We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vestry Restaurant & Bar

61 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
+44 23 8023 1101
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“chorizo” (15 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
61 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I took my mum here for her birthday before heading over the road to The Mayflower to watch Grease. We both throughly enjoyed the style, ambiance, cocktails and food very much. The price for 3 courses was excellent and the waiting staff were extremely friendly...More

Thank Sarah H
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Sarah, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at The Vestry! We hope you enjoyed Grease and look forward to seeing you soon. Kindest Regards, Claire Soulsby

Reviewed 8 July 2017

Visited for a pre theatre meal with friends, for the price £21 for two courses was expecting something good. All of our party of 12 were disappointed with our meals we all had various choices from the menu. Very over priced and lacking in content...More

Thank Jollyisle
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for reviewing, I would like to ask you to email me directly on manager@thevestryrestaurantandbar.co.uk to discuss your experience further. Kindest Regards, Claire Soulsby

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Came in for the first time ever today, The decor instantly took me away. What a beautiful place! Was served by the lovely Dyllan, she made us feel welcome as soon as we walked into the door! Very smiley and a good conversation and always...More

Thank Robyn M
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Robyn and Harry, Thank you for taking the time to writing us a TripAdvisor, we have passed your comments on to Dyllan and we are happy to hear how well she looked after you! We look forward to welcoming you back for food and...More

Reviewed 3 July 2017

Arrived here at 3.50pm to have a quick meal before heading to the Mayflower for a 5pm Matinee. The waiter was extremely helpful, advised us on which choices we could have for a quick meal to avoid any delays. The food was extremely tasty, good...More

Thank Joanne W
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Joanne, We are glad that you enjoyed your matinee meal with us and enjoyed the food! We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards, Claire Soulsby

Reviewed 30 June 2017

Myself and two friends went in for lunch before attending a matinee at The Mayflower Theatre. We opted for the £17.99 for two courses. We all ordered the 12oz sirloin steak. My sister in law had the accompanying sauce for a £1.50 supplement. We waited...More

Thank pauline c
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Pauline, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I would like to discuss this with you further if you could please email me at manager@thevestryrestaurantandbar.co.uk as the experience you describe is not what we pride ourselves on at The Vestry....More

Reviewed 29 June 2017

If you're wanting a fun night out which will lift your spirits and provide excellent value for money, The Vestry is the place to go! The beautiful vaulted ceiling interior is the perfect setting to enjoy the whole dinner and dance experience. Having recently appointed...More

Thank sylviamunday
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Sylvia, Thank you for your TripAdvisor of The Vestry, we are glad that you enjoyed the ambience and experience with us. We will pass your kind words on to our team! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards, Claire Soulsby

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Having arrived in good time for the show at The Mayflower we thought we would have a quick drink of something at The Vestry opposite, wrong ! There was no hope of quick anything with only two people operating at the bar !! After nearly...More

Thank LE210
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for reviewing, I would like to ask you to email me directly on manager@thevestryrestaurantandbar.co.uk to discuss your experience further. Kindest Regards, Claire Soulsby

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Came here for a Tribute night last night! Was really good, I'm not in to michael buble took my granny, the bloke was really good made sure he got every one included! Food was great, I was a bit worried as sometime food can be...More

Thank jojowhitfield
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are glad that you enjoyed Michael Buble and we hope to welcome you back soon for another event or even just drinks! Kindest Regards, Claire Soulsby

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

For a two course pre theatre dinner at £21 I was expecting something pretty good, as West End restaurant prices can be considerably lower. As usual, I went for starter and main and my husband main and pudding. My starter of Beef Tacos with "salad"...More

Thank RLG324
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write a review. Your experience outlined was not in line with the high standards of food, drinks and customer service we pride ourselves in delivering here at the Vestry. As an independent, I...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

On May 27th I was paying a visit to the UK and my daughter treated me to lunch at the Vestry. We arrived early but were seated and our order taken. The starter came to the table in quick time, then we waited for 50...More

Thank Michele_Fowler
Claire S, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I would like to discuss this with you further if you could please email me at manager@thevestryrestaurantandbar.co.uk as the experience you describe is not what we pride ourselves on at The Vestry. Kindest...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 hotels in Southampton
Novotel Southampton
1,823 reviews
.48 km away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
1,429 reviews
.48 km away
Ibis Southampton Centre
1,025 reviews
.50 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
1,121 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
CXO Bar & Bistro
248 reviews
.16 km away
Leelawadee Thai Restaurant
319 reviews
.10 km away
Taj Mahal Restaurant Southampton
154 reviews
.09 km away
Yuri Cottage
68 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mayflower Theatre
1,880 reviews
.06 km away
SeaCity Museum
1,134 reviews
.23 km away
Southampton City Art Gallery
159 reviews
.27 km away
Watts Park
21 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
angela61-28-10
24 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Claire S | Property representative |
Good afternoon, I hope you are well, thank you for your enquiry, yes we do organize this sort of parties too, If you would like to talk about it in more detail, please feel free to email us and we will get back to you... More
0
Votes
Jessica T
16 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Claire S | Property representative |
Yes we do, within the ladies toilets
0
Votes
59jackie
21 June 2016|
Answer
Response from karen g | Reviewed this property |
It's not really a burger and chips place. Allow about £19 for a two course meal excluding drinks.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$32
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8023 1101
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing