We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


$$ - $$$, British,
12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“duck wrap” (21 reviews)
“burger” (38 reviews)
“salad” (36 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Very friendly service, couldn’t fault our waitress. Food average, I had the falafel burger which was really, really bland, absolutely no taste whatsoever. The 3 others with me had a taste and were of the same opinion Cannot click on to select service, food and...More

Thank Kerion M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Feeling irritated, went flying in Duttons on 29th July due to their negligence not covering door locking holes in the ground where my heal fitted into and sent my flying to the floor twice - have phoned twice - not had a apology or any...More

Thank nskillicorn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for a special birthday months ago and were really looked after from initial booking through to the big day. Nothing was too much and service from Jade and team 10 out of 10. You might worry about preorders for party of 12 but...More

Thank veedubber72
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband called in here today for lunch hence I haven’t been here for a year. My previous visit was always nice . Today awful club sandwich was terrible chips cold toilets had the worst drainage smell which would of put me of...More

Thank Cathy S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food, exceĺlent service especially Anita, despite it being a busy Saturday lunchtime. Well worth a visit.

Thank hopwood857
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit. It was very busy and when we left there was a long queue of people waiting for tables, but there is a bar where you can wait. Service was good, bit of a wait for the food. Really good menu...More

Thank JC00000
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I always come here whenever I visit Chester. The menu options are good and the wine is very nice. It's always busy so you often have to wait a short while but the service is good and there's a nice atmosphere. Tables outside if so...More

Thank Sara M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's the second time we had lunch here - it's always busy, very popular and front of house and waiting staff are friendly and do a great job.Unfortunately the food itself doesn't meet the expectation raised by the professionalism of the waiting staff. We had...More

Thank paulineBristol_UK
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Visited on a very busy Saturday lunchtime. The manager and her staff were well organised, efficient and cheerful. Drinks and food ordered, we enjoyed the buzz of Christmas shoppers all chatting and having tasty food in a lovely, warm restaurant. My husband and I both...More

Thank Chris W
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Chris, thank you for your lovely review on your recent visit. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed everything and myself and the team were able to provide you a great experience! We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon, Amy

Reviewed 8 December 2017

Expected a little more character due to the location. Just visited for a drink at lunch time. Plenty of people eating. The room was cold. Do not like male/female toilets. Staff friendly.More

Thank goldfinch101
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello- thank you for leaving a review on your recent visit. I’m sorry to read you were disappointed and can only assume from your review that you were seated in our champagne bar, which only has 1 toilet (there are more available downstairs). Due to...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
403 reviews
.10 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
2,595 reviews
.16 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
1,917 reviews
.17 km away
Travelodge Chester Central
639 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Chef's Table
1,082 reviews
.06 km away
1,668 reviews
.07 km away
Cheshire Sandwich Company
340 reviews
.01 km away
Veeno Italian Wine Cafe
193 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chester Cathedral
3,986 reviews
.08 km away
Walls of Chester
4,857 reviews
.12 km away
Chester Cathedral Falconry and Nature Gardens
373 reviews
.06 km away
Chester Rows
999 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul B
14 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ahickman6 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it’s suitable at a lunchtime It gets very busy in the evening
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: 01244-40-18-69
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing