We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cheshire Cat

) #76 of 391 Restaurants in Chester $$ - $$$ , British,
Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
+44 1244 332200
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“chicken pie” (8 reviews)
“lovely pub” (13 reviews)
“sunday lunch” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my mum and auntie to this lovely pub on out skirts of Chester food was great service was great the best fish finger buttie around I advise u go and try it out and not to expensive

Thank shaun b
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Shaun B, thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were cycling today along the canal towpath and stopped for lunch at the Cheshire Cat because it was recommended by some locals. We sat outside as it was such fine weather and we both ate prawn and lobster salad. Quick friendly service and delicious...More

Thank addewid
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Addewid, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I had lunch today... it was pretty awful... mash potatoes were not freshly made.. heated in a microwave.. hot on the outside.. cold in the middle.. if I had eaten I could of been poorly.. my veg was presented in an awful...More

2  Thank yvonnetemperley
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yvonnetemperley, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed nearby at Rowton Hall, ate here as an alternative to the Hotel. Lovely position on the Canal. Really nice Pub Food at good prices and a great setting on sunny days. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Thank gkbrownie
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Gkbrownie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cheshire Cat. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dropped in for lunch with my daughter, bar staff were friendly and served us quickly. We ordered sandwiches with triple cooked chips...for which we paid an upgrade. Service of food was poor, dropped in front of us and a random amount of cutlery put in...More

2  Thank saraloujman
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We're just passing through on way to Liverpool visiting family We saw the pub and thought looked lovely We had a lovely pint of ale and a glass of rose Really nice place and welcoming team Very happy and smiley Will stop and eat next...More

Thank Catherin P
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Catherin P, thank you; we appreciate your feedback Thanks The Cheshire Cat

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a while if of talking this place up after a couple of good visits took the in laws and the weekend and had an awful experience. Firstly we were met by a very abrupt waitress and then had to wait and wait and wait...More

1  Thank Alanroberts12
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Alanroberts12, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took a visiting French friend here. She impressed by the service and food, not an easy thing to accomplish when judged by a French national. We were also delighted that we received the usual service and tasty food. However our telephone booking made in...More

Thank Tim H
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tim H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cheshire Cat. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thanks The Cheshire Cat

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Saturday evening meal so, booked in advance; advisable! Pub is in a beautiful position, near the canal. Ideal for a family meal. Outside tables in garden. Excellent range of cask ales, lagers, wines, etc. Service efficient & friendly. Extensive menu for adults & children. My...More

Thank PaulusP2802
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Paulusp2802, thank you so much for the positive review! I will pass the comments onto our Kitchen team, we look forward to seeing you around soon! Thanks The Cheshire Cat

A TripAdvisor Member
53
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reserved a table, turned up on time but were told we couldn't order for another 40 minutes. Waited 10 minutes standing at the bar to order a drink, with other customers, whilst 3 staff were tidying the bar. Told we couldn't order food from the...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Manager C, Manager at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. We will work with the Team to ensure this is just a one off, sorry for your poor experience. Thanks The Cheshire Cat

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough Inn
281 reviews
1.25 km away
The Old Trooper Harvester
400 reviews
.79 km away
Ring O' Bells
474 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crocky Trail
812 reviews
2.73 km away
Grosvenor Park
310 reviews
3.33 km away
Chester Canal
215 reviews
2.32 km away
Grosvenor Park Miniature Railway
70 reviews
3.22 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sue C
Are u dog friendly ?
31 July 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Pauline C | Reviewed this property |
yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 332200
  • E-mail
Description
The Cheshire Cat in Christleton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing