We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor

$$ - $$$, British,
Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
+44 1223 353554
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good39%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (42 reviews)
“steak” (19 reviews)
“pudding” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Good vibe, good location on the beautiful water and Matthew on the bar stuff is really fun and makes the atmosphere pop!

Thank Abi H
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your kind comments great to hear you had a good time and that Matt stood out - we will reward him later!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the only negative criticism I can give about our lunch today . We dined late in the afternoon ,so it was not busy , we were warmly welcomed by Chloe who served us throughout. The lunch was lovely we had fish pie and...More

Thank hovetraveldolly
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your kind review and indeed Chloe is an asset to our team and has duly been promoted due to her love of the Anchor, dedication and enthusiasm! We also have brown sauce in the house too.... See you soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped at The Anchor after a long wandering walk around Cambridge, we wanted to enjoy a rest, a cold beverage and lunch. The Anchor has a great location but their service was slow and indifferent. We were finally able to order drinks after standing...More

Thank Allan H
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are truly sorry that you experienced poor service at our pub and it is certainly not the way we conduct our business. We take your comments very seriously as we do not rely on tourism solely. We are very proud of our drinks and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited here with my partner and her father for a pre-lunch beer just after arriving in Cambridge for a day trip. It was about 11:30 when we walked in, but the place was heavingly full. A few tables were available downstairs or outside as...More

Thank GandalfTheDrunk
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Due to the nature of our location we can at random times get large groups in and this can not always be predicted. We are sorry we were unable to serve you quickly enough on this occasion. We do indeed have a great selection of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son and daughter-in-law took us here on a recent visit mainly because my son and I are big Pink Floyd fans. He thought I would enjoy sitting in the very pub were Syd Barrett spent many hours listening to music and then eventually playing...More

Thank Pete N
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments we are delighted to be part of a memorable trip and Chloe is a huge asset to our team. We hope to see you again soon and thanks to Chloe too for making your day even better!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had dinner here on our visit in September 2017. Service was prompt and very good. Very good assortment of British gastro-pub dishes, all are tasty.

Thank Nkatko
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We always love it when our guests have enjoyed and leave positive feed back we are just moving onto our Autumn menu tomorrow as it has definitely arrived so do pop back and try our seasonal dishes.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family visited cambridge and was recommended to visit the anchor on the mill pond we all thought the pub was lovely, friendly and helpful staff (recommendations with choosing from their drinks selection), great atmosphere the location of the anchor is picturesque you...More

Thank Cloë D
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your feed back we do indeed love our pooches here and of course family members are always welcome to! Glad you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here when it first reopened after the refurbishment some time ago. On that occasion our appreciation of the new decor etc.....was spoiled by the loud foul language coming from the open plan kitchen. This was repeated on our last visit today, though the...More

Thank pamela j
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are disappointed to hear your feed back about our open kitchen it can sometimes be loud in there, our chefs often have to talk over extractors, ovens and printers but we can assure you they certainly do get on as a team and are...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recommend to reserve seating by the window the view can't be beat. Pub food is good. Recommend the bubble and squeak. Accommodates dogs with bowls of fresh water. Be prepared to fend off punting tour guides once you step outsideMore

1  Thank 940audreyb
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Whilst we cant always guarantee a seat in the window most of our Dining Room has a lovely river view! Our menu is just about to change and our team had a tasting today and there were some delightful comments. We always welcome well behaved...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not welcoming, no service, no smile, no interest at all from the staff. Kitchen is ok but wine not. Good for a student party not more.

Thank lilie4561
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A am truly disappointed to hear of this I wonder if you could email us more details as we do take this very seriously. I am on holiday for a week but will definitely respond upon my return. Many thanks

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bread & Meat
545 reviews
.31 km away
The Cambridge Chop House
1,494 reviews
.27 km away
Smokeworks
701 reviews
.30 km away
Loch Fyne
1,230 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fitzwilliam Museum
2,591 reviews
.34 km away
The Backs
470 reviews
.30 km away
King's College
463 reviews
.31 km away
Corpus Clock
378 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mellor2015
3 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from anchor c | Property representative |
Hey Great to hear that you enjoyed your ales here. On the pump on Friday we had our Greene King IPA and Stedfast - both available at all times and we also had we believe as they they fly out Bishop Nicks 1555, Hop Stash... More
1
Vote
Amanda M
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from anchor c | Property representative |
Our apologies that we did not come back to you our account had been blocked and we were unaware! We have access at road level to our upper seating area but due to the nature of our old building there is no access anywhere... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$36
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Delivery, Television, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1223 353554
  • E-mail
Description
The Anchor Pub boasts an enviable location on the River Cam which proves an amazing spot to watch all the punters going by. A great selection of real ales, craft beers from local brewers, a wine list from around the world with a great selection of soft drinks too. We have something for everyone! Our menus change with the seasons and our dining room is very popular so make sure you make a reservation. Innovative food using seasonal & locally sourced ingredients. Great for every occasion summer or winter we have it covered and we truly look forward to welcoming you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing