We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour Restaurant

48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
+44 1237 431237
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (11 reviews)
“cornish pasty” (4 reviews)
“pudding” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Lovely peaceful dining room with impeccable service and excellent food. Lobster was the highlight of our meal, but everything was very good.

Thank Enjoygreatfood1
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for posting such a nice review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your Clovelly lobster - I will pass your comments on to the other members of staff!

Reviewed 30 September 2017

We had an amazing wedding at Clovelly. Having are wedding at the Red Lion. The food was amazing we had a BBQ so good the best fish ever. There was over thirty people and they all liked it and they eat all the fish.

Thank neilbaker939
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks for your lovely review - I will pass your comments on to the Chefs!!

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Needs some oomph... a welcome and a little warmth would have been nice. The food was ok but on the poor side. Wouldn't bother in future. Decor lovely.

Thank UnravelsTravels
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks for leaving us your feedback which I will pass on to the team in the kitchen.

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Visited Sunday 17th September, Ordered a meat ploughmans and a fish ploughmans. A meat ploughmans and a cheese ploughmans were delivered, The staff didn't apologise and just walked off and left it on the table, So we had to carry it inside to rectify the...More

Thank AndyMoir
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food & service that you received,your comments will be shared with the team as we are always looking to improve our guests experience.

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Visited 13/09/2017 at 13.00 hours, my wife had a tuna sandwich U asked for her views 'nothing special' was her reply. I had a crab sandwich worst I've ever had, mainly some sort of sauce and little crab, really disappointed. There was a young lad...More

Thank Andrew W
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for leaving feedback - your comments will be passed on to the staff in question.

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We dined here when staying overnight in the hotel (& had breakfast in the morning) after two tough days walking the SWCP from Bude. We were both very impressed with the food, both taste and value for money. I started with the amazing red mullet...More

Thank GrumpsDC
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks for leaving such a nice review, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk!

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I had a pub meal in the bar here. (Management keep responding to TripAdvisor posts saying "This is the restaurant page", but there seems to be only one page.) It was the Crab and Lobster Festival, which was unfortunate, because it meant there were unremitting...More

Thank Zenk73
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for leaving feedback - The Crab & Lobster Festival is one of our busiest times so it is probably best to avoid it if you dont like the sea shanties!

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days, harbour restaurant served a good menu with quite a few fish dishes. Quick service, beautiful views out to the harbour. Helpful and polite staff.

Thank Louise H
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice positive review for us - I will pass your comments on to the other members of staff.

Reviewed 28 August 2017

After by passing a couple of coffee shops and a pub on a very steep downhill path through the beautiful village of Clovely we arrived at The Harbour Restaurant. If it had not been for the fact that we had a toddler and heavily pregnant...More

1  Thank joggy57
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit - your comments have been passed on to the rest of the team.

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately (due to it's absolutely beautiful surroundings and village), was full of flies everywhere, all over the food, felt more like a swamp than a restaurant. Plus slower than slow service - with it taking over half an hour for a jacket potato, sandwich, egg...More

Thank OLangford3
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cottage Tea Rooms
157 reviews
.07 km away
Woolsery Fish and Chips
15 reviews
4.10 km away
The Old Bakery Coffee Shop
122 reviews
5.94 km away
The Bell Inn
141 reviews
7.88 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Milky Way Adventure Park
1,415 reviews
2.07 km away
Clovelly Village
1,772 reviews
.03 km away
Hartland Point Lighthouse
152 reviews
5.83 km away
Little Stars
25 reviews
2.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kathy B
16 September 2017|
Answer
Response from LeeStJohn | Reviewed this property |
Hi Kathy I'm not sure if they are open for non-res breakfast or are pet friendly. We just visited for lunch. Probably best if you give them a call on 01237 431237.
0
Votes
titch3637
17 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from nickW27 | Property representative |
No sorry, the limited parking is just for hotel residents. You can park in the main car park and either walk down or take a land rover during the daytime only.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Clovelly
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 431237
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Red Lion Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing