We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fish on the Harbour

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Riverside Road | EX35 6EX, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
+44 1598 753600
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Only had cones of chips before we headed off to walk along the river. Very impressed with the chips though very tasty & crisp. Nice outdoor eating area.

Helpful?
Thank GLPJ62
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good service , Fish and Chips are very good . there is somewhere to eat in side if weather not to good warm dry and very clean

Helpful?
Thank carolaparsons
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely sunny lunchtime perfect for takeaway fish n chips... how disappointing. Large haddock and chips £7.95. Fish was pleasant but not convinced chips weren't of frozen variety. Certainly no taste and very dry and small portion . U can put your own salt n vinegar on which i would highly recommend as we could not taste. Vinegar was sprayed on...... More 

Helpful?
Thank julandgar
tarkipoo, Owner at Fish on the Harbour, responded to this review

fresh means fresh as it states on menu boards out side fresh cut chips daily not frozen variety chips not sure where your remarks are coming from about vinegar or staff More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal of Haddock and Chips in a very clean restaurant. Pleasant staff and lovely surroundings. The batter on the fish was perfect, not stodgy or greasy and the chips cooked perfectly. They do eat in or takeaway, we ate in and although basic, very clean and the food was lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Goodfoodlover60
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful fresh fish, and chips were so tasty! We had peas and curry sauce which complimented a perfect fish supper watching the river! Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Dawnie C
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We went to this fantastic town last year as part of our holiday and although my wife always attempts to steer me away from fish and chip shops she failed to stop me going in to this superb eatery. We had take away with the idea of taking them to the car to eat them but having pinched a chip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donpet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
523 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Good fish and chips, homemade tartar sauce, nice pot of tea, just opposite harbour. Really enjoyed our lunch and great value compared to London prices.

Helpful?
Thank KAW687
tarkipoo, Owner at Fish on the Harbour, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your meal, and hope to see you again soon. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I were staying locally for a few nights so popped along for lunch. The service was very friendly and warm but we, having dreamt of seaside fish n chips, were rather disappointed by the cod which was far from freshly caught. Generally you enjoy the fish in its entirely but ours was a small loin (mine without... More 

Helpful?
Thank jemwalk
tarkipoo, Owner at Fish on the Harbour, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal,however i am confused as to what it is that you are saying,you state that you normally enjoy a fish in its entirety,all fish and chip shops batter fillets of fish not whole fish. yes it is very quiet this time of year but that does not effect the freshness or... More 

Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Really enjoyed fish and chip meal with my family in the resturant. Lovely meal, couldn't find any faults with it. Fish was great, batter light and even enjoyed the chips (don't normally eat chips). Friendly staff, good service and clean restaurant. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Well cooked and tasty food on a wet and windy afternoon. Nice staff and good selection of food. Worth a try

Helpful?
1 Thank Dst45

Travellers who viewed Fish on the Harbour also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Fish on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast food, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Riverside Road | EX35 6EX, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Lynmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1598 753600

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fish on the Harbour and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fish on the Harbour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?