We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bartholomew Square | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
+44 1273 719195
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

602 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 583: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a really poor lunch today at Moshimo. To be clear, I don't have high expectations given the location and the fact that Japanese food is not very well represented overall in England...but. Mini booths are mobile, and as such are not particularly comfy... I felt like I was sitting at a little school desk as an adult...ordered Edamame, Spicy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo W
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Matteo W, gosh, you need to get a life, man! I've lived in Japan for four years. I know my stuff. So do our Japanese staff. This review came through today from Buzzfeed: 'Moshimo lives up to the hype year after year, and a sexier, cooler Japanese restaurant you’ll struggle to find. If you’re yet to lose your sashimi virginity,... More 

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Bought my mum here for a mother day treat, and we both loved it!. Sundays are £2.90 a dish so we tried all sorts of things. Everything was delicious and Chloe our waitress was very friendly and helpful (especially when we were trying to find something but didn't know the name of it). This is the third time I've visited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amaelofthejawas
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The sushi served here is top quality. There are two options, the sushi train or a great selection on the menu. The service is friendly and overall so is the atmosphere. Would love to revisit one day.

Helpful?
Thank scottieipad
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here Saturday afternoon for lunch. I grew up in Eastbourne and remember when this place opened. Sadly the quality has gone right down hill. I think a child could have made better sushi. Rice was dry, with horrible synthetic tasting sauce slopped on the salmon. The plates didn't match those in the menu and I think some had... More 

Helpful?
Thank PollyErrington
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We like sashimi more than sushi and went by the reviews, the fish was fine, everything else was about OK, I asked for a salad, no chance, how come? Most things on the belt, so if you did need a waitress almost impossible, charge £5 for soda water, not in a bottle, straight from the pump then the bill has... More 

Helpful?
Thank mary m
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Mary, thank you for reviewing us. Soda water isn't on our menu, and we don't even sell sparkling water by the bottle... but I'm going to look into this for you. You shouldn't have been charged £5. We're working on our service standards right now, so it would be good to hear from you if you come again. Mondays. Did... More 

West Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been here a few times with my daughter, we are both vegans and there are plenty of tasty choices on the menu for us. Today we brought my wife with us for lunch, she really enjoyed her fish and meat dishes, declaring the food to be excellent quality and well prepared. So something to suit everyone - winner!

Helpful?
Thank kayleeM
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you. We're just working on launching our Vegan Vednesdays... so watch this space! Nicky co-owner More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Moshimo is probably architecturally the most interesting Japanese restaurant in the British Isles, benefiting from an open space in the middle of a town square in which is built a Japanese inspired bungalow that looks designed to survive earthquakes. The interior design is functional and friendly with both bar stools facing the moving belt and cosy comfortable tables with padded... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrightonVoyager
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for this review, it's really appreciated. Salmon is by far our most popular fish, but we do have a full range of other fish - including, of course, tuna and mackerel - so please do ask our staff for these if you don't see it on the belt! See you here again soon, I... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
742 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 802 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to go here for the 50% off February special for members of the Moshimo club. The restaurant was as you would expect busy and the staff rushed off their feet. The service was ok although I had to wait 15 minutes for a refill of a water bottle. I guess it is difficult to find staff as they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John K
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

John, thank you for this. We'll take your comments on board. All the best, Nicky co-owner More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my family went along to have a nice meal, we all had high expectations and they were met! The staff were friendly and polite, they helped my picky sister find something she loved which impressed me. I myself had a delicious plate of raw beef with lettuce and wasabi, it was absolutely stunning! Me and my dad also... More 

Helpful?
Thank spooky B
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review. Please come again soon, Nicky co-owner More 

Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just been to Moshimo for there fabulous 50% off if you have a moshy madness card... and I never ever have a bad meal, it's delicious and I never get bored. Moshimo has great variety and caters for all requirements. The staff are welcoming, polite and very friendly and offer great service. The owner even has time to talk to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gremlin80
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Always good to hear from a regular. Thank you. More 

Travellers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$31
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bartholomew Square | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 719195
Description
Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moshimo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?