We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harvester

46 Harpenden Road | Beech Bottom, St Albans AL3 5AH, England
+44 1727 855053
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good22%
  • Average17%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible29%
Travellers talk about
“gammon steak” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
46 Harpenden Road | Beech Bottom, St Albans AL3 5AH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mediocre service at best and the worst looking and tasting food I have ever had the displeasure of being served. The only reason the Ancient Briton gets a poor score over terrible is my daughters meal was apparently ok. To end on a positive the...More

Thank shawah
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Saturday morning, web site says this Harvester opens at 9:00. Snowy falling, very cold, and the doors are still locked, so not the best welcome. Once we finally gain entrance it's clear that the staff are still getting ready, not really in full customer-facing mode....More

Thank djna01
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Djna01, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to us at your earliest convenience at 01727 855053.

Reviewed 6 March 2018

Despite my reluctance to use Harvesters the rest of the family like them so we found ourselves back here the other day. The service was overall very good but I prefer to be asked if the food is all right a few minutes after I...More

Thank MichaelJohnMichael
Reviewed 3 March 2018

When we arrived, we found our sitting area very cold and asked if they could turn off the cold air blowing. Our Waitress tried to turn the heating up, but it didn't make much difference, so we asked to move tables. Unfortunately, as it was...More

Thank Suzi9
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We had four starters, both the vegetable crispy bits and falafel were small, however the chicken was good. The salad bar was a decent selection of choices and the bread was fresh. We had the cheesecake which was very good. On a Saturday it got...More

Thank Eddie M
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Eddie M, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are willing, please contact us 01727 855053.

Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Couldnt fault the service and salad bar. Only downside was the jacket potato, overdone on the outside and mushy on the inside. Everything els was fine

Thank guillonJ1993
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hello Guillonj1993, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Food is cold and not eatable. Had to return my steak. Second one not much better. On the positive side service is good.More

Thank shpend q
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Shpend Q, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. We truly appreciate your honest feedback. Your feedback will be communicated to our kitchen team and hopefully you are willing to give us another try and your experience...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Harvester is always our go to restaurant as a family as we know they have something that can accommodate everyone in our group. I’ve always loved the trusty salad bar and the food is always delicious! It’s a very good place for all ages so...More

Thank za336
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Harvester Ancient Briton! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 4 January 2018

We are regulars at this restaurant and always have a nice meal. The staff are friendly but I always get the impression overstretched. The one thing that really lets the restaurant down is the time you have to wait for someone to come over and...More

Thank Alison J
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hello Alison J, thank you; we appreciate your feedback. Your comments regarding our service have been taken on board an we will be doing refresher training with our front of house staff to make sure they all know what we and our guests expect. Thanks...More

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Thank you for the great visit and especially the visit to Santa. My son absolutely loved it. You wouldn’t get that service in Hillingdon, full of miserable fools in LBH.

Thank Shamus M
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in St Albans
Ardmore House
570 reviews
1.19 km away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
821 reviews
1.26 km away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
611 reviews
1.70 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
620 reviews
1.83 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Saute Grill
236 reviews
1.16 km away
Anastasias Greek Restaurant
811 reviews
1.18 km away
The Meating Room
269 reviews
1.17 km away
Bar Meze
835 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Albans Farmers Market
18 reviews
1.54 km away
Roman Theatre of Verulamium
10 reviews
1.47 km away
Alban Arena
80 reviews
1.40 km away
City and District of St Albans Tour Guides
14 reviews
1.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MichaelJohnMichael
13 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from M G | Reviewed this property |
Yes. as much as you like x
1
Vote
Chris M
28 August 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Unfortunately at this time we only allow assistance dogs in the restaurant. However we do have a large garden area where we do allow all dogs.
0
Votes
Chris M
28 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris M | Reviewed this property |
Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Harpenden Road | Beech Bottom, St Albans AL3 5AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 855053
  • E-mail
Description
At The Ancient Briton Harvester in St Albans food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing