We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
+44 1273 958242
Website
Today
10:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 18:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

it is not super tasty, it is not great value for money, and it is a bit tacky. BUT it's fresh and it is seafood. They are all a bit bland and the sauces are meh. BUT add a bit of tabasco and lemon and just down it. When in Rome do as the Roman's do. I give it 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ilke2013
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

I think you have reviewed the wrong shellfish bar. We are closed from the end of October until mid February.the other shellfish bar is open all year round. Please cancel your review . Many thanks Cliff More 

Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Been to this stall several times now and have always been left wanting more. Today was the first time I haven't been twice in a single day upon visiting! Love it, great selection!

Helpful?
Thank Drew D
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. Very much appreciated Regards Cliff More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I wanted to try fresh seafood on coming to Brighton and this no fuss oyster bar did just the trick. They had delicious Jersey oysters that were freshly prepared. Staff were friendly and it's a lovely spot in which to sit out on the pebble beach. At £1-1.50 per oyster I highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank 187063James92
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We love them and strive to get more all the time. Regards Cliff More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

Had to planned to come here after reading so many good reviews and i wasn't disappointing. The atlantic prawns were so fresh and tasty i wish i had got more.

Helpful?
Thank Jake S
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I asm so please we didn't disappoint & look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards Cliff More 

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I'm Brighton born and bred but live in Florida. Every time I come home this is my first port of call mostly because I've spent months, weeks, days and hours yearning for their large pot of Whelks with Shallot Vinegar!!! This little Seafood Bar is exemplary. Their seafood and shellfish is fresh, beautifully presented, offered in 3 sizes and then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flick M
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Wow, what a great review. Thank you for taking the time for us. We really appreciate your input Many thanks again Regards Cliff More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Very fresh and nice foot ! + sunshine really enjoy the trip here . Also the couple are really friendly .

Helpful?
Thank JAZPQ
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us. It was good to see new customers , especially happy ones. Regards Cliff More 

Horley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

Whenever we are in Brighton we always visit this delightful seafront shellfish stall. The selection is always excellent and we always take advantage of the special packaging to take food home..

Helpful?
Thank John W
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. Its great to hear from returning customers. Regards Cliff More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

I managed to get down to Brighton ( first time in three years since my illness) I took my son and told him I had to visit this wonderful shellfish bar . They make a really good home made chilly and lime sauce that goes really well with the shellfish they serve. I remember this shellfish bar as the couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank Astro916
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Its great to have you back visiting again. We love return customers. We try to make time to chat Regards Cliff More 

Morden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

Located along by the beach this is a really good selection fish bar great for a light snack as there is a great choice of lovely fish either to have in a roll or tubs of fish of your choice fresh and tasty great service lovely

Helpful?
Thank kim F
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

A great review. Thank you for taking the time. Regards Cliff More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

Upon recommendations I stopped by the stall for lunch, I had a prawn sandwich, mixed seafood and shell on prawns. The prawns were delicious, very fresh and lovely to relax with the simple sea view surroundings. The prices were very reasonable considering how much some of the restaurants charge for seafood which I'm sure is just as good quality and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma F
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. Please come back soon Regards Cliff More 

Travellers who viewed The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 18:00
Thursday
10:00 - 18:00
Friday
10:00 - 18:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 958242
Description
Well its that time again. Our summer season is coming to an end. ITS HOLIDAY TIME FOR US !!!! We will be back refreshed with lots of new ides next year, Mid February to be exact. Have a great Christmas & a happy New Year...

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?