relevant to what you want.More

Thank DerbyshireFoodie
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear DerbyshireFoodie Thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at both Harbour House and Live Bait, Kalk Bay. We pride ourselves with great views, service and food. I hope there are...More

Reviewed 15 May 2017

We had a fantastic lunch. The Kingklip we had chosen was delicious, the ambiente very nice and the views amazing. Watching seals sunbathing on rocks nearby was an added bonus. We will definitely be back. Reservation is necessary!!!More

Thank Gaby W
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Gaby W Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor following your visit to Harbour House Kalk Bay. Hearing you had an good time brings great joy to our team and we can't thank you enough for choosing Harbour House as your location...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017

We had not booked and as we wanted a sea view , we had a short wait for a table. We overlooked the very colourful harbour and the view over the sea was beautiful. Our orders were taken quite quickly with such friendliness.We had the...More

1  Thank Alicia633
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Alicia633 Thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at Live Bait Kalk Bay. We pride ourselves with great views, service and food. I hope there are many more visits and...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017

It was very confusing when my friend and I walked in to Live Bait to look for a table. There was a lady staring at the entrance holding a baby, who we assumed to be a customer. How wrong can you be?? She was the...More

Thank m0zchick
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear m0zchick Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor following your visit with us at Kalk Bay. We truly value your opinion as it is from your comments that we are able to uphold our commitment to excellence, thus providing...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We booked a table next to the window, with a fabulous view, for the 12h00 sitting. We arrived early and after a short wait placed our orders for our starters which included three orders of sushi. An hour and a half later, apparently due to...More

1  Thank Kathleen Anne B
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Kathleen Anne B Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the Live Bait Kalk Bay. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the bad experience you have had at our restaurant. Please may I request you...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017

this place is just great, they have a limited menu, but all is just great and at very affordable pricesMore

Thank joseep2016
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear joseep2016 Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor following your visit to Kalk Bay. The team aim to please and provide our guests with the best possible guest experience when dining with us. We pleased to hear that we achieved this on...More

Reviewed 10 April 2017

As a businessman I travel to Kalkbay often and have beento Harbour House and Live Bait often. Always been happy and love the atmosphere and service. Returned yesterday for lunch and was served the worst seafood platter ever!!!! apart from the raison-sized muscles(4 out of...More

Thank Kotie19
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear Kotie19 Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the Live Bait Kalk Bay. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the bad experience you have had at our restaurant. Please may I request you email merinda@harbourhouse.co.za...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Harbour House
1,613 reviews
.02 km away
Octopus Garden
124 reviews
.58 km away
Lekker Kalk Bay
219 reviews
.38 km away
Olympia Cafe and Deli
686 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dalebrook Tidal Pool
7 reviews
.72 km away
Clovelly Country Club
51 reviews
1.54 km away
Wooley's Tidal Pool
7 reviews
.24 km away
Green Cape Tours
6 reviews
1.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Live Bait in Harbour House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road | Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Kalk Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 788 5755
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing