We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Farmers Home

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
+44 1489 860457
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 277: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for food , restaurant prices for pub food , found staff really couldn't be bothered, not rude but we felt as though we were being intrusive by ordering food . Food portions were very small and quality was very disappointing. Was told to sit at a certain table but the pub was empty so decided on our own choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidRuth R
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

have been here a few times now and always fabulous all round - most recent visit was for Mothers Day

Helpful?
Thank Tekun
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an ok meal with reasonable service. It's definitely better in the restaurant than the extension side. There's more atmosphere. I'd travel up the road to the Robin Hood though.

Helpful?
Thank Gail G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our children booked a table for a late Mother's Day treated for the ladies of the family. The grandchildren made full use of the well equipped garden as it was a nice sunny day. Whilst waiting for their meal they were given crayons and pictures to colour in. The food was good, staff helpful and a good choice of menu.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met up with family in Hampshire for a light Thursday supper. Great atmosphere, friendly staff. I had the surf and turf which was yummy, and my brother's girlfriend had the lamb shank which she highly recommended. It was a lovely spot and great grub - would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Olivia B
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a light lunch the other day, on arrival we were greeted by the most miserable looking bar staff I've ever come across, she clearly lacked people skills obviously didn't want to be there!!! We really didn't feel welcome, I had a simple ham egg chips an peas, snotty egg and stone cold peas, we won't be going... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul m
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this review

Dear paul m, Sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing visit. The member of staff involved came to us before we had seen your review to apologise profusely for being out of sorts that day; our regulars would testify that it's highly unusual of her and we can all only apologise that she acted the way she did.... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

After a 6 mile walk my friend and I had been looking forward to hospitable service and when we arrived and ordered at the bar, we were served by a surly looking Barmaid who said had we booked a table to which we replied no we hadn't but we were going to be sitting outside. We paid for our meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this review

Dear Heather M, We were very sorry to read of your recent experience at the pub and would very much welcome some more details emailed to us at thefarmershome@gmail.com so that we can investigate fully. You do not mention what day or time you visited; this would help because we have been training a new member of the kitchen team... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We visited this attractive pub for the first time last Sunday to suss it out for a party the following Saturday. We had the roast beef which was beautifully cooked, as were the vegetables. The puddings were also good - lemon sponge and apple crumble. On Saturday we went to the Golden Wedding celebration and really enjoyed our meal. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris E
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this review

Dear Chris E, It was lovely to read that you have had two enjoyable visits to us in quick succession. Thank you for the comment about the peppercorn sauce - we will look into that. The staff were delighted to hear that you were so well looked after on both occasions; many thanks for taking the time to review us.... More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

I took my wife, daughters and their partners to celebrate my birthday. Warm cosy pub with excellent food, especially the T-Bone steaks. This was our third visit and best yet.

Helpful?
Thank Michael w
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this review

Dear Michael w, Thank you for the review of your recent meal. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your celebration, and especially the chargrilled T-Bone! We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards. More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Saw good reviews, but probably wouldn't return. Food was good, but neither of us could think what we would have ordered had we returned.

Helpful?
Thank R F
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this review

Dear R F, We were pleased to read that the food at your meal was good but disappointed that you do not think there are more appealing choices on the menu to tempt you back. We are currently working on some changes and hope that we will make a menu where there is something for everyone. Kind regards. More 

Travellers who viewed The Farmers Home also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Botley, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Farmers Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 860457
Description
Tel: 01489860457

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Farmers Home and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Farmers Home staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?