We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riddle and Finns The Beach

Arch 139, Brighton BN1 2FN, England
+44 1273 821218
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (248 reviews)
“crab” (119 reviews)
“razor clams” (41 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Arch 139, Brighton BN1 2FN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Excellent service from Sasha and Olivia, nothing was too much for them. My guest was very late for our booking and had certain dietary requirements and managed to leave there happy. I had a wonderful afternoon sampling some lunchtime delights that were on offer and...More

Thank MsFielding
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This is just a really lovely place to sit and eat good food and watch the world go by. Try and grab a window seat upstairs to make the best of it. Oysters and nice wine .. heavenly combo!

Thank Debbie W
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What a disappointing experience. - Our order got lost so we ended up waiting 50 minutes for our starter. These things happen, we know that... but then we had to wait an additional half an hour for our main. - The onsite manager was the...More

Thank josuthers
Riddles_Manager, General Manager at Riddle and Finns The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for the feedback on your recent dining experience with us at Riddle and Finns The Beach. I am sorry to hear that didn't enjoy your recent dining experience with us. I have looked into this matter and would be grateful if you can...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We tried 5 dishes and everyone was poorly seasoned. Curry was not a curry. Nan was a piece of rock. Bouillabaisse had a few peppes and tiny mussels and some mackerel plus one langoustine. The liquid wasn't rich or deep and using cheap shellfish and...More

Thank john b
Riddles_Manager, General Manager at Riddle and Finns The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the feedback on your recent dining experience with us at Riddle and Finns The Beach. We are very proud of our standard of food offering and team of talented chefs and to hear you describe your meal in such a manner is...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived here with great expectations. We did pre book this restaurant and was told we couldn't book a table by the only two windows in the restaurant as we were told the best tables in the house however on arrival we were shown to our...More

Thank alan r
Riddles_Manager, General Manager at Riddle and Finns The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback on your recent dining experience with us and I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy yourself. Our window tables are very popular and a lot of our customers request to sit there. The fact we only have two window...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly - the service was impeccable, this review is in no way related to the waiting staff who were excellent. We were seated upstairs by the big front window overlooking the sea. It's tatty. Paint lifting off (right hand corner as you come up the...More

Thank Brightonbuoy
Riddles_Manager, General Manager at Riddle and Finns The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the feedback on your recent dining experience with us at Riddle and Finns The beach. We are aware the restaurant gets very hot in the summer and a refurbishment is scheduled in November including, installing air conditioning in the hope it will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you like fresh sea food, you have to try this establishment. The ingredient is so fresh, which is the most important factor in any sea Food dish. Try it you will glad that you did. A definite 5 star restaurant.

1  Thank hopwong
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful lunch at this great restaurant. Booked in advance - recommended. Received a warm welcome although we were early for our reservation. Managed to get seated upstairs with lovely views of the beach and the pier. The staff were friendly and efficient....More

1  Thank Caroline1026
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having lived in Brighton for 5 years, this is simply the best restaurant here. Outstanding seafood and unbelievably friendly service.

1  Thank Jack H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been to the oyster bar of the same company in the lanes, thought we'd try the beach. Great food, I had fish of the day Dover Sole, which was lovely. Cater well for Gluten free customers too. Service impeccable, really a great place. Not cheap,...More

1  Thank Scampmeisters
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Revolution
415 reviews
.18 km away
The Salt Room Restaurant
1,040 reviews
.18 km away
GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar
552 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Brighton Centre
450 reviews
.14 km away
Churchill Square Shopping Centre
210 reviews
.25 km away
Peace Statue
41 reviews
.09 km away
Saint Paul’s Parish Church
27 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Margaret F
26 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ManagerRF | Property representative |
Hello Margaret, Yes, of course you are welcome to come in for oysters and champagne. We do tend to be quite booked up in advance over the weekends however we don't reserve the terrace tables so there may be an opportunity... More
0
Votes
Ashley C
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from alan082014 | Reviewed this property |
They were very accommodating when we were there so I am sure if you ask, they will do you proud.
1
Vote
WardenRon
23 March 2017|
Answer
Response from ManagerRF | Property representative |
Hello WardenRon, We can seat up to 14 guests in our private dining room. Any questions, do get in contact with us - 01273 821218 or send us an email. Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$40 - US$99
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Arch 139, Brighton BN1 2FN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 821218
  • E-mail
Description
Now open on the beachfront – Riddle & Finns II is the sister restaurant to the highly acclaimed Riddle & Finns in The Lanes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing