We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

Tring Road, Aylesbury HP20 1JH, England
+44 1296 486941
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
9:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tring Road, Aylesbury HP20 1JH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

After a tough day we thought why not go for some good old pub food. Visited pubs from the chain back in other cites,So you would think it’s a safe bet. I wasn’t best pleased that after 45mins I had to ask where our food...More

Thank anthonylW7131RG
General Manager A, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi Anthony... On behalf of our team, my sincerest apologies regarding your recent visit. Its the first I've heard of this problem, but I'm glad you've taken the time to bring it to my attention. Please could you detail the time & date of your...More

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Great food, manager is a an idiot. Twice in the past we have booked online after trying to book a table over the phone. No one answers! On every occasion when we have told them we have a reservation, the manager has told us we...More

2  Thank Scottthedrummer
General Manager A, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Whilst I can appreciate the frustration in relation to booking our Xmas Fayre menu, I simply have no recollection of ever dealing with you??? Possibly one of my assistants maybe? I'm Carl, The General Manager...I'm no idiot, but I'm struggling to find why you think...More

Reviewed 12 December 2017

On Sunday 3\12\2017. My family arrived for our regular pre booked table to find that it had not been reserved. We choose this table because of disabilities and as there was nowhere else to sit as it was very busy we had to leave. As...More

Thank Sandra W
General Manager A, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi there On behalf of our team, my apologies for your recent visit. Having spoken to the manager on duty that day, I've been informed she simply couldn't turn the table over fast enough due to a manic breakfast shift. But still...You took the time...More

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Visited here on a busy Saturday evening in December ( due to football being on the tele)... big bonus for me. My wife and I have never come across a sizzling establishment before and decided to give it ago. The outcome was as follows....... Served...More

Thank Christopher N
General Manager A, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Decent!!! What a cracking review! Great to read & will pass on your regards to the team - Wonderful feedback - A pleasure as always. Thanks once again Looking forward to hearing from you soon Carl & The Team

Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

If you want good size and well priced food then the Plough is good for you, the sizzlers are worth a try! Would like to pass on our thanks to our waitress hanna, very friendly and you can tell she cares about her job and...More

Thank Kasia S
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for the great review! The sizzlers are our signature dishes so I'm pleased to hear you would recommend them! Rest assured your compliments will be passed onto Hannah, always nice to receive recognition for the teams hard work! We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 30 November 2017

Enjoyed a few good breakfasts here over the summer. Great value for money. Only bad thing is the lack of healthy breakfast options! Being on a diet, I had to opt for an omelette each time. Shame there isn't scrambled eggs, smoked salmon, bagels, porridge...More

Thank mermaidmistress
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

4/5 not to be sniffed at! Glad you enjoy our breakfasts, if you prefer to have scrambled or poached eggs we can always do that for you, just ask at the bar and it will be put on your order for you. Unfortunately due to...More

Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

The food was disgusting. Barely edible! I’m someone who finishes my plate and I could barely even take a bite. It’s a great pub for a drink but definitely not for food.More

Thank Hjfitzgerald
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

1/5... I am very sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us! Would you be able to tell me what time and date you came in, and also what meal you ordered so I can investigate this matter further. We always strive to...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We visited as a group of 5. One guest had a raw gammon steak served with cold chips. Another overcooked rib eye steak with burnt chips.... also found a long hair in food. Service was slow. Unless this improves drastically I will not be returning.More

Thank Debbie20172017
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Apologies regarding this visit... Having read the response I'm interested into looking at this response further - please could you detail the time & date you visited as I'd like to investigate the matter further to ascertain as to why these issues weren't dealt with...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Used to be a regular visitor until a couple of years ago but after a number of disappointing meals started to go elsewhere. Decided to give it another try and glad we did. The main meals of gammon and kofta kebabs were well cooked, tasty...More

Thank Colin B
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Great to hear we were able to restore your confidence in us to deliver a great dining experience. Its always great to read when a negative becomes a positive :) Makes the graft worth while. Thanks for the feedback - See you soon The Plough...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017

Staying in the area within walking distance from the pub, called in for an evening meal, there were two lots of fish and chips on the menu but they had run out of both, it was only 6.30.had sampi which was OK, plus a meat...More

Thank NoahBirmingham
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are very sorry that we couldn't give you your first choice from the menu.. the fish is very popular! Always good to know how the team are doing too, I will make sure the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Aylesbury
Travelodge Aylesbury Central
412 reviews
1.29 km away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
787 reviews
1.60 km away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
298 reviews
1.87 km away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
507 reviews
2.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Dog House Inn
76 reviews
1.19 km away
Costa
5 reviews
1.12 km away
The Broad Leys
449 reviews
1.14 km away
Shensha Balti and Tandoori Restaurant
402 reviews
1.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Queens Park Arts Centre
14 reviews
.97 km away
Gala Bingo
9 reviews
1.46 km away
Aylesbury Waterside Theatre
564 reviews
1.36 km away
Rogue Racing Aylesbury
39 reviews
.77 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tring Road, Aylesbury HP20 1JH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Aylesbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1296 486941
Description
It is part of the sizzling pub chain, not sure who owns the brand but was impressed with the food and service
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing