We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Vestry Restaurant & Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
61 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
+44 23 8023 1101
Website
Today
12:00 - 01:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 654: English reviews
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Tabled booked online worked well. 5.30pm to 7.00pm was long enough to get in 3 courses from a set menu before going to The Mayflower Theatre which is just opposite. This is an ideal location for pre show food and/or drinks. Car parking is not good, and best done in local pay and display car parks. Food; can recommend the... More 

Helpful?
Thank WiltshireDruid
Romsey, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Phoned today just after 1pm. The answerphone invited me to leave a message or send an email. Of course I did neither and took my business elsewhere. Not the best way to create a good reputation.

Helpful?
1 Thank T0urDirect0r
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here with some family before heading off to Billy Elliot, so glad we did. The menu had some great choices along with some fantastic veggie options which my cousin appreciated. The food served was tasty and first class. The server was polite and attentive, with the venue having a very pleasant atmosphere. Would definitely return for pre or post... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany B
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

When the Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) has been law since 1995, how can a restaurant be totally inaccessible to wheelchair users??? It is against the law & I could take them to court but how about actually making it accessible? I know it's on a hill but there is an answer, a ramp! Perhaps you've never heard of them? This... More 

Helpful?
Thank gloynes
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review, although it is in fact completely incorrect! We do actually have disabled access, interestingly using a “ramp”, which is positioned at one of our other entrances by the carpark giving any guests with mobility issues complete access to our entire ground floor where we also... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a very happy visit this time. To start with there is no option for 1 course on the pre theatre menu and the price has gone up considerably. £21 for a 2 course pre theatre - without wine? And the food was average at best. Unfortunately 6 or 7 hours after eating here I woke up with terrible stomach... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyL2013
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Many thanks for your recent visit and for taking the time to write your review. Further to our ongoing correspondence, I would say how sorry we are to hear you've felt unwell. I do hope you are feeling better now and as per our conversation, would urge you to visit a registered medical practitioner as soon as possible.... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate there last weekend after a matinee at the Mayflower. We had booked for 5.30...arrived a little early but had a drink and then were shown to our table. The girl who took our order was very pleasant , hence the 3 stars. We had sea food pancakes and the plaice dish. The seafood pancake was tasteless and was... More 

Helpful?
Thank HandP65
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback, and I do apologise that you did not enjoy your visit to The Vestry. At The Vestry we always strive to exceed expectations, on this occasion it seems like we have not met expectations. If you could email me to discuss this further please contact me on manager@thevestryrestaurantandbar.co.uk we can therefore investigate further as... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I and a group of girlfriends descended on this bar restaurant post theatre . The staff were extremely helpful and polite. We were impressed with prices of the drinks and wine not too over the top. What let this venue down was lack of attention to the food. What should have been a warm starter for some was close to... More 

Helpful?
Thank madhatter171
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback, and I do apologise that you did not enjoy your visit to The Vestry. At The Vestry we always strive to exceed expectations, on this occasion it seems like we have not met expectations. If you could email me to discuss this further please contact me on manager@thevestryrestaurantandbar.co.uk we can therefore investigate further as... More 

Sway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a pre theatre lunch. Not only was the food good but the staff were superb, putting themselves out to ensure we had everything we needed. Thank you we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank 166lgr166
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed our food and service here! We hope to be able to welcome you back to us soon! Kindest Regards, Claire More 

Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The place is lovely, great service from the moment we arrived. Slightly disappointed that even though we were seated, fairly early in lunch time service, that they had already run out of the food we wanted. I realise it was busy because of the performance later that afternoon but can imagine that they should used to that volume of business... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dominique K
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Dominique, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your service with us. We apologise that you felt rushed to eat your food we will be looking further in to this. However we do hope that to great food will entice you back to us again soon! Kindest Regards, Claire More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I contacted the vestry to help me arrange a post theatre birthday meal for my very good friend. They went above and beyond to assist in anyway required. They kept in excellent contact with me about the evening, for example telling me when table flowers had arrived. This really helped me to relax and enjoy the celebration. The food and... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikkin322
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Nikki, Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad that we managed to exceed your expectations and make your evening special. We will pass your comments on to our kitchen team about the portion size but we do hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest Regards, Claire More 

Travellers who viewed The Vestry Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Vestry Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$24 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8023 1101

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Vestry Restaurant & Bar and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
Copenhagen, Denmark
Hampshire Uk
Southampton
over a year ago
Southampton
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Vestry Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?