We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reservoir

1 Howard Road, Brighton BN2 9TP, England
+44 1273 321400
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“thai food” (5 reviews)
“pork” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Howard Road, Brighton BN2 9TP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Decided to try as heard good things from friends. Wasn't disappointed had a mixed starter but not keen on fish cakes so asked to swap for something different, this was no problem at all. We had the mixed started then shared a pad Thai both...More

Thank Jasonoliviaella
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Ordered food. Waited an hour. My partner went to the bar to ask where it was. Told 20 minutes. 40 minutes later it's not here, so I go the bar and ask. Barman denies it was ever ordered. Offers no apology and doesn't seem to...More

1  Thank Jenny0901
VickySticky, General Manager at The Reservoir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Jenny, Thanks for the review. I'm sorry you had such a disappointing experience at The Res. I have tried to paint a picture of what led to this point by speaking to both the members of staff who were working that night. (Saturday). From...More

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Staying in Brighton for the weekend we were looking for a place for Sunday lunch - for four - having not booked! Having tried two pubs, without success, we came across The Reservoir, who were very accommodating. The roast beef, pork, and the vegetarian options...More

Thank kenbaines
VickySticky, General Manager at The Reservoir, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you very much for your helpful review. Much appreciated! We hope to see you again if you're in town.

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

The roast I got didn't really justify the price. The meat was very average - I like a slab of pork not thin slices that have a tenancy to dry out. The gravy was also very thin and weak on taste and the potatoes felt...More

Thank vic79uk
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Well worth a visit, the food was good, and service was quick and friendly despite the pub being very busy. Added to that, some nice beers, and a range of well behaved dogs which is always good

Thank Ian J
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing cute pub with lovely staff. But the Thai food is authentic, tasty and reasonably priced. My favourite pub to go to for food

1  Thank h0llymcc
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I've been coming to the Reservoir since moving to the area last April and I used to order a Thai from this place nearly every weekend! I loved their Panang Curry and Tom Kha soup. Last few months I haven't bothered ordering food because they...More

Thank Jesicca M
VickySticky, General Manager at The Reservoir, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Hi Jessica, thank you for your review of The Reservoir. I'd like to firstly apologise for your disappointing experience of the food in particular. Let me try and figure out where we went wrong and hopefully regain your confidence as a customer; the Thai kitchen...More

Reviewed 3 October 2016

lovely real ales all well priced @ £3.60 a pint specials are Grolsch and Orchards Cider at £3 I had my 1st Sunday roast yesterday and the portions and quality are just like your mum makes 11 out of 10 PS Thai food during the...More

Thank Adrian L
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I visited on a Friday night with my boyfriend and two friends. We started with a pint and some fabulous thai crackers. Then we ordered the food. A Thai green curry and Penang chicken for my friends and Red curry and chicken with holy basil...More

Thank Crazyfrog0
VickySticky, General Manager at The Reservoir, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thanks for your incredibly positive and helpful review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Reasonable Thai food, would have given it a 3.5. Food was pretty authentic, but needed a bit more of a chilli kick. Starters though were awesome, could have eaten them all day. I suppose they have to cater for UK tastes. Great atmosphere and very...More

Thank Ian W
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Geese
162 reviews
.30 km away
Village
37 reviews
.06 km away
PizzaMe
22 reviews
.13 km away
The Greys Pub
63 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Bartholomews
102 reviews
.70 km away
Brighton Racecourse
84 reviews
.59 km away
The Level
60 reviews
.56 km away
The Open Market
108 reviews
.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Reservoir staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Restaurant features
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Howard Road, Brighton BN2 9TP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 321400
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing