We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Farmers Home

$$ - $$$, British,
Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
+44 1489 860457
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“beef lasagne” (5 reviews)
“salad” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

To be fair the food wasn't bad, but my friend had eaten quite a bit of her meal then found a hair; she pulled it thinking she was going to remove it but it was a long dark hair (her's is fair) caught in the...More

1  Thank Reviewmissy
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Reviewmissy, Would you be so kind as to email us with further details of your visit - date, time, what meals were ordered etc - to thefarmershome@gmail.com so that we may investigate this matter as thoroughly as possible. We wish to review the CCTV...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Local to us and known for a nice meal but last few visits have been disappointing. Was looking forward to a meal I didn’t have to cook but wish I had cooked for myself. Roast dinner didn’t seem fresh and nothing special. Sticky toffee wasn’t...More

Thank EmmieLou78
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear EmmieLou78, Thank you for your review; we have a lot of repeat customers like yourself who we greatly value and we take such reviews very seriously. We will be looking into the meals and hope you will try us again in the future. Kind...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here numerous times and the food has always been great. Went for lunch this week with a couple of girl friends and we were so disappointed. The food was well below average, dried out and warm. All meals tasted as though they had been...More

Thank Kim1953
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Kim1953, We were sorry that your recent visit was not up to the standards you have experienced with us in the past. We are working with the kitchen to try to address the issues which have come up of late and hope you will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A larger group of us visited on Saturday evening for a family dinner. Plenty of parking and a lovely clean pub / restaurant. Table ready and waiting. Waiting staff were incredibly young, shy and not at all knowledgable of the menu. Worthy of note also...More

Thank Jayne W
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Jayne W, We appreciate you taking the time to review us and apologise that your main courses were found to be average and that the meals did not come all together. We strive to send all meals for a table/group at the same time...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've known and visited this pub over many years and have never been disappointed. Most people will drive to the superstores at Hedge End, do what they have to do, grab a coffee, blah blah blah, not even knowing this bundle of loveliness is just...More

Thank Steven K
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Steven K, Thank you for your kind review; we were delighted to read that you have been visiting our pub for years and that the meals are so well received. Kind regards

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Has restaurant and bar area for eating. Food is very good often using fresh vegetables from the local gardens. Open fire in winter, very cosy. Need to book on popular days for the restaurant. The bar is quite small. There is a larger room on...More

Thank shamwari
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Many thanks for your review shamwari. Just to add to your note about dogs, they are also allowed in the garden on a lead - though it's a less popular option at this time of year! Kind regards

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We went here for Sunday roast,we have been before and it's always been nice. Not this time ,food wasn't great and not very hot.staff were rude and not very customer friendly .More

Thank Pompeysmurf
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Pompeysmurf, We were disappointed to read that your visit was not up to our usual standards and not what you have experienced in the past. There was an incredibly busy period on Sunday and the front of house staff were one person short, which...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We are here last night as a group of 8. Nice food and helpful staff, lovely atmosphere! Also a good kids play area out the back.

Thank AVeryupsetHen
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear AVeryupsetHen, It's lovely to read that your group enjoyed their visit to us; many thanks for the review. Kind regards

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We enjoyed today a lovely lunch here. Serving Gales HSB (always when I am driving) wide range of food. Very nice and reasonably priced. Lovely clean place with easy parking. Is there a negative, WELL, a smile from the waiting staff would be nice. Hopefully...More

Thank davelester7
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear davelester7, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch and will try to ensure smiles on your next visit! Kind regards

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We were staying in the area with family and were looking for a decent place to go with our toddler that served home cooked food. I happened to conduct a google search and this led to the Farmers Home. Well that has proved to be...More

Thank gillybeany
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear gillybeany, It was great to read that you so enjoyed your visit to us; many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Kind regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Robin Hood
308 reviews
2.14 km away
Elsies Traditional Tea Room
237 reviews
2.97 km away
Brewery bar
294 reviews
2.88 km away
Regginas Ristorante Italiano
558 reviews
2.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kennet & Avon Canal
68 reviews
.82 km away
CrackleRock Brewing Company
7 reviews
2.96 km away
Botleigh Grange Spa
62 reviews
3.19 km away
Bishop's Waltham Palace
74 reviews
3.78 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kelsi25
11 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Jason G | Property representative |
Hi Kelsi25, Yes we have a flip-down baby changing table in one of the ladies' cubicles. Kind regards
0
Votes
Elaine R
28 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jason G | Property representative |
Hi Elaine, We don't have a disabled toilet at the present time; due to the age of the building we are still working on the logistics of one. Our toilets are up two steps from the bar area but there are level entry dining... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 860457
  • E-mail
Description
Tel: 01489860457
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing