We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trooper

Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
+44 1543 480413
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good20%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (162 reviews)
“pizza” (54 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal today at The Trooper. Staff were polite, helpful and happy. The steak was cooked to perfection and the Lemon and Gin Cheese cake was heavenly. Thank you so much. Will definitely recommend you and will be coming back soon. Thank...More

1  Thank Sue K
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, Thank you for your review and your very kind words about your overall experience with us here at The Trooper. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you Tom Hughes General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Food was fantastic and venue great. Service however was incredibly slow. Meat for main meal was served and vegetables were bought out almost ten minutes later by which time meat was cold. After ordering desert it took 35 minutes to be served. Great food but...More

1  Thank Stuart F
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Used vouchers given to us as a present. Never been before and probably not going back. Having said that, the food was lovely. Recommend the lobster, fresh and tasty. The girl who looked after us was very good at her job (wish I’d got her...More

1  Thank Wardy007
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a bottomless lunch here and food was lovely and we thought good value with the drinks. The staff were friendly and helpful but the place was so very noisy you couldn't hear yourself think so one of our party was very uncomfortable

Thank Tracy S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a lunch recently and omg it blew us away, the service, the food, the wine I could not fault this place. If I lived closer instead of other side of Lichfield this would be my new local. Pizzas are to die for and...More

Thank Steve B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed with our main meal, 7 had Sunday roasts (beef)were 12of us altogether.starters were ok.the beef was really Fatty all fat.veg just cabage all green.spoke to manager who didn't charge for any of the main meals.. any of us won't go again.àll realy dissapointed...More

4  Thank Kath E
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the trooper today for my birthday,we where a group of 13.The starters where average,we then waited about 40 mins for the mains,which where Sunday lunches and steaks,The Sunday lunches where very poor,1 Yorkshire pud,2 roast potatoes,a dish of cabbage,beans and leaks to share,but...More

4  Thank Mel E
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

6 of us had sunday lunch and all enjoyed what was served,although the vegetables were disappointing !all very green..no carrots.we specifically mentioned that 2 of our group had a train to catch,so needed fairly quick service....this was not the case.we had to ask where our...More

Thank jackie b
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my friends 60 th birthday and we wanted somewhere special to eat. We saw the troopers bottomless lunch advertised and it sounded good . On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who explained the bottomless part of the menu. We could...More

Thank bethieb2015
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am very glad to hear of your positive experience with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you Tom Hughes General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

8 of us ate here and I can genuinely say that the food was very good. The only very small criticism that I had was that my Rump Steak was slightly overcooked. I asked for medium rare and I would say it was more medium...More

Thank adewass
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am very glad to hear of your positive experience with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you Tom Hughes General Manager

PreviousNext
12345672
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wall Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
516 reviews
1.40 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
548 reviews
3.23 km away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1,070 reviews
3.37 km away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
369 reviews
3.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough
372 reviews
2.02 km away
Hadrian Hotel
7 reviews
.44 km away
The Railway Inn
80 reviews
2.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oak Tree Farm
9 reviews
4.05 km away
Lichfield Cathedral
1,516 reviews
3.62 km away
Garrick Theatre
197 reviews
3.44 km away
Beacon Park
251 reviews
3.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
clare85lee
30 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from KTR57 | Reviewed this property |
About as poor as the quality of the service a party of 8 had when eating there for the FINAL time.
1
Vote
Jenxjenx
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Jamesvp | Reviewed this property |
Not lousy, just not to the same standard as cooking. Staff seemed uninterested and given high levels of service in industry these days my experience was very average
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$56
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Wall
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 480413
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing