We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greedy Goose

Salford Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
+44 1608 646551
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (55 reviews)
“beef” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Salford Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 459 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Me and my partner were staying near by and was recommended the greedy goose. Thank goodness we were .. the pub itself has an amazing decor and a lovely relaxed atmosphere to go with it. The staff were so lovely and the manager Matt even...More

Thank Jaymie10
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We were welcomed in and we immediately relaxed. The service was impeccable and the two burgers we had between us were so good we didn't want them to end! The lamb and mint was tender and juicy plus the pot of sauce tasty and even...More

1  Thank combatchez
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Been in tonight for a family celebration, staff are incredibly friendly & we were made to feel very welcome! Food is absolutely incredible, & what a fantastic setting...will definitely be back

1  Thank Katie P
Reviewed 5 days ago

first class food, service with friendly staff, we were paying a short visit to nearby Stow on the Wold, a paid the visit with family who live in the area

1  Thank alanhorsley288
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Arriving at the car park and walking in to meet my friend my heart sank. Tatty exterior, discarded cigarette buts everywhere and a haze of smoke fog to get through. Pleasant enough greeting and we ate in the bar which was busy and noisy with...More

Thank moses_karibu
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for a Sunday Roast today and were pretty blown away by how excellent the food was. We've had a lot of good roasts in our day, but this will stick out in memory (and we'll certainly return when we have visitors, even...More

Thank catocailin
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

We are really pleased to know you enjoyed Sunday lunch with us and hope to return. Thank you for using Trip Advisor.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband had the burger and it was absolutely marvellous, I had a roast pork Sunday lunch which was really good, this restaurant is always busy and full of laughter. If you complain about anything, the staff are great and will often change or take...More

Thank Kerry L
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

Thank you for using Trip Advisor and for letting us know what you enjoyed about your most recent visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch as we were passing. Lovely sausage sandwich with what appeared to be locally produced sausages and bread. Good range of local ales too which were well kept. Friendly staff too.

Thank Wheel_100
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

Thank you for dropping by to see us and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The only good thing about our trip to the Greedy Goose was that they could accommodate a fairly big party (8) - no surprise as in fact bar ourselves and another table of 4 there was no-one else dining. Service was OK on arrival, drinks...More

1  Thank David P
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your meal and did not feel able to raise any issues with us during your visit. Our team will always do their best to quickly put things right if any element of a dish is not of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We eat out in the Cotswolds a lot and thought we'd try somewhere new. The menu looked promising with plenty of choice. When we arrived, the pub was very inviting - nice approach/car park, fab interior and welcoming staff. Unfortunately, though, the food was disappointing....More

Thank the3f00dies
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

I am sorry your meal was disappointing. We aim to offer excellent service and very good quality meals so thank you for your feedback which we will review with our kitchen team.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion Inn
184 reviews
1.83 km away
The Red Lion
332 reviews
3.97 km away
Wild Thyme Restaurant and Rooms
453 reviews
4.61 km away
The Chequers
344 reviews
4.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rollright Stones
214 reviews
3.24 km away
The Cookery School at Daylesford
16 reviews
3.88 km away
St Nicholas Church
21 reviews
4.92 km away
The King’s Head Inn
6 reviews
6.69 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Hi. We're looking for somewhere for a big family meal on 27th December. Could you accommodate a party of 20? Thanks
28 October 2016|
Answer
Response from chefmarek | Property representative |
Hi, that shouldn't be a problem, could you call Matt on 01608 646551
0
Votes
Hoolab
do you have gluten free options please?
31 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from mintyWarwickshire | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Hoolab, I am not the owner only a satisfied customer!! I only noticed in the menu that they offered to discuss their menu incase of any allergies - but didn't notice an actual 'gluten free' section. Check out their... More
1
Vote
Champs2016
If they do fillet steak in the restaurant please
9 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Samantha R | Property representative |
Dear Champs - Many apologies for not seeing your message until now. Yes the team do serve an 8oz fillet steak with a pepper corn sauce. Best wishes.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salford Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Moreton-in-Marsh
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 646551
  • E-mail