We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scuttlebutt Restaurant - CLOSED

139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
+1 902-634-5100
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good27%
  • Average18%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible11%
15 Oct 2015
“Horrendous service”
13 Oct 2015
“Nice quaint restaurant”
Restaurant Hours
All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
More restaurants in Lunenburg
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2015

Four of us went for breakfast on Sunday morning, October 11. We arrived around 9:50 am and sat down at the table by the window. The table was dirty but we didn't mind waiting as it had a nice view of the street and people...More

Thank Canadian_Hoser
YOURCOICE, Owner at The Scuttlebutt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I can only apologize for the service. I really thought I eased out the service problem. Unfortunately, I did not. I am very sorry for your disappointing experience. I will continue to work on that. Regards, Eva Ziegler

Reviewed 13 October 2015

Breakfast food and service were very good (we ate here 2 days in a row)--- music was also very nice but a wee bit on the loud side for us.

Thank DBTraveller0727
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

When we were the first time in Lunenburg, we looked for a restaurant for a bite to eat. The iphone energy was empty, so we gathered around and choosed this restaurant because a band built up their instrumests. The owner mentioned, that all tables were...More

Thank Martin S
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

We waited for about 10 minutes before someone came to us, took another 10 minutes for our drinks to come, and it wasn't busy at all, the food was cold and very disappointing. There was a women there who was very rude to us. I...More

2  Thank Cecile F
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Over priced, terrible breakfast. Cold unbuttered toast, undercooked potatoes, cold bacon and warm orange juice. I asked for eggs over hard and when i mentionned to the waitress that she brought poached, her response was "I don't know why she cooked the eggs like that...More

2  Thank Cathy D
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Went for breakfast.... Ordered and waited 10 minutes for coffee to arrive. Finally went to counter to get them myself. 30 minutes - still no breakfast while others are getting theirs. Asked waitress - kitchen lost our order. 20 minutes later we get our breakfast...More

2  Thank PeterDCanada
Manuel Z, Owner at The Scuttlebutt Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about your lack of service at the Scuttlebutt Restaurant. Unfortunately due to illness we were short staffed that day,and we have taken immediate actions to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Once again, I apologize. Best...More

Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

We only went here for breakfast. It was next door to Smugglers Cove Inn where we were stating.we were given monwy-off vouchers to encourage us! The traditional breakfast was good value and the sausages and bacon both came from local farms which reared "happy" pork....More

1  Thank Angl0Canadian
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We went here for breakfast with a coupon from the rum runner inn. Breakfast was just okay. I'm not sure we'd go again. Maybe if we got a coupon.

Thank Teaandviking
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We had lunch there with six people. To get our food took more than 30 minutes. All the different plates had almost no taste, the soup tasted and looked like water.The exception was the club sandwich. Service was friendly.More

Thank argonfroes
YOURCOICE, Owner at The Scuttlebutt Restaurant, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy our Chef Philip's dishes. Many guests are very happy and satisfied about his new bold tasting menu items. Chef Philip prepares everything from the scratch and is using fresh and local herbs only Not a single...More

Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

After spending the night at a local inn...we were given coupons for this place for breakfast. Toast was more like bread. One piece of bacon, undercooked egg. Can't cook a basic breakfast. Disappointing. Slow service. Ugh. Menu is small and limited. They no longer have...More

1  Thank Michelle S
YOURCOICE, Owner at The Scuttlebutt Restaurant, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience at the Scuttlebutt. We took immediate actions in the dining room and in the kitchen to avoid future disappointments by guests. Once again, I apologize. Best regards, Eva Ziegler

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rum Runner Restaurant & Lounge
387 reviews
.25 km away
The Savvy Sailor
486 reviews
.14 km away
Salt Shaker Deli
734 reviews
.07 km away
Grand Banker Bar and Grill
586 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. John's Anglican Church
251 reviews
.31 km away
Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
627 reviews
.26 km away
Ironworks Distillery
190 reviews
.23 km away
Bluenose II
281 reviews
.17 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 14:00
Thursday
08:00 - 14:00
Friday
08:00 - 14:00
Saturday
08:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Southwest Nova Scotia  >  Lunenburg
  • Phone Number: +1 902-634-5100
  • E-mail
Description
Ideal place for good breakfast and great lunch. Specialized in fresh mix of European and Canadian salads, light pasta and fantastic Nova Scotia Fish. Dinner served on weekends with live music. Keith Andrews, a great local talent, rocks the audience with the Beatles, Gordon Lightfoot, Neil Diamond and much more! Every Saturday at 8pm!