We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown and Anchor

) #85 of 157 Restaurants in Winchester $ , British,
168 High Street, Winchester SO23 9BA, England
+44 1962 870074
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good16%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“octopus” (3 reviews)
“roast dinner” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
168 High Street, Winchester SO23 9BA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here on my way to Southampton Very nice place food was good and service was excellent.Staff very attentive.

Thank Norman L
Sarah L, Owner at The Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So glad we met your requirements.The team work really hard to achieve this so thank you for appreciating them. See you soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Soon as we walked through the door the staff were welcoming and friendly. The food was excellent, big plates that definitely filled us up! (I'd recommend the cottage pie, it was more than enough). I would definitely go again when I'm in the area and...More

Thank Suegirl321
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Lovely pub on the approach to the town, very welcoming and friendly staff, more than decent pub food, would be happy to come back

Thank Metasson
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly although we did feel a bit out of place here with 2 kids, seemed to be more of a place people watched the football on tv. Food stopped at 5pm!!More

Thank Claire K
Sarah L, Owner at The Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are one of the few places that are open all day for food from 11am and despite trialing opening later in the evening it has not proven viable. Yes we show a lot of sport here as it is...More

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here and was thoroughly impressed by quality of food, service and size of portions. Highly recommended!

Thank silverminx87
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We'd been here 2 years or so previous for Mothers day and decided to go back for this year's event. We should have known when we walked in at lunch time and the place was empty except for two gentleman at the bar swearing and...More

Thank ShazzerB68
Sarah L, Owner at The Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for your comments. Just to point out we open early on Sunday for our locals as the buses get it at varying times and we feel it is poor form to have them waiting outside in all weather. as normally our doors would...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Sunday roast for £9.50 , two courses for £10.95 the outside advertisement said. Sounds good. I told the bar lady that I better not order the two courses straight away as I might not feel like a desert after a sumptuous roast dinnner. I need...More

Thank Dibby50
Sarah L, Owner at The Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Sorry to hear of your disappointment via Trip Advisor and not in person. This is not the response we receive from our regular customers so I am shocked to read this. All points taken into consideration I would like to invite you back for a...More

Reviewed 15 March 2017

We were on a pub crawl and this was going to be a quick stop (literally just for some shots) ended up being ages as the girl was measuring each shot into a drinks measure before putting in the shot glass (?) and not even...More

Thank Natasha D
Sarah L, Owner at The Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

I am sorry our service was slower than normal however new people can take time to get up to speed as I am sure you can appreciate. All spirits have to be measured before pouring into a glass unfortunately that is the law. Find the...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017

A warm and busy pub with varied menu. Quite a wait to be served, but food arrived promptly - hot, fresh and tasty. However meal was totally spoilt by a staff error - basically 3 OAP ladies ordered at the bar from the set price...More

4  Thank slinkypusscat
Sarah L, Owner at The Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Ladies so sorry to hear of this error. Billing errors can occur and for this I apologise. The fact that everything else was great for you and didn't spoil your day pleases me. When you are in Winchester next if you would like to pop...More

Reviewed 15 January 2017

passing by and it was cold outside we just went in in for a pint of beer nice atmosphere, a lot af local people where in

Thank wil_willie
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Palm Pan Asia
456 reviews
.03 km away
Chesil Rectory
1,156 reviews
.21 km away
Diya
70 reviews
.08 km away
Rick Stein
1,185 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Winchester Cathedral
2,868 reviews
.32 km away
Winchester City Mill
465 reviews
.15 km away
Statue of Alfred the Great
196 reviews
.04 km away
Wolvesey Castle
185 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
schwantz3434
Does Alicia s work there? Pmsl.... Hysterical laughter is better than hysterical spider killing?.. Love her impartial reviews of where she works lol.
31 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from schwantz3434 | Reviewed this property |
I won't be spending my hard earnt in that pub under its current management,but thankyou for your apology. I've stood there for 5 mins or more waiting for service whilst the landlady is having idle chit chat with a friend of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$18
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 168 High Street, Winchester SO23 9BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 870074
  • E-mail
Description
A Traditional British pub serving Great British Food. Under new management, with a new menu and great deals. Come and try us for a great evening out or a great meal.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing