We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ship Inn

Bowmanstead | Cumbria, Coniston LA21 8HB, England
+44 15394 41224
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good31%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (8 reviews)
“game pie” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Bowmanstead | Cumbria, Coniston LA21 8HB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very polite friendly staff we decided to eat at the pub we were told they serve really good food!! I was really disappointed with the meal it was like it was cooked days before, the chicken and mushroom pie was absolutely disgusting I honestly don't...More

Thank dawnhelensimmone
Julie B, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello We are very sorry to read of your bad experience but are disappointed that you didn't give us a chance to rectify the matter. I try to check on every single meal that we serve and would much prefer to hear of any problems...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent meal at The Ship Inn, Coniston tonight. Nice service and great portions of pub food done very well indeed. We also ordered take away pizza earlier in the week which was also first class.

Thank John B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Found this little gem on our 2nd night only to return again another twice. From entering the pub you can feel the warmth and friendliness within. The landlord and his wife were extremely pleasant as was the other staff members. We had 3 delicious meals...More

Thank will0w1969
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this quaint looking pub on Sat 8th July, queue for the bar was outside the door! Found a table and went to order food and drinks. Joined queue which hadn't moved. One elderly person on bar (landlord?) who seemed to have one speed (very...More

2  Thank JukeRider
Julie B, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, I am the one speed very slow landlord of the Ship. My name is Jim and I don't hide behind a keyboard to pass crass comments. Never before have I felt inclined to respond to a trip adviser review whether good or bad but...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as a party of 6 adults one baby and our dog. My wife asked if it was ok to take the dog inside, we expected to be sitting outside with him, but no, the barman said "yes of course no problem dogs are fine!"...More

1  Thank Homersdad
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst staying at nearby caravan site Park Coppice we ordered a takeaway pizza from the Ship Inn. It was the best pizza I've had in a long time and so easy to order over the phone and collect. The takeout option was convenient for us...More

2  Thank CEL1608
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent meals visited three times in my six day stay enjoyed every meal and one day had delicious puddings.

1  Thank micklemass2013
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this establishment on 24/6/2018. The rude barman first mocked my choice of drink and then asked if I wanted a cherry in my wine. Later he went on to tell me that I have no hormones. Apparently his name is Phil. He is...More

4  Thank MartinK991
Julie B, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Martin Management is reading this now and is very shocked! We don't usually respond to comments but we are not used to reading experiences such as you have described.This is not what we expect of our staff so be assured we will be dealing...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every time we go, the food is the same - perfectly cooked veg and good choice on the menu, great atmosphere, allows dogs and children friendly too

1  Thank MrsJMD
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the Ship Inn in June 17. The weekend was a very hot weekend so it made sitting outside and taking in the views a lot better. The pub is located on the outskirts of Coniston but well worth a visit. The staff are...More

Thank traceybarber2016
Nearby Restaurants
Steam Bistro
433 reviews
.82 km away
The Bluebird Cafe
968 reviews
.78 km away
The Green Housekeeper Cafe
288 reviews
.82 km away
Meadowdore Cafe
253 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Steam Yacht Gondola
355 reviews
.64 km away
Coniston Water
383 reviews
.77 km away
Joint Adventures
181 reviews
.67 km away
John Ruskin Museum
199 reviews
.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cindy B
7 September 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from John H | Reviewed this property |
The Ship is a pub, so I think they'd justifiably be upset if you did, but Sara's currry restaurant and The Steam Bistro in Coniston both allow you to BYOB.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$18
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bowmanstead | Cumbria, Coniston LA21 8HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Duddon Valley  >  Coniston
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 41224
  • E-mail
We are a traditional English Inn, in the heart of the Lake District offering a warm welcome, helped by a roaring open fire in the cooler months!The bar stocks award-winning cask ales, a selection of fine wines and malt whiskies. We offer classic pub food which is locally-sourced and freshly prepared on the premises. We have Bed and Breakfast accommodation,(one double room, one family room)with both rooms being en-suite.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing