We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abraham's Cafe

2 Borrowdale Road | George Fisher Store, Keswick CA12 5DA, England
+44 17687 72178
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good20%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (38 reviews)
“scones” (41 reviews)
“rarebit” (14 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Borrowdale Road | George Fisher Store, Keswick CA12 5DA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Whoever made the chicken and vegetable broth on Tuesday 19.6.18 deserves a Michelin star! It was like a meal in itself with lots of veg and big pieces of chicken. Lovely.

Thank Teddyedward10
Reviewed 5 days ago

I have been visiting Abraham's cafe for a number of years now. It is situated on the top floor of George Fisher's store. All the food looks good but I have always had the broth. For those unfamiliar with the term it is a chunky...More

Thank Brian P
Reviewed 9 May 2018

I've been telling everyone who loves coffee that the Americano served at Abraham's is the best I've ever had. This was because it was served with a jug of hot water and hot milk so you could mix it how you like - it was...More

Thank Mouth-of-the-Tyne
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Mouth-of-the-Tyne, Thanks for loving our staff, service and scones we will let our staff know, we're very proud of them all. You are right, we have had some major structural changes, the cafe was closed for the whole of January this year. We moved...More

Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Last time we visited, in 2014, I gave a 5 star review. So we were looking forward to today's lunch. The food is still good and so is the service - but I don't understand how you can justify the prices. £7.95 for a cheese...More

Thank Gill A
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Gill, Thank you for popping in to see us on your recent visit to Keswick. We are very proud of our staff and our cafe so we're glad you found them still delivering to your expectations. Our apologies though that you were not happy...More

Reviewed 25 April 2018

The cafe has a fairly limited menu and is quite expensive. I ordered the honey roasted ham sandwich which was nice, but nothing special and a small portion. My partner had the jacket potato with tuna which she said was also quite nice.

Thank Toby N
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi Toby, Thanks for your review, we will feed this back and try to get it right for the next time. Hope you had a nice visit to Keswick? Kind Regards, Rachel

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Just had a lovely lunch quality excellent,staff very helpful. The change of the dogs policy is good news for me as I had to stop coming here as I am allergic to dogs. We will certainly be returning to have lunch here, to have your...More

1  Thank janall47
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear janall47, Thank you for your review and for appreciating our return to being a dog-free zone. We were dog-free in the Cafe for 59 years and we tried being dog friendly for our 60th Anniversary. We know we made a lot of people happy...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Keswick today, the first time for several weeks, and got a bit of a shock when we went in George Fisher's to have lunch in Abraham's. As many of you who have written reviews recently will know, the cafe has been extended...More

1  Thank Rosiecat55
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Rosiecat55, Thank you for your feedback and our apologies that you were shocked on your recent visit. We appreciate the feedback though and will pass it on. Regards, Rachel

Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Stoppes here for lunch when visiting family in Keswick at the weekend. Staff were great and panini’s and cakes were great. But the coffee was quite nasty - it tasted more like a dark fruit tea. Out of 4 of us well left the coffees...More

Thank Steven K
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Steven, Thank you for your feedback, it's much appreciated. We're very proud of both our cafe and kitchen staff and we'll let them know you thought they were great. Our apologies for the coffee, we are trying a new local supplier and testing out...More

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We have been visiting Abrahams for lunch, coffee or afternoon tea for many decades and did not know that it was being refurbished as we are from "the South". We recognised and chatted to the lovely ladies who serve at the tables and were pleased...More

Thank Linda S
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Linda, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for continuing to visit us over so many decades. We've got some great time-lapse videos on our website and details on how the renovations developed. Not exactly thrilling family viewing but gives you some...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Used to eat here all the time before we had our dog. Then earlier this year they changed their no dogs allowed policy and we could take our dexter in. We were very pleased we could eat in our fave cafe again. Last week (march...More

Thank Kazzy50
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Kazzy, Our apologies, we're aware that some of the changes we've introduced have not appealed to everyone. We do have a lot of people that love Abraham's Cafe because it is a dog-free zone so we know we've made some of our regulars very...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Keswick
Inn on the Square
757 reviews
.20 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
508 reviews
.20 km away
Highfield Hotel
433 reviews
.22 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
830 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fellpack
280 reviews
.04 km away
Jasper's Coffee House
107 reviews
.15 km away
The Square Orange Cafe Bar
964 reviews
.10 km away
Morrels Restaurant
1,119 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Derwentwater
2,420 reviews
.18 km away
Keswick Brewing Company
90 reviews
.30 km away
Walla Crag
128 reviews
.14 km away
Hope Park
370 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jlsteve99
8 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AbrahamsCafe | Property representative |
Hi jlsteve99, Yes, we have gluten-free options. Our menu doesn't show them clearly with symbols or anything (it's a bit hidden in the text) but we have soup, bread, cakes and more ... Please just ask our staff when you... More
0
Votes
Caribean2
23 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AbrahamsCafe | Property representative |
Hi Caribean2, Many thanks for your questions. We don't do an actual afternoon tea, as such, I'm afraid but you could always make up, or ask for, a selection from our menu. Sadly, we're not set-up for vouchers, as the cafe... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Borrowdale Road | George Fisher Store, Keswick CA12 5DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 72178
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;