We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Birch at Woburn

20 Newport Road, Woburn MK17 9HX, England
+44 1525 290295
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (67 reviews)
“sea bass” (21 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 Newport Road, Woburn MK17 9HX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 772 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Came here on an eerily quiet week day for lunch,sat down at our table which was chipped in the middle+slightly grubby,food was nice as always but found the staff gossiping by the chefs grill area quite annoying especially as there didnt seem much if any...More

Thank LEEDSRGR8
Reviewed 2 days ago

I selected The Birch for my 70th birthday dinner on August 8th, for family and friends and from my first contact the staff were first class, especially Anet and Holly. Meal choices were pre-ordered, along with arrival and table drinks and everything went really well....More

Thank Nick S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A return visit at request of family from Australia and lived up to superb food memories. Definitely a place for a treat and celebrations. The ice cream was best I have ever tasted.

Thank Jacquie M
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Jacquie Delighted that we brought back superb food memories from past visits to The Birch. Our pastry chef is delighted that you enjoyed the ice cream. Many thanks.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the venue on Tuesday afternoon at 12.30pm with 3 friends. We had 3 courses, wine, jugg of Pimms and a selection of gin! All 3 courses were cooked to a wonderful standard - all fresh, hot and excellent portions. Our dishes included chicken, steak,...More

Thank Lisa S
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Lisa S Your excellent review has gone down a treat with all the staff at The Birch - thank you. Your high recommendation is very much appreciated. Hope to see you back in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It has a good atmosphere and the food is not your typical everyday menu. If you want something a little different then this is the place.

Thank firstmarine2018
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi firstmarine2018 I am glad that you enjoyed the ambiance at The Birch and that you consider us a little different from the rest. Many thanks

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here for lunch yesterday with a party of 8 work colleagues, all who had been before except for me. I checked their website for their menu choices and at first I couldn’t decide on anything! So much choice to suit all pallets and...More

Thank TravelMunchkinFP
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello TravelMunchkinFP Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We look forward to seeing you back at The Birch in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was our anniversary and decided to return here after a nice meal last year. Unfortunately there is now an extremely rude man (possibly manager) who works there and ruined our entire evening. I had been looking forward to having a nice steak dinner and...More

6  Thank W4688XJemmag
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I have spoken to the Duty Manager who was working on the day that you visited and he is most upset with your comments. He did not refuse to take your order but advised that as ribeye has more fat than other steaks i.e. fillet...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to try the The Birch for lunch as we pass it frequently and it looked nice. We had no expectations. We hadnt booked but were welcomed and given a choice of tables, inside or out. We chose out, in the tiny courtyard, where...More

2  Thank sellsMiltonKeynes
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your delightful review and for your recommendation. We hope to see you back at The Birch in the near future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have eaten at the Birch before without complaint. However I had relations from USA on the 18th, 3 of which including myself ordered fish and chips for lunch. Underwhelming to say the least, batter overly cooked almost to the point it could not be cut...More

1  Thank 70Alan
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello 70Alan I was most disappointed to read your review and can only apologise for the poor meal that you experienced. I appreciate that it may have been difficult for you to complain on the day when you were entertaining friends. I have spoken to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on a quiet lunchtime; great choice of dishes, and very accommodating and friendly service. We were there three hours but didn't feel rushed or hassled at all, just the right amount of attention. Great that some of the dishes also come in a smaller...More

Thank Helen R
James C, Owner at The Birch at Woburn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Helen R Thanks for posting your great review. We do offer special dishes at lunchtime so I was surprised that you did not notice them. They are written on the small menu board which would have been left on the table, perhaps you did...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
The Bell Hotel & Inn
389 reviews
.57 km away
Longs Inn Hotel
259 reviews
.61 km away
The Woburn Hotel
681 reviews
.81 km away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
673 reviews
2.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Galloways of Woburn Restaurant
476 reviews
.77 km away
WOBURN COFFEE HOUSE
401 reviews
.76 km away
Fratelli
307 reviews
1.02 km away
Woburn Thai
283 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Go Ape
58 reviews
2.35 km away
Ridgmont Station Heritage Centre
16 reviews
4.25 km away
Stockgrove Country Park
53 reviews
4.82 km away
The Stables Theatre
259 reviews
5.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MavesWife
11 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from tonyingie | Reviewed this property |
Sorry not sure as we only went there for Sunday lunch. But give them a ring they are very helpful
1
Vote
tellwen2016
19 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from James C | Property representative |
Yes, we do sell gift vouchers at The Birch. You can either call in to collect or contact us over the 'phone and we will post them out to you. We will soon have them available to purchase through our website so keep... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$45
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Newport Road, Woburn MK17 9HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Woburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 290295
  • E-mail
Description
The Birch is a family owned restaurant and bar of individual style, set on the outskirts of the prestigious ancient market town of Woburn in Bedfordshire. At the Birch we are passionate about sourcing the freshest ingredients from farms and estates throughout the country, cooked by our team of talented, highly qualified chefs.We pride ourseleves on looking after our customers and have gained a repuation for offering excellent fresh food all delivered with a friendly smile in a welcoming environment.The Birch is the perfect place to socialise with friends, entertain clients or meet up for a special family occassion.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing