We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mill Square, PO33 4HS, England
441983882544
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 479: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for evening meal around 5pm. Hubby , two lads and me. Haven't been here for a few years so thought we would give it a go. All had carvery and what a surprise. Plenty of choice . Ham, turkey, beef and pork. Yorkshire pud, roasted potatoes, mashed potatoes, sprouts, carrots, peas, cauliflower cheese, stuffing. All beautifully cooked and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 196403ju
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please come back and see us again soon. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped In for a quick bite to eat..... but the queue was so long it was nearly out the door, we queued for around 15 minutes but eventually gave up as queue didn't seem to be moving. More staff definitely needed!

Helpful?
Thank Bridget G
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

We are really sorry you were unhappy with your visit ,we do get extremely busy and we are looking into ways to manage the queue's better. Please feel free to call me if you would like to discuss this any further on 01983 882544.Many thanks. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always a good choice. Great value for money a must visit whenever I am on the Island. Had the turkey and the pork both really moist .

Helpful?
Thank 1964ID
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review,we look forward to seeing again soon. More 

Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this very popular pub today, and yesterday (!), and were very happy on both occasions. The carvery is exceptionally good value, the staff are very efficient and extremely helpful and friendly, and overall it is a very pleasant experience. Sadly, dogs are not allowed, but heh !

Helpful?
Thank Derek C
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ,we are glad you enjoyed your visits. Please come and see us again. More 

Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always serving food from early till late The Sloop is a very comfortable and welcoming for family and friends.

Helpful?
Thank Felipecsabbag
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I dropped in to The Sloop on the off chance of getting some grub. We went for the normal sized carvery, after seeing the lovely selection of food I was glad I hadn't upgraded to a larger size. A choice of meats and as much as you want to eat with veg, potatoes and gravy. Very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lazydazymazy
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your review. More 

Crewe
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been to many crown carveries all round the country including the sloop in many times I was shocked and disappointed when I ate at the sloop on friday. We arrived at obviously a busy time as the queue at the bar showed but that wasn't the worse. Having queued at the bar and got our tickets for the carvery... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank betmic
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

I am really sorry you were unhappy with your visit to us. We take our guest's feedback very seriously. If you would like to discuss your disappointing visit with me please call on 01983882544 and ask for Donna. More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the all-you-can-eat-breakfast. The bacon was over cooked and a bit dry, the sausages although cooked, didn't have any colour to them, they were pale. The fried bread was greasy and the hash browns were soft. I would say that the scrambled egg was made from powdered egg and not fresh eggs, it was salty. The toaster really did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , please contact me on 01983 882544 if you would like to discuss your visit with me..I am very sorry there was parts you were not happy with . Thank you. More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

During our short break in the Isle of Wight we visited the sloop inn every day for food , the carvery. The service was excellent, friendly staff and the food was great . Every time we went which was different times through out the days. There was plenty of choice of meat and vegetables. The Inn was busy. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank ellefrances
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, please visit us again when your next over on the Island. More 

Wroxall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Visited on a Thursday evening and the place was packed. We had the £5.00 Carvey and it didn't disappoint. Great food at a fantastic price. Well done.

Helpful?
Thank DavidGatrell
general m, General Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Travellers who viewed The Sloop Inn also viewed

Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 
Isle of Wight, England
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mill Square, PO33 4HS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight
  • Phone Number: 441983882544

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sloop Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Sloop Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?