We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maharajah Indian Restaurant

39 Cliff Road, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good17%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (205 reviews)
“poppadoms” (106 reviews)
“best indian” (130 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
39 Cliff Road, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Good food Good views Cool dude manager Good service Good vibes and chill music gets you right in the Indian vibes Come here pls x

Thank zakmitch
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My friends and I eat here on a regular basis and have never been disappointed. It's definitely our favourite Indian restaurant in Cornwall! Amazing food, beautiful views and friendly staff. Highly recommend- it's definitely worth a visit.More

Thank Adingle
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi! Thank you for your great review, we are glad you eat at Maharajah on regular basis with your friends and we are very happy to hear we were always up to your expectations. Our staff and host look forward to welcoming you again soon!...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Poor to average at best. No flavour and tasted like processed food. Ok if you just want a quick meal and not fussed about the taste. Will not be returning.More

1  Thank Andy123423
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at Maharajah, we have been serving the best of Indian cuisine for over 37 years. We are surprised to hear you found the food tasteless and we would like to point out that...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Saturday night 7pm not booked a table. 2 adults, 2 children. Just like a recent review we had a similar experience with the lack of communication. We asked if they had a table for us, they took our name, gave us menus and we waited...More

Thank Kayhurf
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal here with my parents last week, towards the end of our 2 week holiday. The food was superb, best Indian we've ever had. We will definitely return next year. Very reasonable prices.More

Thank Laura S
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi! Thank you for your positive review, we are glad to hear your enjoyed your meal with your parents. Our chefs will be very happy to hear that this is the best Indian you've ever had and that the food was superb. We all look...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To be honest it seemed like a nice little Indian restaurant when we first arrived. It's always a great sign to enter and see a busy / bubbly atmosphere. The waiter took my name and asked my partner and I to take a seat, which...More

1  Thank CDM_505
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, Thank you for your time to write us a review, we are surprised by some of what was mentioned in your feedback. We would like to apologise for the discomfort of waiting for a table but there is little we can do regarding that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a real nice dinner there. You will be seated. If you're lucky, you will get a table with a stunning view of the cliffs, beach and sea.

Thank Gabriel Gee-Jay... J
Reviewed 1 week ago

On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful, we had the meal for two which was good value and we had huge portions, we felt that the food was a little bland and the naan bread seemed overcooked.More

Thank alligatorman75
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the service of our staff although we are surprised you did not enjoy the food, our staff would have been more than happy to change anything to your satisfaction should you brought it up...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely lovely curry, rice and nan. Waiter was a character which enhanced the experience and of course the view !! WOW amazing. Biggest surprise was the bill really good value for such gorgeous food.More

Thank Tom L
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi! Thank you for your amazing review! we are delighted you loved the curry, rice and naan. Our staff are always more than happy to chat with the guests and make sure they are enjoying their time at Maharajah. We are glad you found our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been to Maharajah this evening and had a lovely meal. Starter of poppadoms and a tray of chutneys..mention if you dont like the hot ones as they can swap them for you-or if you only want a couple they're only 50p each! Korma was beautiful....More

Thank lukefrost
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi! Thank you for your excellent review, we are glad you loved the starter of poppadum and the tray of chutney, our staff is always there to assist the guests with anything. we are happy you enjoyed the mushroom rice and the saag. We are...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kahuna
1,072 reviews
.13 km away
The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop
746 reviews
.16 km away
Butchers Bistro
587 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tolcarne Beach
387 reviews
.12 km away
Newquay Zoo
1,958 reviews
.70 km away
Blue Reef Aquarium
1,209 reviews
.65 km away
Towan Beach
81 reviews
.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Claire T
14 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mfbSWEngland | Property representative |
Hello Claire, Thank you for your question, yes we do have high chairs. Looking forward to welcoming you at Maharajah!
0
Votes
mrs-rilo
9 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from mfbSWEngland | Property representative |
Hi, Thank you for your question, I am afraid only guide dogs are allowed into the restaurant. Take care
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 39 Cliff Road, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • E-mail
Description
The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing