We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour Restaurant

48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
+44 1237 431237
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (13 reviews)
“soup” (3 reviews)
“pudding” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We didn't actually eat in the restaurant. As it was such a lovely balmy evening we sat outside the harbor bar overlooking the harbor. It was quite busy as It had been Clovelly RNLI day so lots of people still about. We had to wait...More

Thank Duncan P
Reviewed 4 days ago

Despite the lack of space inside, it was luckily warm enough to eat outside. We had a lovely meal and the staff were very friendly (and funny). We didn't realise until afterwards that we could have eaten upstairs, but sitting by the harbour was very...More

Thank Tania C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was expensive (half lobster £20) and cold. Provably someone likes cold lobster, but I prefer it hot and cleaned (it wasn’t). The beer was good and my boyfriend enjoyed his curry. I was the one unlucky with my meal :(

Thank gabimendes
sally s, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving a review, our lobster which we serve in the bar is always served cold with a salad.

Reviewed 20 June 2018

The restaurant is on the Quay with good views. Good menu offering something for everyone. We had Fresh cooked lobster, simple with condiments on the side, flavour superb!

Thank Jen W
sally s, General Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - so pleased that you enjoyed your lobster - I dont think you can beat freshly cooked clovelly lobster!

Reviewed 16 June 2018

After arriving at the Quay we were in real need of a drink,we sat outside in the sun and had a real Devon ale.Perfect.

Thank JPerry89
sally s, General Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for leaving us a review, glad that you enjoyed drinking your beer on the harbourside!

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Very friendly waiting staff. Had a lovely feel to the room with all windows looking out to sea. Unfortunately they’d run out of steak ( my husbands favourite ) but he enjoyed the lamb. They’d also run out of the sticky toffee pudding which I...More

Thank lesleypuplett
sally s, General Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for leaving such a nice review - I am sorry that we had run out of some of the dishes that you wanted I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us

Reviewed 25 May 2018

The first floor restaurant, not to be confused with the bars on the ground floor, is delightful. Fresh, modern, comfortable and with the friendliest of staff whom give wonderful service. The food is wonderful. We had scallops which were very fresh, but perhaps could do...More

Thank ScenerySteve
Reviewed 23 May 2018

The highlights were our main courses: my husband rated his duck breast one of best he has ever had! My lobster was cooked to perfection, simply prepared, simply presented, simply delicious. The dining room is beautifully decorated, with lovely views overlooking the quay and sea....More

Thank craigelachie
sally s, General Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review - I will pass your comments on to the Kitchen and waiting staff!

Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

This is the restaurant of the Red Lion. Food is delicious with hour choices and excellent value for money. The service is friendly and attentive. Photograph is the view from the restaurant.

Thank Iain R
sally s, General Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Many thanks for leaving such a nice review - I will pass your comments on to the Chefs & waiting staff.

Reviewed 18 May 2018

Lovely setting overlooking harbour.After initial teething troubles of getting wrong starter and main course food no better than average.(think maybe temp chef on night we had meal) However need to up standard if charging £40 for 4 courses

Thank nedrow5791
sally s, General Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your meal with us, I think you may have eaten when we were very short staffed with a new temp chef working. I can only apologise.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Red Lion Hotel
670 reviews
.01 km away
New Inn
246 reviews
.18 km away
Hoops Inn
466 reviews
5.89 km away
Penhaven Country House Hotel
11 reviews
7.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cottage Tea Rooms
186 reviews
.07 km away
Woolsery Fish and Chips
31 reviews
4.10 km away
The Old Bakery Coffee Shop
140 reviews
5.94 km away
The Bell Inn
142 reviews
7.88 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Milky Way Adventure Park
1,684 reviews
2.07 km away
Sandymouth Beach
379 reviews
4.66 km away
Clovelly Village
1,973 reviews
.04 km away
Hartland Point Lighthouse
164 reviews
5.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kathy B
16 September 2017|
Answer
Response from SevenoaksSinjun | Reviewed this property |
Hi Kathy I'm not sure if they are open for non-res breakfast or are pet friendly. We just visited for lunch. Probably best if you give them a call on 01237 431237.
0
Votes
titch3637
17 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from nickW27 | Property representative |
No sorry, the limited parking is just for hotel residents. You can park in the main car park and either walk down or take a land rover during the daytime only.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Clovelly
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 431237
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Red Lion Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing