We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
+44 1803 690264
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

799 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 798: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Good food had the two course for dinner,great value for money. Welcoming staff and full bellies. very good job all in all

Helpful?
Thank oliver b
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I've decided this year I would eat out for Valentine's Day we usual avoid doing this because of all the hustle and bustle that comes with this "special day". We have booked into The drum inn for our evening meal and I would have to say I couldn't believe my eyes. It was absolutely amazing just as we had hoped,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire D
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were staying at a band b nearby and booked a meal at this inn. The food was served quickly and it was beautifully displayed and tasted gorgeous. Not the cheapest , but you get what you pay for, excellent food and choices and service.

Helpful?
Thank Polly604
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this review

Polly604 I am delighted that your recent visit was great, we do have some great guest houses and hotels nearby the Drum Inn and I am glad your food and serviced was amazing. Thank you for taking your time to review us and we look forward to you returning on your next visit to Cockington. Macca More 

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Having enjoyed a stroll around the nearby country park we visited the Drum for lunch. We had the choice of some leather armchairs in front of the fire, but sat outside, to enjoy some welcome winter sunshine and had the patio and garden area to ourselves. We had sandwiches, which came with chips or sweet potato fries and were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank 446MikeE446
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning 446mikeE446 Thanks for you review and I am glad your recent visit to Cockington was pleasant. We are blessed with our location. We are just about to go into our light nights new menu which we launch on the 24th of this month so pop down and try out our new menu . Macca More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We've eaten here twice recently, the first time being a very busy Christmas Eve. We were a group of 5, we all had different meals and all were very good.The staff were excellent being efficient, friendly and attentive. We were back again a few weeks later, this time a party of 7, and again we couldn't have asked for more.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndrewPoppett
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this review

Hi Andrewpoppett Thanks for your review I am glad your visit was a great one and once again the fires are a massive part of our pub and our team here is a great one with. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit. Macca More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Drum Inn last Sunday. All of the staff were really lovely & friendly - making conversation & working efficiently. Hadn't booked but they worked around it & slotted us in. Food was at a really high standard, everything tasted fresh & home made. A nice country fire was burning too, an all round great place, with fantastic... More 

Helpful?
Thank annakjwhyte
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this review

Hi Annakjwhyte Thanks for your review and I am delighted your last visit was spot on and you enjoyed our great food. The fires are a great asset to have and are feature of the pub. We look forward to your next visit. Macca More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here on Saturday as a large group of family, service was good and all meals had been pre-ordered however the food was very average and considering the prices and it's reputation I would have expected much better, wouldn't recommend this as choice to eat

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this review

Good Evening Kevin R Hi Kevin I am disappointed that your visit was not what you was expecting and can assure you we do take all feed back on board and feed back to the team at our weekly meetings. I hope in future if you are here and have a issue you tell a team member so that when... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub and came recommend however our experience wasn't so great. There is a distinct smell about the place and those that can't smell it must be nose blind. The smell is dirty carpet !!!! It's looks dirty. Feels dirty and smells dirty. Beyond the dirty carpet the staff were really nice. Jake was our waiter who puts 120% into... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cherrylho
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this review

Good Evening Cherrylho Thanks for your review and I firstly want to say I am sorry your visit was not up to our normal high standards. We did have a issue with a leaking pipe which has now been fixed and the carpets cleaned through the pub as there was a smell left after the leak. Jake who you mentioned... More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visit regularly, sometimes for food and at other times just for a drink. Food is always very enjoyable. Have reviewed The Drum before, and would just like to say that the service has improved steadily, so keep up the good work Macca and all the staff. We will keep coming back!

Helpful?
Thank travellerCD
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this review

HI TravellerCd Thanks for your kind review we do work very hard and try so hard to make each guest welcome and look forward to you visiting us again in the future and hopefully improving if we can on your next visit. Macca More 

neath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This came as a recommendation and we are so glad we went there. The staff were polite , friendly and so welcoming. The food was lovely and not expensive. The log fire gave it a homely touch on a cold January evening. Wish it was closer to home and it would be a regular for us. Thank you all .

Helpful?
Thank grang50
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this review

Hi Grang50 Thanks for your great review and taking your time to give us your feed back from your recent visit. I am delighted that you thought your visit was lovely and welcoming and look forward to your next visit soon. Macca More 

Travellers who viewed The Drum Inn also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Torquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 690264
Description
The Drum Inn in Cockington is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Drum Inn and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Drum Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?