We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Terrace at the Headland

Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
+44 1637 872211
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We stopped in the cottages and called for occasional drinks on the terrace, didn't find one drink I like and very expensive. Staff really lovely and happy to help just the drinks wasn't for me maybe am fussy. When I did find a drink I...More

Thank loopy3k
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Have eaten here numerous times in the past but am sad to have to say that the previously excellent food and service was somewhat lacking this time. Had to wait a very long time for the food to come, there was an error on the...More

Thank hrmanager
Reviewed 6 days ago

Nice and relaxed. Casual eating and drinking with fine views across Fistral beach over to Pentire Head. Lunch, cream teas and dinners of variety available with good selection of wines and beers.

Thank 444ianf
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review - you must come back and try our cocktail menu, we do a pretty mean sunset as well! Lucy

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely old prominent hotel in Newquay and the Terrace restaurant has some of the best views overlooking Fistral Beach. There are tables and sofas outside although insufficient sun umbrellas. Probably difficult on a windy day though. Plenty of tables inside but too many set up...More

Thank Goughie
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for your review. As beautiful as the location is, you are absolutely right about the elements. At times we are restricted with putting the umbrellas out but wherever possible we will pop them up! I am very sorry to read about...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was outstanding. It looked so good I forgot to take pictures. The food was tasty and presented well. The food was affordable and the amount of food was definitely value for money. Both times we ate here we were Hosted by Ursula, and...More

Thank JimmyBoyWeston
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jimmy Thank you so much for this super feedback on both your visits to our Terrace restaurant. It is really good to see that you enjoyed the food so much and we truly appreciate your praise for our wonderful staff team. We hope to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful view over Fistral Beach and the Atlantic, service good, food mixed, had a Caesar Salad with leaves wrapped around pieces of chicken, a bit like an Easter Egg with the dressing served in a small dish not mixed in. Prices a bit higher than...More

Thank J S
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear J S I am very glad to see that you found our service good when you visited our Terrace Restaurant and I hope you enjoyed your Caesar salad. Thank you for giving us your feedback. Kind regards Wyn

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here for the 1st night of our stay in the hotel for dinner as it was convenient. The food quality wasn't the best and I thought the service could be a lot better. We came earlier in the day to try and have...More

Thank Victoria B
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Victoria Thank you for your frank feedback on your visit to our Terrace restaurant. I am very sorry to see that you found service slow and that you were not impressed with the food. I will pass your comments to the Terrace manager. I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only stopped for a coffee on a fabulously warm and sunny day. Very pleasant staff, beautiful comfy outdoor furniture and spectular views of the sea and beach. Britain at its best! Of course, you pay more than normal for a coffee but its worth it....More

Thank HLMWiltshire
TheHeadlandHotel, PA to General Manager and Directors at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review - if only the weather could be fabulously warm and sunny everyday! I do hope to see you again soon and if the weather takes a turn we have lovely comfy sofas in our Ballroom with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is outstanding both in terms of the building and the lovely view over Fistral Beach. However our luncheon stop proved disappointing. The food choice was modest and the prices not exorbitant. Staff presented smartly BUT, the standard of service was pretty dire. Initially...More

Thank Mike B
TheHeadlandHotel, PA to General Manager and Directors at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mike I am sorry to read how disappointing you found the food and service. I am pleased your dissatisfaction was acknowledged at the time, however this does not make the matter resolved – please be assured I shall personally speak to the Terrace Manager...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love the Headland with its friendly staff professional staff and wonderful location but they really need to step up with the food. As one of the most expensive crab sandwich in town it really should be served with a better garnish and a better...More

Thank Goingforitt
TheHeadlandHotel, PA to General Manager and Directors at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the staff, however I am saddened to read how disappointed you were with your crab sandwich. Please be assured your feedback and comments have been acknowledged by the Chef.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Cloud
283 reviews
.87 km away
The Fish House - Fistral
1,082 reviews
.20 km away
Harbour Fish and Grill
622 reviews
.70 km away
The Beached Lamb Cafe
835 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fistral Beach
2,846 reviews
.16 km away
Newquay Activity Centre
909 reviews
.36 km away
Quiksilver Surf School Newquay
477 reviews
1.03 km away
Bodyboard-Holidays - Private Day Lessons
269 reviews
.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Terrace at the Headland staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 872211
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing