We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Farmers Home

Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
+44 1489 860457
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with husband and son on bank holiday Monday! Very attentive staff member - seemed in a supervisory role. Lovely ploughman’s and amazing Eton mess! Very quick service yet fresh! Great play area for children of all ages. Will definitely return!

Thank Charlotte S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looong wait to be served at the bar.. like 15/20 minutes every time we wanted a drink/to order. We ordered a couple of rounds at a time to avoid waiting. Food was average, meal ordered with fries came with mash and meal ordered with mash...More

1  Thank 82Ryan82
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited for lunch with a friend. We chose the scampi and chips. The meal was very nice and of a good size. Service was prompt and staff were polite. We did however visit during a very busy period so were sat at rather a...More

1  Thank Natasha R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Heard about this place from friends so decided to go for lunch and see for ourselves, and was very impressed. A great "Oldy World" atmosphere with a good selection of beer and a large choice of food. We went for the daily special of two...More

1  Thank mmg671
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mmg671, Thank you for your kind review; it was great to read that your friends' recommendation was well founded and that you enjoyed your meal, the atmosphere and the service. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards

Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Booked a table here to celebrate a family birthday on a Friday night. Lovely atmosphere, the food was ok but the service was awful! Seemed all the wait staff were students and nobody cared we were there. We had to go up to the bar...More

1  Thank Jophie3105
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jophie3105, We were very disappointed to read of your experience with us given the quantity of extremely positive reviews our front of house staff receive. This was so out of the ordinary that we reviewed the CCTV footage of the evening. We were very...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018

We all knew it was going to be a hot weekend, but this place had just 3 front of house staff on a bank holiday monday. Queue for menu/drinks-wait an hour for meal to arrive and then not what was on the menu!! Too long...More

2  Thank Sue B
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sue B, We were sorry to read that your visit to us over the Bank Holiday weekend was not as we would hope. There were four front of house staff working as hard as they could for everyone on the Monday, having been left...More

Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

The farmers home is fast becoming a favourite for my wife and I, for a relaxing drink and enjoyable meal. Lots of tables, inside and out, great menu choice and regularly updated specials. The meals we’ve had have always been of a high standard and...More

Thank Colin A
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Colin A, Thank you for your glowing review; it was delightful to read that you have enjoyed a few good meals with us served by our wonderful staff. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 May 2018

This pub always serves a brilliant Sunday roast. Good, friendly, helpful staff. Great beers and wines. Very pleasant location and of course, a very tasty roast dinner

Thank JohnCracknell
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JohnCracknell, It was great to read that you enjoyed your roast dinner, the setting and the service you received from your lovely staff. Thanks for taking the time to review us. Kind regards

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely pub which is perfect for a quite lunch or a beautiful evening meal. I have been many times and will continue to go. The staff are amazing and friendly, great selection of food and drink.

Thank Ryan F
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ryan F, Thank you for your kind comments about our pub and staff; we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Went here with friends, who came down from Windsor, fabulous food, friendly staff, this pub offers outside dining with a play area for children, and a smoking area, car parking is a bit small, otherwise a lovely place,

Thank Jan19861959
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jan19861959, We were pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Southampton
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
2,333 reviews
1.39 km away
Botleigh Grange Hotel
910 reviews
2.92 km away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
1,320 reviews
4.11 km away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
1,065 reviews
4.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Robin Hood
338 reviews
2.14 km away
Elsies Traditional Tea Room
266 reviews
2.97 km away
Brewery bar
307 reviews
2.88 km away
The Old Mill Restaurant
85 reviews
2.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kennet & Avon Canal
69 reviews
.82 km away
Botleigh Grange Spa
72 reviews
2.92 km away
CrackleRock Brewing Company
11 reviews
2.96 km away
Bishop's Waltham Palace
82 reviews
3.78 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kelsi25
11 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Jason G | Property representative |
Hi Kelsi25, Yes we have a flip-down baby changing table in one of the ladies' cubicles. Kind regards
0
Votes
Elaine R
28 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jason G | Property representative |
Hi Elaine, We don't have a disabled toilet at the present time; due to the age of the building we are still working on the logistics of one. Our toilets are up two steps from the bar area but there are level entry dining... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 860457
  • E-mail
Description
Tel: 01489860457
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;