We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Inn at Sutton Gault

) #5 of 85 Restaurants in Ely $$ - $$$ European, British,
Bury Lane | Sutton, Ely CB6 2BD, England
+44 1353 778537
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (21 reviews)
“ballotine” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bury Lane | Sutton, Ely CB6 2BD, England
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Have stayed here on a number of occasions, and am always very happy to return. A nice quiet off the beaten track pub, with very cosy rooms. The food is excellent if a little pricy, and maybe not a lot of choice for children, however...More

Thank dilagri
Reviewed 4 days ago

Today we had a fantastic Afternoon Tea at this wonderful country Inn. The food was of the highest quality with our dietary specifications met as requested. There was a varied selection of sandwiches, cakes and fruit scone with jam and cream. We also had a...More

Thank Karen B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's been a while since we have been but we won't leave it so long next time. Beautiful terrace next to the river for a drink before dinner, plenty of fans inside keeping us cool and the service & food was simply incredible. Perfect size...More

1  Thank Jamie H
Reviewed 1 week ago

Met a friend here for lunch, neither of us had visited for a few years. It's a lovely spot by the river and has several cosy rooms where one can eat. Very pleasant and efficient staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We both chose...More

1  Thank X1976JNjan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came for lunch with friends - they hadn't been for a year or two and a bit longer for us! Used to be a real favourite and not quite sure why we haven't been back for a while - though we do live 30 minutes...More

Thank Chris C
Reviewed 1 week ago

An extremely enjoyable lunch with a group old, and discerning friends and colleagues started well with a warm welcome from very pleasant and charming staff. All through the meal we were attended to efficiently and attentively. All of our group appreciated their individual choices which...More

Thank Jeffery H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As we used a Groupon voucher this obviously reflected the vintage afternoon tea. Boring white sandwiches even though we requested brown. We were told we should have ordered brown when we booked. How were we to know? Scone wad over cooked and the miserly three...More

2  Thank lesleyann101
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here on Thursday with friends and everything was perfect. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and the location is very nice. We were all very pleased with our lunch and are looking forward to visiting again soon...

Thank Joanna R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If it's not raining you can sit outside on the terrace overlooking the canal. I can't say I was wowed by the food, but staff were welcoming and the site really is special.

Thank MrsRehoboth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was adked to join some friends fir a dinner at the Anchor Inn. The restaurant has a very nice history and while coming in to the place you instantly ferl the history in the walls. The restaurant was full, but did unfortunately not meet my...More

Thank Kenneth B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown
30 reviews
6.59 km away
The Green Man
71 reviews
6.83 km away
Rose And Crown
19 reviews
7.00 km away
Spice Lounge
107 reviews
7.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Haddenham Galleries
7 reviews
5.50 km away
Essential Synergy
6 reviews
6.48 km away
Ouse Washes
15 reviews
8.25 km away
The Animal Experience
165 reviews
9.96 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Frankiehitchin
Are you dog friendly ?
1 January 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Adamp84 | Property representative |
Sorry, we do not allow dogs inside.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$82
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bury Lane | Sutton, Ely CB6 2BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 778537
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing