We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donatello

1-3 Brighton Place | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
+44 1273 775477
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (323 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:30All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1-3 Brighton Place | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (2,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We came here on a bank holiday Saturday. We arrived at 11:00 but the door didn't opened until 11:30. We ordered 2 vegetable soups, a clams, squid and prawn spaghetti, a spaghetti bolognese, an apple pie, 3 scoops of ice creams and a large bottle...More

Thank Snowbell23514425
Reviewed 3 days ago

Very busy restaurant. But we got a table fo 6 people, but could only have it for 1 hr 30 mins, as there were lots of graduation parties being held there. But that was fine with us , orders were taken quickly, food came out...More

Thank gloray
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This was absolutely awful. Lived in brighton for years and knew there was a reason to avoid this place. Had a large group and last minute booking so thought we'd give it a go. Waited ages for drinks, couldn't hear anyone (so loud), ready meal...More

1  Thank Rohini P
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review; we are really sorry to hear that you didn’t find your experience with us enjoyable. We would like to point out that we make everything from scratch on the premises but we will take your review on board.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Called for lunch whilst on a Saturday visit to Brighton Restaurant was busy but we were greeted by friendly staff and quickly seated . Extensive menu to choose from . We opted for the 3 courses for £12.50 option. In all honesty I expected small...More

Thank Ifachef
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for your kind review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 4 days ago

I last visited here last year on a hen night with friends where I work it was extremely busy on a Saturday evening but I remember then the food was good and so was the service. We were looking for some where for lunch last...More

Thank clares366
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your review; we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed both of your experiences and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 5 days ago

This restaurant in the Lanes has a good menu with plenty of choice and all well cooked. Efficient staff and always very busy. Prices reasonable too. Would recommend.

Thank SouthCoastRosie
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago

10 of us for Lunch including two children. Staff were brilliant very attentive but not overly so. We had a selection of dishes, pizza, muscles, ravioli , chicken and fusili all looked and tasted divine. Sensible portion sizes which was just as well as the...More

Thank carolyn j
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago

Went to this restaurant for an early evening meal before catching the train back to London. Good choice of various pasta dishes for £10.00 including a desert. Not sure if they run this offer all evening so best to check but the pasta dish and...More

Thank Michellle2758
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience. Our £10 set menu is available all evening every evening except Saturdays. Wee hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Two colleagues and I visited Donatello's after a meander through The Lanes. We came across this very busy restaurant and figured they couldn't all be wrong! Service was very good. The restaurant itself is nice. Two of us had calamari to start and then pizzas...More

Thank fadingtan
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review; we do hope you will come back and see us soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago

If you like Italian food this is the place to go and fill your stomachs with lovely pastas or pizzas along with more and I have been there many times.

Thank Trevor B
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Brighton Burger
277 reviews
.05 km away
English's of Brighton
1,211 reviews
.06 km away
Giggling Squid Brighton
903 reviews
.03 km away
The House Restaurant
652 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Lanes
4,535 reviews
.06 km away
Old Police Cells Museum
74 reviews
.08 km away
Kellie Miller Arts
13 reviews
.05 km away
Gustamps
2,252 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MacM874
22 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sandra H | Reviewed this property |
I don't know the answer to your question. I would think that you would get an answer from someone at the restaurant.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$22
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:30
Thursday
11:30 - 23:30
Friday
11:30 - 23:30
Saturday
11:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-3 Brighton Place | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 775477
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing