We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Noah's Ark

) #287 of 537 Restaurants in Plymouth $ , British,
32A Courtenay Street, Plymouth PL1 1EP, England
+44 1752 664820
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good36%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
32A Courtenay Street, Plymouth PL1 1EP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I popped in here for a pint while my wife was in House of Fraser, it was busy with afternoon drinkers and a nice buzzy atmosphere. The beer was ok and the lady serving was smiley enough, there appears to be a function room upstairs,...More

Thank Rooombiter
Reviewed 20 July 2017

My friend and I went in because we had read it had been refurbished. We were very disappointed with the service provided. We both had large brandies, and were astonished to find they had no brandy glasses, the male member of staff was not apologetic,...More

1  Thank Martyn281170
NoahsArkPubPlymouth, General Manager at Noah's Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon Martyn The barman that served you didn't apologise as unfortunately we don't hold brandy glasses on site as they aren't part of the company's glass stocking policy. So my apologies if this didn't come across as good service. I personally agree with you...More

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Having recently been working in Plymouth I tried this pub for an evening meal and watch football. It is very much a working-class place but the food is good, the locals are friendly and it has the clearest big screen I've ever seen. Old fashioned...More

1  Thank grahamjoemed
NoahsArkPubPlymouth, Manager at Noah's Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Many thanks Graham. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope you can call in again sometime. Kind regards Sarah - GM

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We dropped into this pub for lunch on our way to Cornwall. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the food is really nice. Noah's Ark reminds us of our local pub back home, and we are pleased to have experienced such a nice pub.

Thank DyanneHarding
NoahsArkPubPlymouth, Manager at Noah's Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you Dyanne. Your feedback is much appreciated,. Hopefully we will see you very soon. Kind regards Sarah

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Staff were pleasant and very accommodating. Locals were friendly, salt of the earth people. We fit right in here. Big menu , cheap food. Our meals were very good. Would visit here again. ( perhaps on our way back from Cornwall. )

Thank Robert H
NoahsArkPubPlymouth, Manager at Noah's Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Many thanks Robert for taking the time to give us great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again to The Noah's Ark. Kind regards Sarah

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

The management has changed on numerous occasions at The Noahs over the years and is much more nicer than of late due to the politeness and friendliness of their bar staff. Drinks are cheaper and food is hot, tasty and reasonably priced. I understand there...More

1  Thank Sandie J
NoahsArkPubPlymouth, Manager at Noah's Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback Sandie - much appreciated. I have let Ross know how much you enjoyed his singing!! Sarah

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The place is very very bad beer not nice staff don't care the people in there are not nice people very rude and won't help you food is bad came out cold from microwave chips cold hate to think what the kitchen is like carpet...More

1  Thank Lee B
Management response:Responded 14 October 2016

Dear Lee We are really sorry you have had a bad experience at The Noah's Ark. It's most unusual, as we have the highest standards in Environmental health - a 5 star rating, along with lots of commendations from local businesses and local people. If...More

Reviewed 27 September 2016

My wife and I were in town not long agao so we visited the Noah's Ark for a meal. The meals were very good and not too expensive either.More

1  Thank ErictheredPlymouth
Management response:Responded 15 October 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are however changing the menu which will be up and running on the 18th October, hopefully when your back in town, you will come back and try it out. Thank you again, Kind regards Pamela Dalton...More

Reviewed 24 August 2016

First visit to the pub. Very central, just off Royal Parade. Great food and drink at a very reasonable price. Food was served quickly and enjoyed by all. A good choice of menu with different meal deals offering good pub food. Well worth a visit!More

1  Thank ZIPZIP555
Management response:Responded 15 October 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are however changing the menu which will be up and running on the 18th October, hopefully when your back in town, you will come back and try it out. Thank you again, Kind regards Pamela Dalton...More

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Have been drinking in this establishment for 15 years on and off, management has changed hands a fair few times but it's the same old punters! Cheap and cheerful larger at £1.99 a pint food used to be fairly decent but haven't eaten in there...More

1  Thank AdamPC84
Management response:Responded 15 October 2016

On behalf of the Noahs ark team thank you. You are very right cheap and cheerful. We are cracking down on the rowdiness, which is brilliant. Thank you again, Kind Regards, Pamela Dalton TL

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Bistro 23
74 reviews
.17 km away
The New Lanterns Restaurant
268 reviews
.17 km away
Rumpuscosy
308 reviews
.13 km away
Wildwood Derrys Cross
301 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Theatre Royal Plymouth
773 reviews
.08 km away
St. Andrew's Church
100 reviews
.17 km away
The Drum Theatre
30 reviews
.17 km away
Plymouth Central Library
27 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pamela M
21 March 2017|
Answer
Response from NoahsArkPubPlymouth | Property representative |
Hi Pamela Unfortunately due to the small nature of our bars, we aren't able to accept dogs inside the pub, but they are welcome to sit at the outside tables. With kind regards Sarah - GM
0
Votes
Natalie1701975
9 December 2016|
Answer
Response from NoahsArkPubPlymouth | Property representative |
Hi Natalie Yes and no! The building was built in 1941, so we can overcome the steps into the pub with a ramp. Unfortunately no lift access upstairs to the function room. The men's toilet has a small step but plenty of... More
1
Vote
MacM874
5 September 2015|
Answer
Response from MacM874 |
Do you have disabled access?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32A Courtenay Street, Plymouth PL1 1EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 664820
  • E-mail
Description
Substantial early post war pub right in the heart of Plymouth's retail centre. Very popular with locals but attracting many tourists and visitors. Particularly convenient to the main stores as well as being yards from the Theatre Royal and other entertainments. Hearty pub food in comfortable environment, busier during the daytimes. Deserves a listing.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing